We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
115
45
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
115
45
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black beans north woods off season row boat spent nights bike ride restaurant bar fish bedroom cabin eagle river northern wisconsin lodge germain motor sink fans snowmobile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 178 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2019

We stayed in a 2 story building that was set right on the lake shore with an entrance to the lake. It had two bed rooms and a pull out couch which accommodated the 6 people in our group. It had 2 bathrooms, living room with fireplace, a dining area and kitchen area. We came to snowmobile and were able to rent them right there in St. Germain. We have stayed there 10 times and have never been disappointed. We will be there again in January-February time frame. This is a comfortable, rustic, place to stay and look at the beautiful winterscape that surrounds it. Give it a try.

Room tip: Rooms facing the lake provide a beautiful scenic experience.
Date of stay: January 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richarddY273CF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearLodge, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2019

Thank you for your review and continued patronage. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. How delightful that you and your friends were able to get out on the trails and have some wintertime fun! We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2019

We were excited to try out this restaurant. As we approached the restaurant the surrounding cabins and amenities looked great. As we were about to enter the restaurant, I noticed a "now hiring" sign, which is pretty common in Northern Wisconsin-but always concerns me. Once in the restaurant/bar (which is very large), there was only one other group there. It is an off season, so still thought I would keep an open mind. I used the bathroom before ordering and that is when I should have left. We arrived around noon, so we had to be one of the first people there. The bathroom garbage can was almost completely full of garbage, there was an old rubber mat on the floor and hair on the sink. It was obvious the bathroom had not been cleaned for the start of the day. The bartender/waitress was friendly. Asked us what we would like to drink and then sat our sodas on the bar along with the menus which was a visual clue that we had to go pick our items up. Soda wasn't filled to the top and drinks were served in plastic disposable cups. I ordered the clam chowder and boneless wings. The clam chowder tasted o.k.. I'm not sure if this was the last of the soup from the night before, but the cup was only 3/4 full. The wings were o.k.-a lot of breading. The blue cheese dipping sauce did not have any chunks of blue cheese-cheap salad dressing. The television was on a homicide channel and all the advertisements for other shows were all about murder investigations. As I looked around, I noticed that there were several areas that needed vacuuming and the carpet is quite old. Although the food wasn't bad, it wasn't good either. This, along with the condition of the place will prohibit me from visiting this establishment again.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2019

LOVE this little place!! Staff is wonderful, cabins amazing, and the scenery beautiful! Can't say enough about what a great time we had here, so much hospitality and friendliness. The cabins (we rented all but 1 of the cabins they had) were amazing. Each its own unique qualities and setting. The bar and food was wonderful and so much fun!! Absolutely gorgeous wedding venue, with all the natural beauty one could ask for. Our daughter couldn't have been more pleased, and we couldn't have been more pleased with how accommodating all the staff was to help out with all the planning and preparation!! There are townhouses also available if anyone is interested in that. We had some family in them but as a whole everyone wished they had stayed in the cabins!

Room tip: Go with a cabin!!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doylew635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

We went here after the flea market on Labor Day and were pleased to see one of my favorite burgers on special, Mushroom/Swiss. Too bad no one ever showed them how to make them. The meat was about 2 minutes shy of shoe leather, very overcooked and dry. The mushrooms were just simply heated up without any real seasoning.
Good thing we had Blue Moon on tap to drown out the food.
Our waiter, who was also the bartender, was very good.
WE WERE NOT STAYING AT THE RESORT ITSELF

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank linareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

This review may be a little harsh as we were maybe expecting something that the management doesn't consider necessary. My wife and I stayed in one of the cabins with 2 bedrooms and a fireplace. We were not able to sleep in the bedroom with the king bed because the light/ceiling fan had an electrical short in it and the light was flickering on and off as well as the fan. The fan was needed because the place doesn't have air conditioning, which we didn't know until we checked in (maybe our fault that we didn't do the research). We slept in the room with twin beds that we barely fit in. The also don't supply bathroom amenities such as shampoo, soap or shower gel and the bathroom is extremely small. They did supply towels but no wash cloths. The place also does not have a dishwasher. I will say that the property is beautiful and the view from our deck was great, but we weren't prepared for a bare bones living situation where we had to supply our own wash cloths, soap, shampoo and do our dishes by hand. We paid for 2 nights but we left after the first night because it was so hot that we couldn't stand being sleeping in the heat and humidity. We won't go back.

Room tip: Check to make sure your room has AC
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 435jayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews