We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
Ranked #53 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Stayed with my family for 2 nights, extremely disappointed. Upon arrival, went to check in and there was a female with the nametag "Jesy" at the desk, who did not say hello, or smile, I have no idea how she got her job, very rude. The room had visible mold above the sink mirror and the light switches were filled with gunk. Carpets nasty, whole building is dated and stinks. While Jesy was the rudest, there were only one or two other employees that made eye contact, smiled and had the most basic customer service skills. Whoever is in charge of hiring these people and keeping them as employees needs to enforce basic niceties such as greetings, good byes, and maybe even a "thank you for staying with us". Unbelieveable. Went to a different hotel for the rest of our vacation. Love the Dells, but will never go to this place again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky V, Guest Relations Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

kamush1-

We are sorry to hear about the frustrations you experienced during your stay. We will pass your comments along to our management team We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 2,272 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

I was here for a conference. The rooms were older, worn out, and somewhat dirty, e.g. grimy light switches and phone, a few small items on the carpet from previous guests. Some colleagues at the conference were having allergy flare-ups due to black mold in the bathrooms. Front desk employees didn’t ever smile or act in a friendly manner. The Kilbourn City Grill was overpriced and unappetizing. The walls are so thin that the family in the next room may as well have been in my room. I would never go back, even if it were free.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Stillpoint11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky V, Guest Relations Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Stillpoint11-

We are sorry to hear about the frustrations you encountered during your conference. We will pass your comments along to our management team. If you would like to further discuss your stay please do not hesitate to reach out to us at info@chulavistaresort.com or (608)678-3119.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We stayed two weeknights in the fall. Great price. Great location. My 10 and 11 years-old and I stayed in a family suite with river view,balcony, and fireplace.Staff was very friendly. They did ask if I wanted to find out more about their vacation club. I said not this trip and it was left at that. The room was clean, but does need some updating. Toilet/shower area very dated and a little bit of an odor. Indoor waterpark was clean and not too crowded. Lifeguards were attentive and I felt that my children were safe even if I could not see them. Loved the underground tunnel and being able to walk indoors to get to all parts of the resort. Best part of Chula Vista for me is the location: quiet, out of the way but still close to everything, and on the rivier.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky V, Guest Relations Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Jen M-

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear how much you enjoy our location! We're glad you family had fun and we hope you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in north tower hotel on a groupon. Upon arrival, we had instant maintenance issues with room. 4 lightbulbs, lamps did not turn on. Maintenance guy responded with bulb fix for 3 of 4 lights, friendly. Sheets have holes. Shower curtain rips. Lampshades had rips. Blankets worn out.

Waterpark was fun. Parking was a challenge, not designed for events. We could not find a spot returning on a Saturday night at 8pm. Had to wait for someone to leave.

Coffee not refilled in room after 1st night.

General areas not maintained, big gorilla should be tossed in garbage, it was absolutely destroyed by someone.

Restaurant ok, service ok. Waitstaff was polite but all seemed depressed not good interaction.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank WhitneyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky V, Guest Relations Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

WhitneyFamily-

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the frustrations you experienced with your stay. We will pass your comments along to our mangement team and housekeeping department. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Overall it was a decent stay. The villa we got near the golf course was pretty nice and still nearby the main resort. A little dirty and filled with dead ladybugs in the entrance. The water park was o.k. Not much to do for a one year old. The kids area where the big bucket is was a disappointment. Only one slide was running at a time.... according to the lifeguards there weren't enough of them to open two. These were the only body slides my 3 year old could ride so it was disappointing. The whole indoor waterpark seemed cold. I was shivering most of the time as we're my kids. Not stroller friendly inside the park. Breakfast buffet was good. Next time I'd pay more for a better waterpark.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank trisha j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky V, Guest Relations Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

trisha j-

Thank you for your feedback. We will pass your comments along to our Aquatics Manager. We are glad you liked your room! We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Check-in experience was the worst customer service I've ever heard or seen in a hotel. Not enough characters here to write all what happened. Staff even argued with us when we needed help. It was awful.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank matthewdwaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky V, Guest Relations Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

matthewdwaterhouse-

We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with you check-in experience. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us at info@chulavistaresort.com or (608)678-3119 if you would like to discuss it further. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

I would have skipped doing my review on Chula Vista if the review card submitted online. I tried for over an hour to submit a review with no luck.
The overall room was fine. I liked the idea that they kept party groups away from families in the condo area.
Our condos were on the first floor, which was convenient. We did have several issues. First, there weren’t enough blankets for the pullout sofas. The girls had to call at midnight to get more blankets.
The next issue was non working electrical outlets in the kitchen when we went to plug in griddles. We moved the microwave to accommodate and were able to cook breakfast.
The dishwasher left our dishes wet, so I believe the resort needs to update some of the appliances. There was enough dishwashing detergent for us to use. For hand washed dishes, we went and bought our own soap since we couldn’t tell if the bottle with no label was actually dish soap.
The patio outside of our room was full of dead wasps that should have been swept up. It seems that maintenance coulld improve.
Luigi’s pizza was good, though it took what seemed like forever to get through on the phone. It also took quite a while for room delivery.
Overall, we had a good time. I will return to this resort, despite the issues we had. I’m hoping there are improvements made by the next time I visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank niteowl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky V, Guest Relations Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

niteowl22-

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about the frustrations you experienced during your stay. We will pass your comments along to our mangement team for future planning. We are glad you like Luigi's and your room. We are excited for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
4.7 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
658 reviews
6.5 km away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#38 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
492 reviews
7.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
726 reviews
4.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
402 reviews
4.5 km away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#27 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $157 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing