We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, super tender filet, just okay bone-in ribeye”

Double Cut Charcoal Grill & Liquor Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Double Cut Charcoal Grill & Liquor Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 197 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Arrived on a Friday night about 7pm. Enjoyed a cocktail at the Liquor Bar and absorbed the 70s deco mixed with industrial. The bar is very inviting and worth just relaxing in either before or after dinner. We were seated at our table about 7:30pm with Jose as our server. He was friendly, took our drink and food order, and was off. Our wine came almost instantly which was nice. The bread and food arrived together about 15 minutes later (there was not enough room on the table for both arriving together). We ordered a filet with Madeira mushrooms and bone-in ribeye with a brandy peppercorn sauce, smashed garlic potatos and grilled seasonal vegetables. All accoutrements were served on the side allowing us to first taste the steak and the together with the sauce and sides. The filet was amazing. Rediculously tender and tasty. The bone in ribeye was under cooked (ordered medium and came more rare especially near the bone) and had no where near the flavor of the filet. The mushrooms and sauce were worth the $3 up charge. The potatoes were blended a little too much almost to the point of being a tad gummy. The seasoned vegetables were just that. Overall it was a decent decent for $180 (wine prices per bottle were not out of line and they had a great selevtion). Given the choice again I would get the filet...it was leaps and bounds better than the ribeye.

Thank thomasj399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Double Cut Charcoal Grill & Liquor Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Thank you Thomas for choosing Double Cut for your recent dining experience. I am delighted to hear that Jose provided you good service & that your filet was tender & tasty, I am disappointed with the ribeye experience you had & do hope that you shared it with Jose. Despite this it sounds as though you had a great dining experience. We appreciate you sharing this recent experience, as I have already shared it with our Double Cut team & we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 269 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2016

My husband and I decided to go out with friends during our visit to Kalahari Resort for our recent anniversary. Since this is the up-scale restaurant at the resort, we thought it would make for a really nice night out.

Upon walking in, the atmosphere was just wonderful. They have a lobby area with seating and fire pits that you can warm yourself by, which is especially nice if you've just come from a cold day outside or from the pool. We were seated promptly which was great. They have a cart which shows off some of their specialties, which was neat to see.

We ended up ordering a variety of appetizers as well as main meals. I loved the tacos which were yummy. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the sides were really delicious. We ended up sharing one desert between the four of us, which they offered to let us have by the fire in the lobby area which was a really nice end to the evening.

Overall, the food, service, and atmosphere here was really nice. It is a bit on the pricey side, but we found it to be well worth it. The general feel of the place is upscale, but they seem perfectly accepting of the casual customers that come from the resort. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrayKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Double Cut Charcoal Grill & Liquor Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2016

Happy belated Anniversary! We are delighted to have been part of your celebration! I must agree with you, the Short Rib Tacos are a favorite! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate your recommendation & hope to be your traditional Anniversary Celebration location!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

We arrived an hour earlier then our reservation, figuring we would have drinks while we waited for our set time. Our table was ready for our party of 10 once we walked in the door.

Food was amazing and everyone enjoyed it. The drinks were perfect.

Our waitress was the best. She was very personable, made some excellent recommendations and provided us with amazing service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cgauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We took our parents here for dinner and I was truly blown away by the food, drink selection and service. To find a restaurant like this in the Dells was a welcome surprise. The lobster bisque and clam chowder were excellent. The steaks were fantastic. The Ceasar salad was awesome. We will definately be back on our next visit to the Dells.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PaulT60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Double Cut Charcoal Grill & Liquor Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

We are simply delighted to hear your dining experience with us blew you away. We take great pride in our selection, presentation & service & it sounds as though we hit the nail on the head! Thank you for dining with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2016

My husband and I went on our first date at Double Cut shortly after they opened in November of 2013. We have been back there several times since. As we were sitting by the fire with a glass of wine (for three hours) we decided if we ever got married we would have a house with a fireplace. Tomorrow is our two year anniversary, and we have a house with a fireplace. I love the atmosphere there, and the food is outstanding. Lobster Mac and Cheese!! Yum!!! We had our company Christmas party there this past January and that was a great experience as well. The service was outstanding. I would definitely recommend visiting, even if it is just for an after dinner drink by the fire.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Double Cut Charcoal Grill & Liquor Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Jamie, we are so touched by your story! Happy Belated Anniversary! We are delighted to have such fans of Double Cut! We'd appreciate the opportunity to connect with you further, would you kindly email me at WIConnect@KalahariResorts.com I hope you spend many evenings with a glass wine by your own fireplace after dinner at Double Cut of course! :) Talk soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double Cut Charcoal Grill & Liquor Bar also viewed

 

Been to Double Cut Charcoal Grill & Liquor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing