We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Heaven for kids, whatever for parents” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven for kids, whatever for parents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My two girls, ages 4 and 9 had a wonderful time although the noise and crowds overwhelmed the little one. This was our first trip to the Dells and was during Spring Break. The hotel was at capacity. I think the crowds were generally better behaved than I have seen at smaller waterparks; considering the throngs of people there wasn't a riff-raff factor. While the water attractions were great, the layout of the place is simply stupid. Going from building to building involves finding corridors literally hidden behind the backs of shops and lobbies. The corridors are very narrow and you have to walk single file so oncoming people can pass. And I can't get over how the entrances to these million dollar waterparks were nothing but a set of unattended, unmarked double doors off the hotel hallways. Like you're going into a laundry room. One of the parks requires you go down a slippery staircase single file - I got ketchup on some guy's butt because I was carrying fries up while holding little one's hand and he got a little too close on the way down. There are traffic jams all over the waterparks too... just no room for more than two people to walk. The lobbies were dark and tiny. Our first impression upon entering this gigantic facility was "this is IT?" I have seen more inspiring lobby spaces at the Sleep Inn.
Of course the kids don't notice that kind of stuff.
The walking was as bad as everyone says but we did find the shuttle service to be convenient.
Also we never had a table or chair for our entire stay at any of the attractions. When will waterparks find a way for everyone to have a place to sit when they need and not feel compelled to reserve tables with towels so that nobody else can use them even though the tables are empty for hours?
I recommend the pottery painting, it was fun and the pottery came out very nice.
Our room was clean and the staff was fine. We mostly ate our own food. Finally, the water destroyed my girls' swimsuits. Totally bleached them out. They had cheaper Target suits. My Lands End suits seemed to survive. But do not try to wear anything really nice in those pools.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagomomof2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    787
    362
    209
    212
See reviews for
2,000
134
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

Came here with our 4 kids for Spring break. We stayed in the largest suite which was 2 queen beds and a fold out couch. Room needs updating and felt like a large dorm room. Way overpriced. Hotel amenities are good but unfortunately we had to return to our room every evening. Will definitely look at other options next time we come to the Dells.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChgoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just as the title says, we love The Wilderness but disappointed after a recent experience. I will add that we make a winter and summer trip to The Wilderness Resort in the Dells so we are regulars that support them year after year.

The issue: While my wife was relaxing in the hot tub, a sign fell from above and struck her face causing injury. The lifeguards were quick to assist and cleaned the wound. After making notificiation to the Resort Manager Patrick Steiner, she was given the cold shoulder and advised her "The Wilderness doesn't do anything". My wife suffered soreness where the sign hit her face but thankfully will not require stiches.

This incident has opened our eyes to what is important to The Wilderness; certainly not the safety and satisfaction of their guests. Hopefully you will not have to deal with Patrick, because customer service and compassion is something he doesn't provide.

Patrick-->>Compassion: the humane quality of understanding the suffering of others and wanting to do something about it.....<--keep practicing-you'll get the hang of it!

We'll probably return to The Wilderness but now this may give us incentive to look around for our upcoming summer trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sclabrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at the condos which were very nice and spacious. Shuttles went to the hotel and waterparks. Condo was clean, beds were OK. One of the burners on the stove didn't work and the DVD players were pretty chinzy. There was 4 bedrooms and 11 people and plenty of room. They only give 2 parking passes so if you have more than 2 cars, you need to acquire an extra pass or park in a parking lot that is a bit of a walk. All in all I'd stay in the condo again.

Room Tip: The further from the main lobby, the longer the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glovesave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Booked a vacation here. The first thing that irked me is that the room rate that shows up is $99 per night for what we wanted. "Wow!" I thought. A bargain! But then you read the fine print and that is really the "average rate" per evening. The Thursday night reservation was $99. The Friday night reservation is $130. The Saturday night reservation jumps to $180! Is there any difference at all in the rooms between Wednesday and Saturday? I could certainly accept a slight bump, but 90%? I am no math genius, but it seems that $99 would not be the "average" of those rates... that would be the M-TH rate. The web site seems designed to trick people. We decided to do it anyway because our son was so excited after seeing the pictures of the water park online. Then we had a family situation arise. I had to cancel the reservation. I mentioned on the phone we had some difficult family circumstances and needed to cancel our trip. Yay! $20 handling fee! Yes, we knew about this fee in advance but no one books a vacation imagining something will come up. It took a one-minute phone call to cancel this reservation and it cost me $20. Because of this fee, I am not exactly inclined to reschedule. Families taking vacations are stretching their budgets as it is, but this policy shows a complete lack of regard for families in tight times. I am just waiting for their PR person to jump on here telling me to read the fine print and give me some PR spin (used to be in TV news so please don't give me the PR treatment). $20 is food on our table. Save the explanations. Tired of PR trolls responding to well deserved negative reviews. BTW... We are canceling a full month before our trip. They do not deserve our $20. Shame on you for having this policy that amounts to theft!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank R0adTrip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a great 2night stay. Room was perfect for our party of 11. We stayed in glacier canyon and be prepared to walk pretty far to get to waterparks. I liked the exercise so didn't mind the trek, but for someone not prepared to walk...Ughhh! Possibly would go back during summer to do again, seems like people would be more spread out inside & outside, and not on top of one another.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood McHenry County, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our family stayed here again this year and enjoyed the indoor waterparks this spring and activities all available on site. There was no need to leave it was all here! Great fun, many dining options and lots to keeps the kids happy! We will be back!

Room Tip: You can choose pool view, pool ground, view when selecting room online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wgalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.4 km away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#13 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.5 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#55 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#21 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#8 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing