We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really like this place”
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I really like this place”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a very nice hotel, and has lots of stuff to offer. The room that we had was a condo, and it was very spacious and clean. The waterpark is nice, the service is good, and it's a nice hotel in general. The only drawback is its large size- it can take a long time to walk from place to place!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kirlpamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    614
    424
    356
    285
See reviews for
1,288
203
9
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Just spent last weekend at the resort. It was extremely clean and comfortable. We were upgraded to a condo suite and could not have been more pleased. The food at the resort was exceptional. (breakfast buffet and the sports bar). Never needed to look far for entertainment. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlenet36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Chula Vista has a great water park. I like that the staff has t-shirts which state clearly that "if your child is in the water that you should be in the water". Be warned in advance that if you dine at the buffet EACH soda/EACH refill is $2.50. My advise -- ask for a glass of ice and bring your own.

Room Tip: Please know that we were given a free upgrade to a room with a view in a very crowded hotel. That w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Overall resort was good, a couple things should be worked on like :
Pillows (need new ones)
Beds (need new ones)
Smell in the hallways (need the automatic air freshener) smelled like garbage
Towels in the water park could use a up grade
Other than that everything else was fine

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulieangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in a Jr. Suite and the room was clean, spacious, even though just a bit outdated. The vacation stay was two adults, and two pre-teen girls.
Pros...for their age group the water park was amazing. The room was slightly above average. We had good service while we were there.

Cons...Food at the park, and buffet, were simply a joke. Avoid at all costs. Hallways can be very noisy.

Would consider staying again, for the water park, but under no circumstance would we eat there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Chula Visa resort is a dump. Then again, most of the Dells is a dump, filled with trashy people, low-quality restaurants and tired accommodations. if Wal-mart was a city, it would be the Wisconsin Dells. And Chula Vista is the bargin bin filled with a lot of what no one wants.

When we checked in to our "Junior Suite," I was pretty sure the room we were given was a joke. Utterly disgusting. I went to the front desk to get another room and was given a room in the nearby Golf Resort. That room was mildly better, but still not what I had expected based on photos on the Chula Vista website.

The waterpark is meh. Cool watersides, and surprisingly, not too busy. Many of the children were unsupervised while their parents guzzled domestic beers in the poolside bar. The lifeguards were fantastic, and truly the highlight of this resort is many of the people who work there. The resort's lifeguards, resort first aid man, shuttle drivers, and front desk people are terrific. Obviously they are able to rise above their grimy surroundings and provide good service.

We were talked into attending a presentation for Chula Vista's "Club" which is not supposed to be a timeshare, but it is. The people we encountered in "the Club" sales office were so unpleasant that we decided to check out of the resort a day early. Some of the shadiest people I have seen in a long time. One gentleman was particularly unpleasant: thin, late 40's, 3 pack-a-day smoker, no customer service skills. He was exceedingly rude and condiscending to us when we asked if we could eat earlier than "our time.". Don't waste a second of your vacation sitting through their presentation--you will never want to come back to this place.

All in all, we won't return to this resort.

Room Tip: There is nothing sweet about this resort's suites. The condo building seemed to be much nicer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MfromMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This place is great a little walk to the indoor water park, but all indoors :). My friends and I had a great time, got a great deal. The water park was perfect for us, we wanted something that wasn't just for younger kids. The room was perfect a room right by the hot tub springs perfect view. At night we heard coyotes howling as this resort is right off the river. The bar inside is nice around $10.99 a meal but since the service was so terrible we got out whole meal for free. The club deal is pretty much a scam dont do it. Just enjoy your stay. The snack shack in the water park is amazing with a great view. The water park has some great tube slide rides that go outside but heated. The neatest one is a water roller coaster like black anaconda at Noahs Ark. Its fast and fun. The lazy river has some really pretty water falls. We were all 24 and over and had a great time. I agree the only sucky thing is the water park and OUTDOOR hot springs close at 10 pm weekends 2 :( but beautiful fireplace by the hot springs as well. Very pretty when it snowed. Its rather long lots of space. It was $189 for 2 nights 5 people and we got 2 $50 gift receipts for Howlers sports bar (free meal had to go back and re spend) and Crash Landings the place in the water park. Little crappy arcade try somewhere else such as Knuckleheads :). We will defiantly go back sometime. Great decorations around the resort, easy check in and out. Great deals and check out Skittles the tour guide guy in the lobby located by the steak house and cafe. Balcony view. They do have mini golf and I think volley ball and a out door lazy river as well as other outdoor water rides but as it was winter those weren't open :) Oh yea I almost forgot while staying they give you a card to check out a dvd at their "redbox" type deal included in your stay, you can get as many movies as you want just return one when your done with it :) they are up to date as well. I hope i'm not forgetting anything. I recommend this place as Great Wolf Lodge is more 12 and under themed and Kalahari is way to expensive. This resort is perfect for older and younger guests and perfectly priced. Always a good deal rolling around. Such as their week deal where is $150 a person. Includes your stay, all you can drink at Howlers bar and grill and I think food. Of course staying here gives you free water park passes though the day you leave of your stay. Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JesseJ948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
6.5 km away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
9.5 km away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
4.7 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
4.9 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.9 km away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Property: Chula Vista Resort
Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9062
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing