We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
13
25
8
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
25
8
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast burritocinnamon bunsbiscuits and gravyyogurtroad tripvisiting guernseyrutswest
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 53 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

Stated for a night passing thru on buisness. Great people and nice facility. We'll kept and rustic. Enjoyed far better then the canned chain hotels. Lots of personality and fair price. Would suggest to anyone in the area. Oh yeah and breakfast was great as well.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank 4b1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017

I started staying at the Bunkhouse July 4th, 2011. That became a three week business stint. After the first stay, I tried Torrington, thirty miles to the East, Wheatland, thirty miles Southwest, to no avail. Guernsey is the ONLY place of choice to stay.
It started with two choices for lodging and has now become three choices.
The Bunkhouse Motel is still my only choice.
Granted, it is older by design and build, but the rooms are kept perfect. Clean, tidy, and unique in décor to match the name. Western!
The continental breakfast is far from the normal fare of the major chains. If you want anything special, the unbelievably friendly staff (usually one person), will bend over backwards to help you.
If you like one on one care and service, this is the place for you. It is definitely my only choice for business or pleasure.
The laid back atmosphere is such to inspire odd meetings in the courtyard, lobby, and meeting room/breakfast room with guests and staff. This place is full of friendship!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wyocobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

Small, simple motel but clean and everyone was so accommodating. The office area was like a step back in time. The breakfast was to die for and the "cook"...sorry we did not get his name...was a treasure trove of information.
Perfect location for exploring the lake, the castle, the ruts, and Register Cliffs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chodges7242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2017

We are travelling coast to coast across America and taking 40 nights to do it - that's a lot of different accommodation. We so enjoyed staying here. The welcome was friendly and warm - they couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were above average and it was a joy to have use of a gas BBQ, fully equipped with lighter and tongs and a market store within walking distance. The hosts were happy to chat and advise on local things to do and even drew out a map with points of interest for our onward journey. Within a few miles we visited some Oregon Trail ruts and the Register Cave, enjoying watching the swallows and the sunset. The breakfast was like no other we've experienced - freshly made breakfast burritos, light yoghurts, fresh cinnamon buns served in the skillet, biscuits and gravy, eggs and lots more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kym C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

Other than the flat screen LCD TV and the lack of a Magic Fingers bed, this motel reminded me of my first Route 66 road trip with my parents in 1951. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, the cinnamon rolls would put Cinnabon out of business, the staff is terrific -- so it is worth experiencing the vacation-by-car world of mid 20th century America before it disappears. And I fear it will disappear, because there is a new motel in Guernsey. Local rumor has it that its politician part owner has stated that his intent is to drive the Bunkhouse (and another time warp Guernsey motel) out of business. Based on where the other visitors to the area that we met were staying, it does seem likely The Bunkhouse will have difficulty securing future guests. If you're visiting Ft. Laramie, the Register Cliffs, and the Ruts to experience mid 1800's life on the road, why not spend a night at The Bunkhouse to experience mid 1900's road travel? WARNING: The cinnamon rolls may be more addictive than Oxycontin!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Outis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews