We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm and Relaxing Piece of Sturgeon Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chanticleer Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Calm and Relaxing Piece of Sturgeon Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I first have to start by saying thank you very much to the owners and the rest of the staff for making this stay an exceptional visit to Sturgeon Bay, WI. We stayed in the Granary Suite and it was perfect! I highly suggest this Bed and Breakfast as a must for anyone who wants to be able to take in the atmosphere and truly relax. When we went to check-in, immediately you are taken in by the charm of the fireplace and the wonderful aroma's of the baked goods. The innkeepers were very helpful at getting us set up and into our room and started us off at what turned out to be a great experience. Having breakfast delivered to your door is a service in itself; I want the recipe for those muffins! Truly, the owners and staff had an integral role in our stay and I already scheduled another vacation at the Chanticleer. Very rare do I write reviews, but I felt this needed mentioning for sure, if you haven't stayed; your missing out!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PTP5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    9
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
123
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We just had a very relaxing weekend at the Chanticleer guest house last weekend. When we arrived, the check in area had a phone to call the staff to get the keys and information about the area and the property. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We were about to drive to our cabin when one of the owners came out to greet us. We were made to feel very welcome and he showed us some of the beautiful individual rooms that were decorated very warmly and were HUGE! We also got a tour of the pool area and were told the bikes by the pool were there for the riding...(we later rode into town on the bikes and had a blast!).

Our two bedroom/one bath cabin was warm and inviting, having a well appointed kitchen, a gas fireplace, huge jacuzzi and a gas outdoor bbq on the deck. The back deck overlooked a nice pond where there were tons of wild turkeys running around (we don't get that in CA..).

We used everything at the guest house... the bikes, the BBQ, the jacuzzi, the trails to walk around the property, etc.

We are not big breakfast people so we don't feel qualified to rate the food but there was lots of it and if we did sweets, we would have been in heaven. We did bring our own coffee and cream and were just happy to sit on the back porch and watch the wild birds that were everywhere.

We enjoyed walking the property, riding the bikes and sitting on the porch the most... the jacuzzi was nice after a day of horseback riding....

Thanks Chanticleer! We had the most relaxing time and would recommend your guest house to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeLinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

If i could give this bed and breakfast any more stars i would. I recently stayed at this bed and breakfast in one of the wonderful suites. When we got there we were greeted by one of the innkeepers who was as nice as could be. I can't even begin to explain how great the service and the breakfast was. We stayed three nights and every morning we had a wonderful delious breakfast. Every morning there was something different. I would most definently come back next year. Keep up the great work, i have not enjoyed myself like this in a long time. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wonderful garden suite. We also peeked at a couple of other rooms when we were leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Where do I start... Once we were checked into our room the stress of the work week was just washed away by the relaxing atmosphere of the Rose Room. I really enjoyed having the separate levels for the bed/bath and the sofa fireplace and whirlpool. The deck off the room left great views for star gazing at night. We were lucky enough to have a clear and one of the last "warm" weekends of the season so we could enjoy relaxing by the pool.

The location is perfect for our get away - it's close to town if your looking for something to do at night and just a short drive up to more of the Door County experience. I almost didn't want to leave the grounds - the gardens and landscaping are immaculate and fit so perfectly with the working sheep barn - but once the sun when behind the trees I realized I was hungry.

The owners were very helpful in suggesting places to go for dinner and setting up reservations so we wouldn't have to wait upon arrival. In the morning the basket that was sitting at our door was just the perfect start to our day. Not to mention those awesome chocolate chip cookies that were put out in the afternoon....Yummy!!!

Once we left, I found myself trying to figure out when the next get-a-way would be. Hopefully soon. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

From the Vera Wang towels to the Lavendar Dish Soap and to the decorative antique curling iron (which by the way is an excellent conversation piece) to the bbq grill on the back porch - The Chanticleer is an excellent retreat for anyone seeking comfort and relaxation. I did a lot of investigation online looking for the perfect B&B in Door County and this is it. I have stayed in the Hemlock and Evergreen Cabin and both are wonderful. Each cabin comes with a full kitchen, fireplace, porch w/swing, bbq grill, whirpool tub, and lots of other suprises.

The B&B is perfect for couples who want a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlaaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

What a horribly awful weekend in hades we spent @the Chanticleer. Starting at check-in when we spent 17 minutes in lobby waiting for the owner to check us in. The room itself was o.k. if you don't mind a fridge that froze virtually everything that we stocked in it overnight. And the morning continental breakfast will put you in a diabetic coma, the fresh rasberries and cream had a good tablespoon of raw sugar granules that had settled to the bottom. Sunday morning the fruit cup was canned Dole peach and pear halves in heavy syrup... yum.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanticleer69, Owner at Chanticleer Guest House, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We sincerely appreciate all the reviews we receive on Trip Advisor, good and bad. They help us learn what we are doing well and what we need to improve upon. Our main priority is to provide a wonderful experience for all of our guests. Please let us know if there are issues that are upsetting, or that do not meet your expectations, so we can rectify them during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

If you are looking for a weekend getaway, you will be very satisfied and pleased with the Chanticleer. We were in need a peaceful Labor day getaway and chose to stay at the Chanticleer - what a great choice it was! The first thing you notice is the well manicured grounds. Check in was quick and efficient with a brief introduction to the room. There was a huge whirlpool tub in the corner of our suite and it worked flawlessly. As in every stay, the most important element is the bed and the quality of sleep at night. The nights are so quiet here, if you are from the city as we are, it is almost too quiet! In the morning, the breakfast was delivered to the door at the appointed time and it was just right. Everything was nicely prepared and fresh. It puts the rest of the day in a good light. One morning we walked the wooded nature trail and it is amazing. There are so many things to see and enjoy. This is a working sheep farm so it was fun to see the sheep in the field. We were very pleased with the accommodations and the proprietors were very helpful in local recommendations. We highly recommend the Chanticleer and will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The web site had a very accurate description of our suite - the Grand - and we found it helpful in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoLooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.7 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
22.4 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
36.1 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
21.4 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
22.0 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Guest House

Property: Chanticleer Guest House
Address: 4072 Cherry Rd, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-8971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanticleer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chanticleer Guest House is located on 80 private acres, just north of Sturgeon Bay, WI. We offer 8 bed and breakfast suites, as well as 4 luxury cabins, for rent through out the year. Our in-ground heated pool is open from Memorial Day until Labor Day. All of our accommodations offer double whirlpool tubs, fire places, private bathrooms with showers and a delicious, homemade breakfast delivered to your room each morning. We are also a working sheep farm, with lambing season from March until May. Please contact us with questions and we hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Chanticleer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanticleer Guest House Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing