We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired property”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Rock Springs
FULLERTON, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very tired property”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Wow, i wish I had been able to check out Trip Advisor before booking this room, I never would have done it.
Poor parking, tiny bathroom, smoke filled towel (in a non-smoking room), flat pillows.Said it was pet friendly yet had no place for my dog to take care of business.

The employees were great, what a shame they don't have a property to be proud of.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEEHAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    29
    18
    18
See reviews for
26
30
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Spiders in room, bugs in bathtub, carpet filthy, human hair on bathroom floor, mold around tub and toilet, dust thick enough to write a three page letter on, white stains on bedspreads.Complained to corporate offices and was told the local manager/owner needed to take care of this. I didn't like paying to sleep in filth and asked that my money be refunded a total of about $24.00 was redeposited in my account. Please travel on a little further to find a motel cleaner than this. Have photos of the filth in case anyone is interested.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrylady1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rock Springs hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

First, BIG kudos' to the great, friendly staff. That was the best part, really.

FAR FAR FAR overpriced for a completely worn-out motel of yesteryear (as in 1950). Lots of trash and butts strewn everywhere. The room was basically clean, or as clean as I suppose you can get a room that's had 75,000 people sleep in it. I smoke, but I never smoke indoors - I felt like I was in a room that'd been used for a week long, 24hr poker game complete with cigars, pipes and chain-smoking cigarette smokers.

Did I say the staff was super? Under the circumstances, it sure helped.

I have a HUGE problem with motel franchises like this that miraculously get their annual inspection by Econo Lodge and are allowed to continue to rip-off the general public. It's tantamount to a B-Felony in my humble opinion - there's something criminal involved in allowing places like this to stay open for business. Where's the state Health Department? Shame on Econo Lodge - you higher-ups need to be forced to LIVE in your crappy motels for a year in EACH ONE you allow to operate in this fashion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspector-Cluseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Please don't stay here. There is nothing good to say...
-The parking is difficult and not well lit
-Our nonsmoking room was filled with cigarette smoke
-The mattress sank down
-The bathroom was TINY
-The floor was gross
-The wi-fi was slower than a turtle's pace
-The sheets and pillow cases felt unwashed
-The breakfast room was TINY
-The only thing worth mentioning is that they had bacon for breakfast...but it's unhealthy anyways...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Even when it was Memorial Day weekend, the price was not appropriate for that hotel. But anyway the prices in Rock Springs are high. The outside of the hotel was a little bit strange, it looked quite old. The room itself then looked nice. But I was disappointed by the lack of cleanness. The chairs looked so ugly, that I put a towel over it before sitting on. So I guess, when beeing again in Rock Springs I will not go there again. Wifi was free, but very limited.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defMunichCanyonRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Price and familiarity are the two reasons I stayed here. My vehicle had broken down so I didn’t have much choice as in which town to stay. I had someone check the internet and found that the Econo Lodge and nearby Days Inn were the cheapest places in town to stay, my corp pricing wasn’t even close in this town.

Room was nothing special for the price, but this is the going rate for this town. (It was also a little closer to the airport so my taxi would be less in the AM)

Restaurant is in the same building, Santa Fe Southwest Grille see that review.

Even though I had plenty of time, I still didn’t go for their breakfast. That is one thing that has not changed in the 3-4 years since I’ve been here. I remember last time the ‘crew’ filling their plates before heading out to the job. They have one thing you don’t see often, bacon. Plus eggs, and the other usual items for a motel.

Took pictures to keep the write-up shorter.

Front desk was pleasant both in the PM and in the AM.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Checked in here after 4 nights sleeping in a tent in the tetons and just needed a place with a bed and shower, so we weren't expecting a lot. Even with low expectations, was still disappointed. Front office clerk was friendly but had to go back to the office twice because key cards wouldn't work. The clerk changed us to a room by the stairs which was noisy and left us wondering what was going on in the room next door with constant traffic and crying children. In the room, trash cans were still full and food was still on the ground in between beds. Bathroom and shower were covered in small hairs and the shower head wasn't built for regular sized individuals. To top it off, right after getting in the room we received multiple phone calls saying we had a complimentary 'good time' for whoever was staying in this room. They kept saying for me to let them in and that they had been paid $200 for this service. I finally said no and quit calling this number and they stopped. Fork over the extra $20 and stay across the street or somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rock Springs hotels
4.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 16 in Rock Springs
192 reviews
4.1 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 16 in Rock Springs
218 reviews
4.0 km away
Motel 8
Motel 8
#12 of 16 in Rock Springs
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
My Place Hotel - Rock Springs, WY
4.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rock Springs
0.2 km away
Best Western Outlaw Inn
Best Western Outlaw Inn
#3 of 16 in Rock Springs
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1635 Elk St, Rock Springs, WY 82901-4020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Sweetwater County > Rock Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rock Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rock Springs
Rock Springs Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing