We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place in Sturgeon Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Music Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 September 2011

What a great motel!!! We LOVE Melanie and the staff, the wonderful retro decor, and the comfy beds! Our motorcycle group stayed there, and we enjoyed the retro kitchen area. Melanie always told us great spots to go to during the day, and when we would come back at night, we would report back to her all the fun we had. Another one of my favorites was the firepit outside, we met some really wonderful people while we were there. One amazing talented young lady named Whitney Chase who was on American Idol, sang to us around the campfire with her guitar.
This motel was so relaxed and homey, it felt like we owned the place.
I would totally recommend anyone to stay there, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

As a local business owner, I have people asking where to stay on their visit to Sturgeon Bay. I always refer them to the same place I tell my visiting family & friends - Stay at the Holiday Music Motel. It's clean, reasonably priced, a great location to walk everywhere you would need to go for shopping and checking out the arts in Sturgeon Bay.

They also have a happy cheerful staff ready to greet you & fill your needs.

Oh, and if you like the classic look of iconic Route 66, that's what it has on the outside, while having modern touches inside!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Ask the person at the front desk for room recomendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank teamfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My husband and I had booked this hotel for our last night stay in Door County due to the price. We decided half way into our stay that we wanted to stay an extra night. We called and only one room was still open and it was a larger room with 2 beds and was more expensive than our original room. The manager upgraded our room the first night so that we didn't have to move rooms while still giving us the rate the first night as if we were staying in the smaller room. It is very clean inside and they have a decent continental breakfast too (hard boiled eggs, toast, english muffins, cereal, fruit, pastries, and juice, milk and coffee (great coffee). The place has a 70's vibe while being recently redecorated. The guests varied from families, to retired couples, to groups of friends. The walls are a little thin so it is a bit noisy from time to time but nothing that kept us awake at night. I would definetely stay here again for the cost. It is however 1 hour drive from here to the tip of Door County so just keep that in mind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Best retro motel ever! Great people running it. Clean and great ambiance. Owned by some fairly famous musicians (ask the manager and help if you're interested), it has studio facilities built-in. Hundreds of great songs have been written there. Great location downtown right off the newly re-opened Michigan Street Bridge. Musical and writers' events there periodically. A Bohemian's dream.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Madfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

After staying at this cool retro styled motel, I will stay again! Very clean and ECO Friendly place! The owners were super friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenghisKangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Holiday Motel in Downtown Sturgeon Bay is conveniently located for those visiting the fabled/scenic Door County Peninsual in Wisconsin and situated right in the heart of Downtown Sturgeon Bay, adjacent to the historic old bridge and within minutes walking distance of the town's shops, bars, and restaurants.

The Holiday is one of America's original motels, built in the 50's, which has been remodeled in a manner which blends retro with modernity with decorative touches of musical themes and art. The rooms are most comfortable with well maintained fixtures and heating'airconditioning controls.

The management and staff are efficient and accommodating and friendly - eager to please and appreciative of their guests. Few motels we have visited offer such an inviting personal touch.

And our room was a great value at only $67 during the Labor Day Weekend. It doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoorCountyRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had reservation for 1 night. Holiday Music Motel is close to the park & Harmony by the Bay concerts, downtown historic district and good restaurants. It's clean, quiet, and friendly with green space, lawn chairs & fire pit. We stayed an extra night and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.9 km away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
541 reviews
5 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
39.6 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
1.7 km away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
331 reviews
26 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Music Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Music Motel

Address: 30 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Green Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $65 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Music Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's first motel has been lovingly restored. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, low rates, and an unbeatable location. We host live music weekly all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Music Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Music Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing