We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice option of indoor and outdoor waterpark ......”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice option of indoor and outdoor waterpark ......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We were there in June and expecting to be outdoors most of the time ... however, the weather was cool and we were very pleased to have the option of the indoor waterpark. The water temperature was very comfortable, and they had quite a variety of different slides/other water activities that appealed to a wide variety of ages. My daughters, ages 7 and 9 when we were there, can often be bored by what they think is "too babyish." However, they found a variety of slides that they really loved, and we all had a great time! Personally I feel it is a little overpriced and too commercialized, but the rooms were clean and we really did enjoy our stay there.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    863
    441
    236
    116
See reviews for
2,383
52
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I took took the family here on Sunday before a Monday ski trip. I looked at all the reviews on TripAdvisor and chose to stay here. It was also recommended by a friend. We had reserved a sofa suite. I think the rate was fair. Check in was fast and the front desk staff was friendly, and informative. The room was towards the end on the building and was clean and spacious. We hit the waterpark and it was fun. It was warm and there was plenty of supervision. I also liked how the adult hot tub was regulated for adults only. I wish the guests there would have been more mindful and picked up after themselves. Towels and garbage were left by chairs and tables. They did have staff cleaning up. We enjoyed the trip and would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wispr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I've stayed at the Dells before and Great Wolf Lodge was by far the best so far. They have spacious rooms, and the option for big condos as well. The water park is huge and very entertaining for the kids. Plenty of parking, a good breakfast buffet, and numerous amenities that will make your stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Get a suite or a condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
348 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The family stayed at the Great Wolf over my birthday this year. My mom and dad asked if I'd like to go there for my birthday with my 7 year old daughter. Sounded like a plan to me.

The hotel is in a decent location, right across the street from the similar Kalahari. It's right off the highway and right next to an outlet mall and a few restaurants. The building is pretty impressive and the landscaping is very well done. Nothing not to like from the outside, that's for sure.

The lobby was just as nice. There is a giant clock "thing" that comes to life a couople times a day and draws a pretty big crowd. If you're caught up in it at check in, it's pretty hard to get around. Check in took a littel while and I did but the value pack of kid's activities up front, which is a really good idea.

The rooms are nicely decorated. Nothing too fancy about the layout. A couple Queen beds and a couch. We were on the 3rd floor, so we had a balcony. We had a parking lot view, nothing too special there. beds were comfortable enough. It looked better than it felt to be in there.

Now on to the good stuff. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and it was pretty good. My daughter got a pair of wolf ears with her kids meal. That was a nice touch. The Ice cream place was pretty busy. They need to work on their Starbucks making skills, but it was fine. They have a kid's spa, but my daughter didn't do that. We did play in the arcade and that was ok. Very busy and the whole place revolves around tickets. Expect to stand in line to turn them in. They have a nice gift shop and a Build-a-Bear type stuffed animal contraption. Since I bought the Kid's Value Pack, my daughter got a Squirrel (Nutty).

Next is Magiquest. Again, a wand was included with my package, but the upgraded unicorn top was not. Watch out for that. I was a bit skeptical about the place, but I got to tell you, it was pretty fun. My 7 year old loved it and we spent a lot of time there over the 3 days. You can come and go as you please once you have the wand. It's a pretty fun treasure hunt type game that takes you all over 4 stories and even into the lobby of the hotel. I'd recommend it for 12 and under. After all, you can't swim all the time.

That brings us to the pool. Wow. 3 indoor buildings and a large outdoor area. The hotel was booked full, but you couldn't tell by the pool. there was a decent line for the Tornado ride. It was a little too much for my daughter. It scared the heck out of her actually. You may not want to take a young child on it if they freak out easy. It was a lot of fun though. The wave pool was nice and the large water spray fort was nice for the kids. I like intertube slides and there are a bunch of good ones. I liked the outdoor ones the best. The outdoor pool was also pretty dead, which was great.

Pros - Water Park, Magiquest, Kids will have a blast, the overall look of the place, everything is right there for you, even if the place is packed, the water park doesn't seem that busy.

Cons - The rooms were good, but not great (not in there much though), food was expensive and not all that great,

Room Tip: the place is big, so you sure walk a lot to get anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Decent rooms, good food, great ammeneties. Tons for kids to do and adults, great for all weather inside or out. Easy access from freeway. A little high priced for the room but water park is included. Plan lots of time in the water or your wasting money.

Room Tip: all rooms are about the same, easy outside access on ground floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgskyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect as I had read reviews of the hotel be dated. I was pleasantly surprised with the accommodations, the main hotel spaces and waterpark. Specifically, my 2 1/2 year old LOVED the waterpark. He could pretty much swim and go on everything except maybe a few large slides. He even went down a larger one right after my husband with the help of a lifeguard. I also loved that the outlet mall was right next door. When I had had enough of swimming, I took a little shopping break. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at the Great Wolf during our kids winter break, 4 days / 3 nights in the regular section (not the condo building) in a fireplace room.

Check-in: Check in was quick, and they take a unique (in my experience) approach to early check-ins - they take your mobile number, give you keys, and then call you on your mobile when your room is ready. This allowed us to check in, walk across the parking lot to a restaurant and eat, and then walk back after getting a call with our room number. This is much better than having to come back to the front desk, especially if they're busy.

Rooms: To be honest, I've read the other reviews here, and our room was fine. The room was clean on check-in and remained that way throughout our stay. I'm not a carpet inspector, but it didn't seem worn to me. The decor was dated but clean. We had plenty of towels and soap amenities during our stay. All the TV functions worked. I only used the phone for internal calls, and it worked fine.

Water Park: As others have mentioned, the water park is smaller than the other mega-resorts nearby. But our teen age kid doesn't like water slides, so he was happy there with the wave pool, jacuzzi, and basketball pool. Our middle kid (9 years old) took several slides and was happy. The wave pool is the main attraction here. My only complaint is that the "lazy river" - where you float around a water path in a tube - is too small. Big props for their lifeguards - these are quite likely the most attentive lifeguards I've ever seen, they constantly walk around the pools with their eyes on the swimmers, watching for trouble. Our kids are all strong swimmers, but I have no doubt that if they ran into trouble, the guards would be on top of it before I am. I would say that, unless you have other activities in mind outside of the resort, only about 2-3 nights are necessary before you've done everything (twice or three times) and start getting bored. If you're staying in the summer, that's fine because there are tons of other activities in the Dells. If you're staying in the winter as a get-away, don't plan on staying more than 3 nights or you might get bored.

The restaurants are so-so. The Loose Moose bar & grill was tasty but a bit pricey. Our waitress was very friendly but a bit inattentive (we had to ask several times for things like extra plates, and to get our salad that was supposed to come with the meal.) But overall, a good experience. The Camp Critter buffet was OK, I loved their bacon and they make fresh omelets that were very tasty. They also make fresh waffles. I'd recommend the omelet as the scrambled eggs at the buffet were a bit rubbery. The Bear Paw was a great before bedtime sweet stop. We didn't try the Pizza Hut in the resort. Interestingly, the Loose Moose makes better pizza than Pizza Hut (we ordered pizza from them) but you have to pick it up from the restaurant, they don't deliver.

My only other gripe is that the ice machine on our floor was out of ice throughout our stay, and I had to go to other floors to get ice.

Note: I gave them great ratings for value, although I found the best room price at an online travel agency.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humphrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 km away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
6.2 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
5.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing