We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chanticleer Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Maritime Inn(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$97
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Music Motel(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$89
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Hills Golf & Lodge(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stone Harbor Resort(Sturgeon Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snug Harbor Inn(Sturgeon Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
147
11
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
11
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstamarack cabinthe barnwalking trailsgrand suitesunflower roompicnic basketwild turkeyschocolate chip cookiesget awaybreakfast delivered to our roommain guestloft roomevery morningdoor countypecan french toastbig basketguesthouse offers
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 166 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We just had a very relaxing weekend at the Chanticleer guest house last weekend. When we arrived, the check in area had a phone to call the staff to get the keys and information about the area and the property. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We were about to drive to our cabin when one of the owners came out to greet us. We were made to feel very welcome and he showed us some of the beautiful individual rooms that were decorated very warmly and were HUGE! We also got a tour of the pool area and were told the bikes by the pool were there for the riding...(we later rode into town on the bikes and had a blast!).

Our two bedroom/one bath cabin was warm and inviting, having a well appointed kitchen, a gas fireplace, huge jacuzzi and a gas outdoor bbq on the deck. The back deck overlooked a nice pond where there were tons of wild turkeys running around (we don't get that in CA..).

We used everything at the guest house... the bikes, the BBQ, the jacuzzi, the trails to walk around the property, etc.

We are not big breakfast people so we don't feel qualified to rate the food but there was lots of it and if we did sweets, we would have been in heaven. We did bring our own coffee and cream and were just happy to sit on the back porch and watch the wild birds that were everywhere.

We enjoyed walking the property, riding the bikes and sitting on the porch the most... the jacuzzi was nice after a day of horseback riding....

Thanks Chanticleer! We had the most relaxing time and would recommend your guest house to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeLinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2011

If i could give this bed and breakfast any more stars i would. I recently stayed at this bed and breakfast in one of the wonderful suites. When we got there we were greeted by one of the innkeepers who was as nice as could be. I can't even begin to explain how great the service and the breakfast was. We stayed three nights and every morning we had a wonderful delious breakfast. Every morning there was something different. I would most definently come back next year. Keep up the great work, i have not enjoyed myself like this in a long time. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wonderful garden suite. We also peeked at a couple of other rooms when we were leaving. You could not go wrong with any of the suites.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Where do I start... Once we were checked into our room the stress of the work week was just washed away by the relaxing atmosphere of the Rose Room. I really enjoyed having the separate levels for the bed/bath and the sofa fireplace and whirlpool. The deck off the room left great views for star gazing at night. We were lucky enough to have a clear and one of the last "warm" weekends of the season so we could enjoy relaxing by the pool.

The location is perfect for our get away - it's close to town if your looking for something to do at night and just a short drive up to more of the Door County experience. I almost didn't want to leave the grounds - the gardens and landscaping are immaculate and fit so perfectly with the working sheep barn - but once the sun when behind the trees I realized I was hungry.

The owners were very helpful in suggesting places to go for dinner and setting up reservations so we wouldn't have to wait upon arrival. In the morning the basket that was sitting at our door was just the perfect start to our day. Not to mention those awesome chocolate chip cookies that were put out in the afternoon....Yummy!!!

Once we left, I found myself trying to figure out when the next get-a-way would be. Hopefully soon. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2011

From the Vera Wang towels to the Lavendar Dish Soap and to the decorative antique curling iron (which by the way is an excellent conversation piece) to the bbq grill on the back porch - The Chanticleer is an excellent retreat for anyone seeking comfort and relaxation. I did a lot of investigation online looking for the perfect B&B in Door County and this is it. I have stayed in the Hemlock and Evergreen Cabin and both are wonderful. Each cabin comes with a full kitchen, fireplace, porch w/swing, bbq grill, whirpool tub, and lots of other suprises.

The B&B is perfect for couples who want a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlaaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2011

What a horribly awful weekend in hades we spent @the Chanticleer. Starting at check-in when we spent 17 minutes in lobby waiting for the owner to check us in. The room itself was o.k. if you don't mind a fridge that froze virtually everything that we stocked in it overnight. And the morning continental breakfast will put you in a diabetic coma, the fresh rasberries and cream had a good tablespoon of raw sugar granules that had settled to the bottom. Sunday morning the fruit cup was canned Dole peach and pear halves in heavy syrup... yum.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanticleer69, Owner at Chanticleer Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

We sincerely appreciate all the reviews we receive on Trip Advisor, good and bad. They help us learn what we are doing well and what we need to improve upon. Our main priority is to provide a wonderful experience for all of our guests. Please let us know if there are issues that are upsetting, or that do not meet your expectations, so we can rectify them during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews