We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunder Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thunder Valley Inn
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2007

This was my boyfriend's and my second annual trip to the Thunder Valley Inn, and it was absolutely wonderful the second time around--we already can't wait to get back there and we just left this afternoon!

The food is the best--the Nelsons describe it as "simply country food" but it is truly better than I've had in 5 star restaurants and hotels. Be sure to have breakfast AND dinner during your stay! It is fresh, and made with love, and is just delicious! We've now been for one special show (with a Russian classical string trio) and one regular threshing dinner show, and both were delightful. The Nelsons are some of the sweetest people we've ever met and it's just a joy to visit their B&B. We definitely hope to be back soon!

  • Liked — The food and very friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tubesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    2
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2006

Honestly the best food ever!! Especially breakfast. Charming place you'll never forget, and always go back to!!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank RE222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2004

My friend and I visited Thunder Valley Inn in September of 2004. The location is nice in that it is within a short drive of Wisconsin Dells, yet in the country. We were first given a tour of the grounds, letting us know that we are welcome to come into the Main House and help ourselves to coffee and cookies.

The “Wee Hus” was very nice with it’s own bath and shower, TV with VCR, and really plenty of room for two people, even though the website emphasizes it is small. You can borrow from a large selection of videotapes if you like.

The food, made from scratch as the website says, was truly average at best. It was okay, but it was not so great that you would walk away remembering it. To have something to measure it by, I think Denny’s serves a better breakfast. The emphasis seemed to be on a lot of sweet, sugary stuff, so maybe it was just my personal taste. I don’t even recall what we had for dinner, so that tells you something.

There is an area to walk behind the restaurant. There are some old rusting farm implements that, I think, give some character and age to your surroundings. But the old mattress box spring has to go. Not like things were terrible, but there was trash that should be picked up.

Thunder Valley Inn has a variety of books denouncing George Bush and conservatives in general. A flyer on the gift shop door announced a Democratic rally. One of their autos had a bumper sticker announcing “EVERY Child Left Behind: Vote Democratic”. I was tempted to point out that John Kerry voted for the “No Child Left Behind” Act, but I doubt if the owners would want to be bothered with the facts.

A chalkboard outside made mention of how Bush stole the election. Another scribbling said, “Go back to Chicago”. Okay, and I’ll take my checkbook with me. To be fair, I think it was written by a guest, not the owners, but the owners created the tone for this type of hostility in what one would think would be a friendly, relaxing atmosphere.

As you correctly conclude, I’m a conservative, yet I think I would feel just as annoyed if the reverse were true because we came to the Dells to temporarily escape current issues, not be confronted with them. I’m surprised a business would unnecessarily risk annoying and alienating customers.

I was tempted to not leave a tip, instead leaving a note saying that I would have to use that money toward the additional taxes they feel I should pay. If I knew for certain the owners would be the one cleaning the room I would have done that.

Sincerely,

Tim Hughes

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Researcher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thundervalleyinn, Co-owner/Co-manager at Thunder Valley Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2007
Thunder Valley Inn is so proud of the warm relationships we've developed with our guests and our local Dells neighbors. In fact, over and over again our guests rave about the incredible farm family hospitality they encounter at our inn. To read this hostile review is shocking to our entire business family--and we are so sorry that this guest felt unwelcome, certainly NEVER the intention of a B&B with our history of lovely customer connections! A response to his particular concerns:

1. The flyer this guest saw on the door was not for a Democratic rally. It was a local event called Fighting Bob Fest (in honor of progressive turn-of-the-century Wisconsin Senator Robert LaFollette, whose wife, Belle LaFollette, was from the Sauk County area). The event poster was brought to us by a neighbor and provided a wonderful opportunity for locals and tourists alike to hear from candidates for local, state, and national office, Robert Kennedy, Jr., authors, and many more notable national guests. Music and food added to the fun. Putting up a poster about this local event is not unlike the posters we would put up for Automotion in the Dells or the Wo-Zha-Wa Festival, or the Polka Fest, etc. It is just another option for our guests.

2. Thunder Valley Inn provides a variety of magazines, books, newspapers, videos/dvds, etc. for our guests. Our guests love that they have these options! Furthermore, our guests and employees do, sometimes, put bumper stickers on their cars. That is something over which we have no control. Regardless of the bumper sticker, our guests are going to receive a warm, gracious welcome at our inn.

3. We do have a very old chalkboard (saved from a one-room schoolhouse) that has been attached to an out-building. There, we encourage the children who visit the inn to draw pictures and write messages. Sometimes guests in either the B&B or restaurant write silly things on the chalkboards. . . we simply try to clean the board as often as possible. Remember, 2004 was a contentious political season and we can't be responsible for the great range of opinions and beliefs our guests may have.

4. We are glad that the guest decided to tip our wonderful housekeeper. She is a gem and we so appreciate the beautiful job she does for us.

5. And, finally, Thunder Valley Inn serves a full farm breakfast to our B&B guests. On Saturdays guests can enjoy breakfast from 7:30-11:30 AM and order from a huge breakfast menu--options from Fruit Platters to Family Style Breakfasts, Norwegian Pancakes, organic/steel-cut oatmeal and much more. On Sundays, guests can partake of the Smorgasbord Breakfast from 7:30 AM-1:30 PM. This has just about anything they'd want! Wonderful, wonderful. During the week, guests are served a full farm breakfast of wholegrain pancakes, scrambled eggs, fresh homemade cinnamon rolls, homemade/wholegrain bread with our own strawberry-rhubarb jam, baked apples, etc. Yummy!

As Nancy and Mark M. from Milwaukee wrote to us last season, "Another enchanting and delicious evening at Thunder Valley! We always love it . . . Thanks from us 'city folk' for sharing the beauty of your farm and life."

Sincerely,
Kari Nelson
Thunder Valley Inn
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2004

We thoroughly enjoyed the 3 nights we spent here. The layout (separate buildings for meals and lodging) offered the social interaction of a B&B with the privacy of a motel. The staff was hospitable and informative. The breakfast was the best we've had at a B&B--we ordered the family style every time. We're glad, though, that we'd go down to eat around 8:00 a.m., because by 9:00 or so the restaurant (which is also open to the public) would be pretty crowded.

The Scandinavian theme provided interesting fodder for conversations between ourselves and with other guests and our hosts. We chose the inn for the farm animals on site and enjoyed the pony, goats, peacock & peahen, turkeys, rabbit, etc.

We loved the fact that the building we stayed in had a kitchen downstairs. This provided a lot of flexibility for our dinner/dessert choices. We really appreciated the trees surrounding the inn and the feeling of being in a park, especially since we were visiting the Dells which has an artificial, tourist-y feeling downtown. Yet, the drive to downtown took less than 5 minutes and parking was easy to find.

We would definitely recommend this spot to people we know, and we would go back just to be at the inn.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
3.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.6 km away
Meadowbrook Resort
Meadowbrook Resort
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.7 km away
Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast
Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 15 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.6 km away
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
#1 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Inn

Property: Thunder Valley Inn
Address: W15344 Waubeek Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9005
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing