We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Beautiful Area”
Review of Courtyard Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Wausau
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Beautiful Area”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I loved the remodeled lobby and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. I ordered the oatmeal and it was delicious--if that can be said of oatmeal. Super friendly service! The rooms could be updated to match the lobby but I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood which is a plus. The patio was great except for someone who was smoking not too far away. Maybe the hotel would consider becoming completely smoke-free? Nice hotel and a great location! It was truly relaxing!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    57
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
24
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

From the moment I walked in, the staff was welcoming, upbeat, and highly engaging. Their commitment to ensuring I was well cared for never ended! They went above and beyond to make check in a breeze, point out the many amenities available, and even had hot coffee ready and waiting by 4:00 am since I had a 6:00 am flight back to Michigan.

Excellence was evident in every aspect of this facility and the team!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebe1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cain36
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Came to Wausau on business, am staying in this beautiful hotel. Apparently recently renovated - lobby is really upscale, rooms are new and extremely well put together. Have stayed in this chain in the past - this one is by far the nicest that I have seen.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cain36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great choice for a stay in the Wausau area. This hotel is unexpectedly stylish and contemporary, very clean, quiet and comfortable. It feels like a higher catagory Marriott property. Having an on site option for a meal is great, even though not a full service restaurant. The free breakfasts in most hotels leave a lot to be desired, so we were happy with what was available. There is a good pub just next door (The Great Dane) with a huge menu and full bar plus patio seating. If in the area again this would be our choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenFam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

There was a bridal party staying on the Friday night we arrived, but I never heard a peep. The bed and room was comfy. The clerk was very accommodating, even asking us on arrival where we cared to stay in the hotel. The lobby is newly remodeled. Breakfast isn't free, something I wish was different. But it's a beautiful lobby. The rooms aren't huge, but they are going to be remodeled in the near future we were told. The location is perfect. It's next door to the Great Dane, a wonderful place to eat dinner, and you can walk there. We felt safe and secure during our stay. They have a beautiful pool and exercise room if you are looking for that. I'd stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeeisready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algonquin, IL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This hotel was recently remodeled, and it shows. The decor is very nice, there's wireless everywhere, and the rooms are clean and new. Service staff was friendly.
The negatives are minor things: Like many Courtyards their meal service is an afterthought , and there's no room service. In a time where there are so many suite hotels, paying premium price for a room should include a microwave and/or fridge, but it doesn't. Overall, not bad, just not great.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I stayed with my family at the Courtyard Wausau to attend an area school activity for a weekend in January.

Given that it was winter in Wisconsin, the first thought has to go to comfort and warmth in a hotel, and the Courtyard handles the cold just fine. The room heating worked fine, there were no noticeable drafts and the parking lot was reasonably clear of ice and snow.

This Courtyard was under moderate renovation to install a Starbucks coffee area and some other lobby amenities. Despite a bit of inconvenience, the common areas of this hotel are relatively roomy and inviting and on the higher end for the Courtyard brand. Nothing else in this hotel is overly fancy and rooms have standard amenities. Everything is serviceable, WiFi worked fine and parking is free. Breakfast is extra but is minimal cost (less than $10 for buffet).

The only downside is the hotel's location. It's nice to be located close to the freeway, but in this case close means looking at the underside of a long-sweeping freeway interchange ramp for the entire back side (west) of the hotel. We didn't notice much noise, but we were also there on the weekend and frankly were dead tired (a herd of elephants wouldn't have woken us up). It is also circuitous to go to/from the hotel from either the north or west, although access to/from the south is very direct.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotdty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wausau hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
444 reviews
3.0 km away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,057 reviews
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.3 km away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
245 reviews
3.5 km away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wausau

Property: Courtyard Wausau
Address: 1000 S 22nd Ave, Wausau, WI 54401-5221
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wausau 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Courtyard
Wausau Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing