We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelling was not pleasant”
Review of The Rochester Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rochester Inn
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

My husband always tries to surprise me with trips, and I wanted to do something nice for him so I tried to cancel. He had booked a room here and it took me three phone calls to get the room cancelled. They did not return my initial call. The second time they told me he had made the reservation through a third party. When I was finally able to speak with the owner she was rude to me. How would she know i may have planned to stay there in the future ? I don't think so now.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ardytho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochesterinn, Owner at The Rochester Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Oh My....our apologies if you thought we were rude on the phone. I believe our cancellation fee perhaps had more to do with this review, than our demeanor on the phone. Our cancellation fee is on our site and is necessary when one room represent a large percentage of our business. Our $30.00 fee is far less than the third party reservations from Expedia and the like, which is 100%, when cancellation occurs less than 7 days in advance. We would be happy to refund your cancellation fee if you would consider staying. We are confident you would not be disappointed.

Kindly,
Jacquelyn O'Dwanny
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2015

The Rochester Inn is pretty and clean and apparently “historic.” When we booked the room we read about the two-story suites. As we’re older and don’t want to climb stairs, this was not appealing to us so we booked the one-level room suite instead.

The day we were to come we called and left a message about our arrival time as requested. We were left a voice mail about some construction. It was pretty tough getting to the place as the front of the street was being worked on and we had to find the one way to get there from the back. We persevered however and were able to make it into the free parking on the side of the big building.

Because of the construction the hostess kindly upgraded our suite to one of the 2-story suites. We weren’t thinking and thanked her. We then realized that we would have to take things out of our suitcases to bring up to the room because there was no elevator and we knew we couldn’t carry suitcases up as the stairs were very steep to the second floor. The suites were nice but seemed sort of unnecessary – not sure what’s so bad about one-level. The one we were in was beautifully decorated. The bedding and mattress were very comfortable.

This B&B is close to the town. We were able to walk there and have dinner and shop in some of the charming stores.

The one aspect of a two-story suite that makes it special is that you can watch TV in the living room and then retire to your bedroom upstairs. Our living room TV didn’t work and there was no one on site to fix it. We were told we could call the hostess any time if we needed her, but when we called about the TV she was at her son’s game and it was pretty clear she didn’t want to come and probably couldn’t fix it if she did. We ended up watching programs on an old TV upstairs in bed.

The next day we got a delicious breakfast consisting of fruit, croissant, home-made jam, scrambled eggs, sausage, orange juice, and coffee brought to us in our room. If we ever stayed here again, we would stay in a first-floor room or suite.  

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IL-Snowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I found the Rochester Inn after making last minute travel arrangements and being unable to get in other places. Glad I did. This was a great place, very comfortable, easy to get to, and had lots of room. The breakfasts was awesome. If you are in the area, skip the hotels and go to the Rochester Inn. You will not regret it. I hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We had to find a last minute place to stay near the Sheboygan airport because we could not depart as planned and found this inn on Trip Advisor. We were happy to be able to get in an hour after placing our call, and even though we requested a standard room we were upgraded to a two story suite for the $129. A great deal! And what a charming place! So much less expensive too then staying in next door Kohler, which we had done prior to our stay here. My only dissatisfaction was the bed, which proved to be somewhat saggy in the middle. If this were corrected I would certainly rate it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank monarchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

The Rochester inn was very nice and the service was exceptional! We were arriving late and we got a great suggestion for a Restaurant on our way and an offer to cancel our previous reservation. the concierge took her cell phone to her child's basesall game, so we could contact her when we were close. Warm cookies on our arrival and a wonderful breakfast in our room the next morning were an added plus. The room was great and the suite had 2 stories and a large jaccuzi tub. Lovely place!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank clake2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

My wife and I spent a relaxing weekend at the Rochester Inn. The room was charming and immaculate! Jacci did a wonderful job of accommodating us, making dining and local sight-seeing recommendations. We had never been to the area before, so her suggestions were extremely helpful. Great place for a quiet getaway, beautifully restored building and guest rooms. We were in one of the 2 story suites, which was fantastic. Breakfast was outstanding. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Rochester Inn over Halloween weekend as we celebrated our birthdays. We cannot say enough great things about Jacci O'Dwanny and her charming establishment. This place has everything you could possibly want in a historic, relaxing getaway: convenient location, unique architecture, spacious rooms, all of the modern amenities you could hope for, comfortable bed linens, delicious breakfast, and fantastic service. We'll certainly be back during our next trip to the Sheboygan/Kohler area; we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheboygan Falls
2.6 km away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
300 reviews
13.7 km away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
83 reviews
8.3 km away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
106 reviews
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
2 km away
Days Inn Sheboygan/The Falls
Days Inn Sheboygan/The Falls
#1 of 1 in Sheboygan Falls
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rochester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rochester Inn

Address: 504 Water St, Sheboygan Falls, WI 53085-1455
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sheboygan Falls
Price Range: $134 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rochester Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Rochester Inn, a historic hotel located in downtown Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin. We invite you to experience the thoughtful appointments of a bed and breakfast inn, with the privacy and amenities of a hotel. Located just one mile from Kohler, five miles from Sheboygan, and fifteen miles from Elkhart Lake, our inn is the ideal place to enjoy all that Sheboygan County has to offer. The Rochester Inn features private baths, Kohler whirlpools, and in-room breakfast service. For those seeking a romantic getaway, you will find The Rochester Inn to be the perfect place to relax and reconnect. Our six guest rooms have a classic and timeless style, and our signature two-story suites are both spacious and cozy. We are located within the Cole Historic District of Sheboygan Falls. You'll love discovering our "Main Street" community with meticulously renovated city blocks, quaint shops, and a selection of restaurants within walking distance from the inn. Take a horse-drawn carriage ride through the charming Village of Kohler, indulge in an incredible array of fine dining options, book an appointment at the Kohler Waters Spa, or golf one of the championship courses. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rochester Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing