We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Romantic Getaway”
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had an amazing time. Food was great, indoor waterpark, staff were all amazing. The fireplace was beautifully decorated for Christmas time. Our photos looked professionally taken because of the scene setting being successfully done. I was proposed to tonight! The staff really took good care of us after witnessing the proposal near the fireplace. We are definitly bringing the whole family for a summer waterpark adventure. Yayyy can't wait to bring the neices and nephews.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maysoonabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Maysoonabe,

Congratulations ! Thank you for sharing your story on your engagement so glad we could be a part of your special moment.
So glad you had a memorable time with us and we look forward to seeing you again this summer.
Have a great holiday season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,225)
There are newer reviews for Chula Vista Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We finally booked the great escape package and it was everything we expected it to be and more!! Will at Howlers bar was an awesome bartender!! All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The buffet was very good! Almost too much food! The waterpark was not crowded and as a couple with no children that made for a great time! We will definitely be back if that package is offered again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Gregk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

GregK81,

Thank you for taking the time to be with us and giving us feedback on your stay. The Great Escape package is a great value so glad you were able to take advantage of it for your getaway.
We look forward to seeing you again sometime this coming year.
Have a great holiday season

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Three day stay on business, we are NOT high maintenance people and found everything GREAT! Our room was nice and comfortable, small fridge was nice. We don't give a room the "white glove" test because we don't want to pay for that! Plan to bring family back some summer as it looks like a very family friendly, fun place for a summer getaway!
Food was good and lots of it! Kaminski Brothers Chop House was FABULOUS as always! Its a huge place with a lot going on!

Room Tip: If you have a large family get a suite with the multiple rooms...they are beautiful and big!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grandmaTo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

GrandmaTO3,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your stay and so we are glad to see that you had a memorable stay. Thank you for the kind words on our team members and their service.
We look forward to seeing you again sometime this summer. Have a most enjoyable holiday season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed with a group and I was in the old section of the hotel. Half of my electric outlets did not work, the beds are not the best and it is all dated. The heat in the room was very good, thankfully! Restaurants are very good. The floors are quite thin as well. Unfortunately found what I believe was a cock roach as I left the room. The floors were not cleaned in my 3 night stay and there was sugar all over the table that I did not spill. Cleaning was fresh towels and making the bed. I had friends in the condos that were newer, but they said the same about the cleaning issue.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the old section!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ssrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

SSRandall,

We appreciate you being with us and thank you for your feedback. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and for the housekeeping issues you encountered. The comments you provided have been given to our Executive Housekeeper.
I do hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity in the future to be of service.
Have a wonderful holiday season.

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I booked this resort using the Great Escape package meaning we had two nights for two people for $270 with all taxes and fees, meals and drinks included (not tips though) during the weekdays. We enjoyed it and may return with that package as it really was enjoyable for us adults only. We only utilized the hot tub and lazy river at the water park and bar.

The outdoor hottub was wonderful but only opened at 3 PM in the afternoon so made for a long day if that was what interested you as it was right outside the hotel building (more convenient than the waterpark. We enjoyed the bar service at the outdoor hottub and fireplace.

Our room was fine - nothing special - it was a family room and had a king with two full-sized beds, sofa sleeper and two tvs. It also had a coffee maker, small fridge and microwave.

I generally stay at the condos at Glacier Canyon with my three girls. This has me spoiled as it has two bathrooms and a full kitchen so not sure if I will return with my girls unless there is a great deal similar to the great escape. I would recommend that as food and drinks at any resort add up quickly. Let me know of questions as I have stayed at several Dells resorts including Hotel Rome, Kalahari and Wintergreen plus the Americinn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Kim G.

Thank you for being with us on the Great Escape package it is a great value. I do hope that you may be able to visit us again in the future. We have multiple room products for you to choose from that would fit your family needs.
Have a great holiday season,

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We visited the indoor water park during Thanksgiving and had a blast! There are many slides to choose from for all ages, even toddlers. This is worth the money and time. We will certainly visit again. The price is worth it and you can easily make half a day of it. The lifeguards are very attentive and do their job well.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Pallas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Pallas A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your visit to Los Rios waterpark. it was great to see that you had a memorable time. We do hope that you will be able to be with us again in the very near future. All the best this holiday season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Won't stay again. Had issues with the onsite restaurant and manager refused to speak to us and told our waitress to pay our tab as she refused to comp any of the items ordered in error. Our waitress was embarrassed and we left upset. Complained to front desk as well. This hotel was about $100 cheaper than others and I guess u get what u pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HNYMOONER28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hnymooner28,

I personaly apologize for the experience you encountered, for this is not expectable in our service culture. We have followed up with the indivduals involved. Again I apologize and hopefully you may be able to see an opportunity to give us another try in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
4.7 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
641 reviews
9.5 km away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
717 reviews
7.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
968 reviews
9.9 km away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
8.0 km away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $155 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing