We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cowboy Cabin ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Fork Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful view of creek from back deck! The Cowboy Cabin has 3 bedrooms, 2 with full/double sized beds, and 1 with twin bunkbeds. It had a sink, stool, and shower in the bath. A small fridge & microwave.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank kindteacher_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for South Fork Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

We spent three grand days at South Fork Lodge and will always cherish our memories of celebrating our 10th anniversary there. We stayed in the Elk Cabin, enjoying "Happy Hour" in the rocking chairs on our little front porch and had wonderful dinners and breakfasts in the Lodge. Sweet Calista took us on a couple of most enjoyable horseback rides and we finally saw a moose! Bless Holli & Wayne and their crew for doing such a wonderful job and making everyone feel so very welcome.
We have posted our picture on horseback with the Big Horn mountain peaks covered with snow in the background.

Room Tip: We reserved early to be sure and get a cabin with a bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank _drbarb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We had booked on line the Bear Cabin,we hadn't realized how far it was to get to from YellowStone Park but we did enjoy the beautiful ride thought the BigHorn Mountains. When we arrived it was around 7:00P.m. The manager was so nice,she told us the room we had booked was closed for the season already & asked it we new that it was one without a B.R. We didn,t! But she upgraded us to the Antalope Cabin for same price,we sat and talk & had a few beers at the bar,when we got to are cabin,we loved it.Huge bed,bunkbeds,B.R,small frig.coffeepot.We have a nice night.Had breakfast at the lodge and met Holli the owner & some other nice people.We would like to return some day.All nature,no phone or wifi.Peacefull!!

Room Tip: Make sure you find out it your cabin as aB.R.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Take a chance and delve off the interstate to visit the seasonal South Fork Lodge. It is easy to find on an all-season road. The restaurant serves wholesome meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is also a bar area next to the well-stocked gift shop area. Although there are several other lodges associated with the South Fork Lodge, this is the first you'll encounter as you head from Buffalo, Wyoming to the west.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We just had a wonderful stay at South Fork Mountain Lodge. My wife and I have visited the Big Horns many times over the past 20 years but we’ve never had an opportunity to stay there before. This year’s visit was interrupted by a forest fire near Meadowlark Lake. We had reserved a room at Deer Haven but had to evacuate. The good folks at South Fork found a room for us and let us stay for several days while the fire was being put out. Not only was the hospitality and service wonderful but the owner, Holli, spent time with our friends and family one evening. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the accommodations were comfortable and clean. We will certainly visit there on our next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the creek.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank basura2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Southfork was definitely not what my husband and I expected. We had the Elk cabin for 2 nights and were charged $165 per night ($188 with taxes). It was much more "rustic" than I expected for that much money. I expected a mini-fridge, but if you want to keep food items, plan to bring coolers and ice. I'm not a fan of messing with either one of those on an extended trip. We didn't try the restaurant because it is open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. and we were headed out for the day before 8 a.m. We were told that no staff were on duty other than those hours. Two coffee packets for the coffee maker were supplied, but our request for another one went unanswered. Two bath towels and two washcloths were provided, but plan to bring your own hand towels as none are supplied. The windows didn't all have screens. The screens had holes in 2 of the windows that did have screens. The setting is beautiful though. I don't know what activities are offered for children. The horseback rides were $50 (or $60??) for 2 hours and ATVs rented for $289 a day.
This may be a wonderful place for people who enjoy camping but don't want to haul a tent around, but I don't think it is a good fit for anyone who doesn't enjoy camping. I think it is very expensive for what you get. You could buy a really nice tent for the cost of a couple nights at Southfork.

Room Tip: There is no cell service at all.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

While traveling back from Yellowstone, we wanted to stay in the Bighorn Mountains. Came across this lodge and thought we would give it a shot. No, it didn't have big screen TVs, high speed internet, spa, etc...that is exactly WHY we choose to stay here. Getting away from things and simply enjoying the world is what our trip was about. We grilled out some nice steaks on the grill and even shared some smores and great conversations with the owners around the fire. LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have in-cabin bath. Be sure to select the proper room upon booking.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
450.7 km away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
310 reviews
12.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
12.4 km away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
173 reviews
11.7 km away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#12 of 17 in Buffalo
196 reviews
13.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Fork Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Fork Mountain Lodge

Address: U.S. Highway 16 West, P.O. Box 389, Buffalo, WY 82834
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Buffalo
Price Range: $183 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Fork Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain recreation in the beautiful Bighorn National Forest and Bighorn Mountains in northern Wyoming. Cabins, guide and outfitter Services, hunting, guided fishing trips, horseback riding, pack trips and drop camps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your South Fork Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing