We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amangani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amangani
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

First off, this part of the country is easily one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. The Amangani is a fantastic place from which to appreciate the stunning surroundings. We loved our time here and would definitely go back.

The hotel is impeccably designed, with sumptuous facilities and rooms that are warm and inviting but also encapsulate great, clean design. The restaurant is good with a delicious breakfast (unlike most places, you can happily eat there for days on end without tiring of the choices) and a sufficient dinner (nothing to write home about). The ski facilities are wonderful, and you'll be so glad that you have your own little private lounge at the base of the mountain - it's a dream. On that note, the drivers are ski lounge staff wonderful. Really stellar. Especially Noah, he made our trip a thousand times more enjoyable by being friendly, helpful, and just an all around good guy.

Now for a little constructive criticism: (remember, we loved our stay and would return in a heartbeat, but there are a few things they could address that would make this an unsurpassed hotel and experience):

1. The rooms (and the hotel itself) is very drafty. They've done a terrible job of choosing windows and doors, which is a big surprise given how well thought out the rest of the hotel is. It must be highly energy inefficient and is a bit of a disappointment from such a high-end property.

2. Some of the welcome/recepetion staff and guest managers are overly friendly. They seem to pop out of nowhere with these immense smiles on their faces and ask unrealistically cheery questions. They're well intentioned but it's a bit much. If they were more down to earth and tempered like the fantastic drivers, it would be an all around better experience.

3. We had room service one night since we were sick and we ordered 2 small bowls of rice and a very simple chicken and veggies plate from the kids menu. Bill: $65. Turns out the chicken was $45. Sure, that's our fault for not looking closely enough first, but $45 dollar chicken and veggies from the kids menu? It's a little extortionate.

One more thing: do keep in mind that if you don't have a car, you will be reliant on the hotel transport for any excursion anywhere (except for the complementary shuttle to the mountain). So for dinners in town or anything like that, it quickly adds up ($70 per trip, round-trip).

So all in all it's a GREAT hotel with wonderful amenities and beautiful rooms, which make for an excellent experience. You should definitely go and visit, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    40
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
69
136
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chugwater, Wyoming
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had the first nights of our honeymoon at the Amangani. We were paying $700+ a night, so it shouldn't be a surprise that they were wonderful to us, but they were wonderful to us. They even bumped us to a nicer room because it was the quiet season. I don't know if I'll ever stay at a place like that again, but both my husband and I agree it was totally worth it. They included breakfasts for us, too :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearskinrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Simply amazing! Everything about this place is better than any Four Seasons, St. Regis, the Ritz, or the Waldorf Astoria. Not only is the resort itself beautiful, but it is perched atop a butte with amazing views. With only 40 rooms and a genuinely friendly and helpful staff, you feel as if you are part of the family. I have never felt more welcome in a resort in my life. 6 stars to the Amangani...we love you guys!!

Room Tip: Suites are huge, but every room has an amazing view. My favorite is the Sena suite on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We arrived on 23 November for a long Thanksgiving weekend and to celebrate our anniversary.

The Amangani staff is terrific and our corner suite was beautifully (and simply) appointed. We had a wonderful 4 night stay filled with Moose and Elk sightings, a science/nature tour, and skiing on opening day at Jackson Hole Resort.

The views from the hotel are spectacular and the hotel was perfectly empty and quiet during this off peak time of year. The majority of rooms do not face the Grand Teton Mountains but the far end of the hotel has a corner room that has that view. Regardless, the views are still amazing.

The outdoor/heated pool is a treat and the hot tub perfect amidst the frigid temperatures and after a long day of skiing.

The staff is simply outstanding. Every morning at breakfast the restaurant staff remembered our choices and catered to our dietary preferences. The food was excellent.

We wish we could mention all the staff that served us so well but one stands out above the rest - Chandler. His can-do, positive attitude helped make our weekend even more special.

One of the best perks at Amangani is the private ski lounge at the base of Jackson Hole where you can store equipment, eat, drink and warm up.

The town of Jackson is 15 minutes away and filled with unique shops and Jackson has the 5th largest collection of art galleries in the US.

We ate dinner one evening at Wild Sage at the Rusty Parrot Hotel and it was truly a culinary experience. The dining room is intimate and romantic and had the perfect ambiance. This is a must-visit restaurant.

We paid $695 a night and was surprised at check-out to find a 10% accommodation service charge ($69.50) added to each of the 4 nights. This was the only disappointment of the trip. Our travel agent didn't even know of the fee and neither did we. The website is also not clear and lacks key details necessary for trip planning (i.e. no spa information or menu).

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend Amangani and Jackson Hole, WY. It is truly a special place with amazing scenery, wildlife and service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed for two nights as part of Yellowstone and Grand Teton trip. Simply love the place, and 100% Aman service. Suites are cozy with nice sitting space, a gas fireplace, huge closet and windows for shower/tub and toilet. We asked for tips for national parks and they gave us a lot of information and best place to look out and drive through (even put a can of bear spray with us just in case).

I ordered a bison ribs for dinner and the portion was too big, I asked if they can keep my leftover and make a sandwich for me to bring into the park the day after; the waiter asked me what kind of bread to go with and if I need anything more? The morning after on our way out from the hotel, I asked if I can pick up my sandwich and the answer was "it's already in your car!"

We stayed on night up in the park and when we came back to Amangani, they simply handed our key to us with a "welcome home!" It does feel like a home (a very luxury one)! Everyone was very excited to chat with us about our day in the national park, although they might do this every day. But they made me feel like I am one of their family members visiting and they were excited to know if we had a great time or not. When we came down for tea, they lit up the fireplace and we stayed there for tea and turned into a dinner in front of the fire place.

One the day of departure, we got the first snow of the season. Bell/door guys heated up our car and prepared drinking water for us in the car; and reminded us to drive carefully/slowly because of the weather!

This place is simply amazing! Go there to experience true hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samandjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
735 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

After staying in one of their resorts in Asia, I came in just to check their facilities. Nice quite hilltop location. The design elements are minimalist Asian avant garde with warm furry western touches. Natural lighting permeates throughout the hotel's many levels and is more evident inside its soaring atrium. I like the fact that the interior gives you a feeling that you are in someone's living room- extremely quite although there weren't many guests seen in the common places. The pool is smack in the middle of the hotel overlooking a narrow valley but still provides some views of the Tetons. The spa is well- appointed. We were received well by a very gracious and well- mannered staff. I would stay here for a well deserved relaxation, peace and privacy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I really exceptional place to stay if you have the funds to run to it. The location is spectacular, the decor very avant garde and up to the minute, and the facilities are first class. The swimming pool is warm and sheltered even on blustery days, and soaking in the pool while soaking up the view is highly recommended.

The quality of service was exceptional, although sometimes a bit cloying for our British tastes - special commendation to the valet parking guys who were top rate.

The one downside was the restaurant - I felt this was poor for the quality of the hotel. The chef really seemed to be trying to be too clever and his menu just didn't work for us. Also very expensive - after the first night we ate in town and found plenty of excellent choices there.

If you fancy a real blow out, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuthatch_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
10.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
2.6 km away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
10.2 km away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
2.2 km away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
2.8 km away
The Wort Hotel
The Wort Hotel
#11 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangani

Property: Amangani
Address: 1535 N East Butte Rd, Jackson, WY 83001-8727
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#10 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangani 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangani (peaceful home) clings to the crest of East Gros Ventre Butte, some 2,135 metres above sea level, and affords magnificent views of the Grand Tetons and Snake River Valley. The resort evokes the atmosphere of the American West, from its redwood panelling to its blazing logfires. Amangani is an all-season resort. The winter highlight is skiing, while in spring, summer and fall the surrounding wilderness areas of Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks are amongst the many attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amangani Hotel Jackson
Amangani Resort Jackson
Amangani Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing