We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the green”
Review of Amangani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amangani
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the green”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I were in desperate need of a getaway. We have little time to get away as we have very young children. When we do go, we tend to stay for 4-5 days at a place where we feel completely taken care of. I did a lot of research to find a place stateside that would satisfy that need. I found it in the Amangani. We arrived in the midst of a snow storm and were diverted to Idaho Falls. This had happened to my brother and his wife a couple weeks before so I assume it's not beyond the realm of norm. Thanks to a wonderful local contractor, we were able to make our way to the hotel that night in from the Idaho Falls airport. I must tell you, if you go in the winter. DO NOT DO THIS!!!! It was a harrowing and dangerous 3 hour drive in complete white-out conditions. Just stay the night in Idaho Falls and go to Jackson the following day. We would have been stranded if it weren't for our new-found local friend whom we gave a ride.
When we arrived at the hotel, the entire staff was waiting for us with a hot supper in front of the fire. As our luggage hadn't made it and we had a dog-sledding reservation the following morning, a couple of the staff generously loaned us clothes so that we could go. Admittedly, the borrowed clothes were hipper than anything we brought.
All of the restaurant recommendations made by the hotel were right on. Our favorite was the Rendezvous Bistro in town. For a really special dinner, we also ADORED the Snake River Grill--particularly the onion rings.
I agree with all the other folks about the driving. I hate to have one single misgiving about the hotel but I do think that we would have unknowingly racked up a steep bill if we'd taken the hotel transport every time we went somewhere. Use Cowboy Cab for sure. (307) 413-1000. We loved them. That said, the cars from the hotel are cushy and nice if money isn't an issue.
Also, must say the massages were uneven. Mine was actually not good at all, verging on the worst I've ever had. Hate to say it. My husband, however, had a great one. My brother and his wife had the same experience: one great, one awful. Do your due diligence to get the right practitioner.
Breakfast at the hotel is delicious. Dinner is good but go out more than stay in, I think. Rooms are low key but well appointed. Spring for the corner room with the wrap around windows.
This place is wonderful. The staff is beyond excellent. We hope to go back. Worth every dollar--and there were a lot--spent.
We really liked the dog-sledding but it is FREEZING cold, particularly on the feet. Do everything you can to go with the most high-end outfit and book way in advance. Half-day is plenty. Also, the cross-country skiing though the park is terrific.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on an upper floor. You want a corner. They are much more sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henrietta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    40
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
69
138
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I write this review after returning from a 2 night stay here this past week. I tagged along on my husband's business trip where he was put up at the hotel by another company. So I have a bit of a different experience because the entire hotel was rented by this company. However, I did experience the hotel and if you want relaxation.. this is it! I came in on a late flight and the hotel picked me up at the airport. While originally told the cost was $50 for the transfer it was actually $75 when we got our bill. However when you are up for almost 24 hours you don't care and want nothing more to find a bed. The driver was young and nice and got me to the hotel safely where another staff member greeted the car and took my bags from there to show me to the room.

The rooms are VERY relaxing. I am not sure how you cannot relax here- with the lighting, the decor- it was a minimalist/spa/asian inspired and they even had a spa type music in the CD player playing when we go to the room. The heated floors throughout and in the bathroom were a nice touch- especially with a winter stay. The hotel provided slippers and a robe which was nice, especially to walk down to the spa and pool area. There is a mini fridge/bar that housed a few drink items and snacks. While not super expensive, keep in mind they add on a service charge on top of the price. My husband ate in the restaurant and said it was very good. We also had breakfast room service the morning we left which was also delicious.

The staff was very discrete but also felt like they led you to believe that things were included but you were actually charged for. For example there is an iron in the room, and my husband needed to press his shirt, and the staff said they would be very glad to take care of it.. several times... which led my husband to believe it was included. However when we received our bill, we were charged $15 for someone to iron his shirt when we could have easily done it. Cab rides to and from town are pretty expensive- I believe $40 each way. We called Flying J taxi and they charged $20 each way and were very fast. If you are there more than a few nights, I suggest renting a car. The hotel is up a butte away from town and away from the ski area. So just be aware that while things may appear to be included, they are in fact not and they will show up on your bill. The staff divides all tips which is something to keep in mind.

Overall it was a very relaxing stay for such a short trip. I can imagine the views from the hotel are amazing on a clear day. If you are looking for quiet, relaxation and service, this is the place for you-- as long as you can afford it. I would say I would return, however I cannot afford the price, but was grateful for the opportunity to experience the Amangani.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as there are only 40.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlbugmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This place is away from the crowds with stunning view and offers total tranqulity. My daughter was impressed with the welcome ballons/confectionery. The bathrobe and slippers were exactly her size!!! We especially enjoy the library. Staff members are friendly and attentive. They all knew us by our first names after less than one day. I left behind my cell phone charger during my visit. After just one phone call, they told me they found it. And to my surprise, they send it back to me in a package FREE of charge the next day. Yes, this is a pricy hotel but with the spacious room, breath-taking view, and friendly staff, it's well worth the price. Think about it this way, you could easily paying a much higher rate in a tiny hotel room with no view no service in New York or Tokyo.

Room Tip: every room offers great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Pricey for sure but a great spot.

It's been reviewed in depth here and in general I agree, so I won't go on for too long.

One reviewer did comment that it was expensive to get a car down to town. Call Tim at flyingtaxi.com... The cheapest fare of a bunch of companies I called ($20 each way).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slong89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
824 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife and I went for a weekend break. As expected everything was perfect. Amans' take great care to expect and satisfy a guest's needs. Service is main concern for all employees. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The food is gourmet but there is also comfort foods like cheeseburgers and chili. The view (when not covered by clouds) is amazing. Of course, ski shuttles are available for those interested. Or you can sit in the outdoor Jacuzzi and relax.

Room Tip: Suite 8 has one of the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

From the moment we arrived and the managers and staff came out to greet us until the moment we left, the service was outstanding. This is truly a beautiful place that feels intimate yet gives you a wonderful feeling of privacy. The rates are extremely high, but they do treat you well. (I was a bit surprised that the cost of internet access wasn't included!) The food was spectacular and the view was gorgeous. I loved the very large dressing/closet area adjacent to the bath area. It was so nice to open the doors to our terrace and let the breeze flow into the room in the morning. Really a special place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

First off, this part of the country is easily one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. The Amangani is a fantastic place from which to appreciate the stunning surroundings. We loved our time here and would definitely go back.

The hotel is impeccably designed, with sumptuous facilities and rooms that are warm and inviting but also encapsulate great, clean design. The restaurant is good with a delicious breakfast (unlike most places, you can happily eat there for days on end without tiring of the choices) and a sufficient dinner (nothing to write home about). The ski facilities are wonderful, and you'll be so glad that you have your own little private lounge at the base of the mountain - it's a dream. On that note, the drivers are ski lounge staff wonderful. Really stellar. Especially Noah, he made our trip a thousand times more enjoyable by being friendly, helpful, and just an all around good guy.

Now for a little constructive criticism: (remember, we loved our stay and would return in a heartbeat, but there are a few things they could address that would make this an unsurpassed hotel and experience):

1. The rooms (and the hotel itself) is very drafty. They've done a terrible job of choosing windows and doors, which is a big surprise given how well thought out the rest of the hotel is. It must be highly energy inefficient and is a bit of a disappointment from such a high-end property.

2. Some of the welcome/recepetion staff and guest managers are overly friendly. They seem to pop out of nowhere with these immense smiles on their faces and ask unrealistically cheery questions. They're well intentioned but it's a bit much. If they were more down to earth and tempered like the fantastic drivers, it would be an all around better experience.

3. We had room service one night since we were sick and we ordered 2 small bowls of rice and a very simple chicken and veggies plate from the kids menu. Bill: $65. Turns out the chicken was $45. Sure, that's our fault for not looking closely enough first, but $45 dollar chicken and veggies from the kids menu? It's a little extortionate.

One more thing: do keep in mind that if you don't have a car, you will be reliant on the hotel transport for any excursion anywhere (except for the complementary shuttle to the mountain). So for dinners in town or anything like that, it quickly adds up ($70 per trip, round-trip).

So all in all it's a GREAT hotel with wonderful amenities and beautiful rooms, which make for an excellent experience. You should definitely go and visit, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
10.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
10.2 km away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
2.6 km away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
2.8 km away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
474 reviews
2.8 km away
The Wort Hotel
The Wort Hotel
#11 of 40 in Jackson
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangani

Property: Amangani
Address: 1535 N East Butte Rd, Jackson, WY 83001-8727
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#5 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#10 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangani 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangani (peaceful home) clings to the crest of East Gros Ventre Butte, some 2,135 metres above sea level, and affords magnificent views of the Grand Tetons and Snake River Valley. The resort evokes the atmosphere of the American West, from its redwood panelling to its blazing logfires. Amangani is an all-season resort. The winter highlight is skiing, while in spring, summer and fall the surrounding wilderness areas of Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks are amongst the many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Amangani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangani Hotel Jackson
Amangani Resort Jackson
Amangani Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing