We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Wausau
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Cain36
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Came to Wausau on business, am staying in this beautiful hotel. Apparently recently renovated - lobby is really upscale, rooms are new and extremely well put together. Have stayed in this chain in the past - this one is by far the nicest that I have seen.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cain36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    57
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
24
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great choice for a stay in the Wausau area. This hotel is unexpectedly stylish and contemporary, very clean, quiet and comfortable. It feels like a higher catagory Marriott property. Having an on site option for a meal is great, even though not a full service restaurant. The free breakfasts in most hotels leave a lot to be desired, so we were happy with what was available. There is a good pub just next door (The Great Dane) with a huge menu and full bar plus patio seating. If in the area again this would be our choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenFam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

There was a bridal party staying on the Friday night we arrived, but I never heard a peep. The bed and room was comfy. The clerk was very accommodating, even asking us on arrival where we cared to stay in the hotel. The lobby is newly remodeled. Breakfast isn't free, something I wish was different. But it's a beautiful lobby. The rooms aren't huge, but they are going to be remodeled in the near future we were told. The location is perfect. It's next door to the Great Dane, a wonderful place to eat dinner, and you can walk there. We felt safe and secure during our stay. They have a beautiful pool and exercise room if you are looking for that. I'd stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeeisready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algonquin, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

This hotel was recently remodeled, and it shows. The decor is very nice, there's wireless everywhere, and the rooms are clean and new. Service staff was friendly.
The negatives are minor things: Like many Courtyards their meal service is an afterthought , and there's no room service. In a time where there are so many suite hotels, paying premium price for a room should include a microwave and/or fridge, but it doesn't. Overall, not bad, just not great.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

I stayed with my family at the Courtyard Wausau to attend an area school activity for a weekend in January.

Given that it was winter in Wisconsin, the first thought has to go to comfort and warmth in a hotel, and the Courtyard handles the cold just fine. The room heating worked fine, there were no noticeable drafts and the parking lot was reasonably clear of ice and snow.

This Courtyard was under moderate renovation to install a Starbucks coffee area and some other lobby amenities. Despite a bit of inconvenience, the common areas of this hotel are relatively roomy and inviting and on the higher end for the Courtyard brand. Nothing else in this hotel is overly fancy and rooms have standard amenities. Everything is serviceable, WiFi worked fine and parking is free. Breakfast is extra but is minimal cost (less than $10 for buffet).

The only downside is the hotel's location. It's nice to be located close to the freeway, but in this case close means looking at the underside of a long-sweeping freeway interchange ramp for the entire back side (west) of the hotel. We didn't notice much noise, but we were also there on the weekend and frankly were dead tired (a herd of elephants wouldn't have woken us up). It is also circuitous to go to/from the hotel from either the north or west, although access to/from the south is very direct.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotdty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

If you are traveling for business or pleasure, this is a great place to stay. It was quiet and comfortable. Friendly staff. Would have liked a fridge in my room, but other than that, I worked and rested well there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

I was dreading this business trip to Wausau because I knew my client was going to be reducing his contract with us by about 50%. This hotel was a very big surprise, usually smaller cities don't have the nicest hotels. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was decent, and the staff was fairly friendly. I know it may not sound as though I am giving the hotel rave reviews but for someone who is normally underwhelmed by the lack of customer service these days this hotel was good.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.0 km away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
4.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
9.6 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wausau

Property: Courtyard Wausau
Address: 1000 South 22nd Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wausau 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Courtyard
Wausau Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing