We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location-nice rustic accomodations”
other travellers have booked this property
Main house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main house
Crows Nest Crows Nest & Hale Huna cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Main house
Crows Nest
Crows Nest & Hale Huna cottage
Fern and Peacock rooms
Peacock & Fern patio
Fern & Peacock rooms
Hale Huna
Hale Huna deck
Jungle Queen boat room. $89/n.
Jungle Queen boat room
Koi ponds
Jungle kitchen for guests
Breakfast buffet
Our bananas
Our peacock Romeo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mark j
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location-nice rustic accomodations”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at Rainbow Plantation. Christian was really helpful in recommending things to do and beaches to see.
We especially enjoyed Kekaha kai state park, which we would probably have never gone to were it not for his recommendation. You have to travel down a terrible road (basically a lava field) to get to beach. But, when you arrive it is exactly what you picture Hawaii to be and the other bonus was that both times we visited there were maybe 10 other people on the beach--perfect!
We like to be away from hustle and bustle when we travel so the Rainbow Plantation was great for us. Remote, quiet (except for that silly peacock--which my kids love, but I was thinking of ways to cook), Crows Nest was clean and comfortable.
This is rustic so if you're a 5-star Hilton kinda person this will not be for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location was great for visiting the Kona side
Liked least: Mattress upstairs and quilt
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Great you liked our place, and that beach. Many places around here like that, less crowded and beautiful, and I'm happy to share them with our guests. The Peacock however, we cannot cook and share, he is part of this place... Thanks for staying here !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never ever!”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed there for two nights and the host says we must share the restroom with only one room and for two nights its normaly ok but than we must shared it with two rooms. Also the room and the bathroom was for us not really clean.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
This guest stayed in our economy room, that I only rent when all other rooms are full. They were told well in advance that the room has a shared bathroom. And it is clean. THEY ONLY PAID HALF PRICE. They did not say a thing or complain when here, in fact I offered them many tips and they stayed for long at breakfast which they said they loved ! And I had nice talks with them. Pretty cowardous to pretend all is great and then write a review based on a shared bathroom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craiginca...
canberra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ah the serenity!”
Reviewed February 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Loved the Rainbow B&B - after a few days at Wikiki it was the perfect antidote to the rush and bustle - being a haven of quite and calm amongst the rainforest. And super friendly host and the opportunity to mix with other guests and hear their stories. Made for a great stay. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler P
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely nice host and a true hawaiian experience”
Reviewed December 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the Hale Huna room during the off season as I transitioned to the Big Island. Christian, the owner, was a gracious host and even recommended multiple adventures that I could go on with him and other guests. The accommodations are clean and sheets are changed regularly. It is at a nice elevation, which is really beneficial when trying to sleep. Additionally it is really quite at night and tucked away. Not a far drive from Kailua and allows you to get to South Point, Green Sands Beach, Kealakekua Bay, 2 step, and Volcanoes quickly. Highly recommended and trustworthy/safe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I enjoyed that the BandB is tucked away and really gives you the Hawaiian experience
Liked least: Although it is nice to be tucked away, it was at times a long way from activities in Kailua or further north.
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanshi019
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rainbow B&B, great place!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just got back from our stay on the Big Island. We loved staying at this B&B. We don't like resorts or box chainlike hotels. Rainbow is just what we enjoy, fun, pleasant, and full of character! Christen is a wonderful and knowledgable host, the grounds are beautiful, and our room, Hale Huana, was great to come back to after a day of adventuring.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2014
Thanks ! Happy that you had a great time here, and we hope to see you back another time !
Christian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B :-)”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Nice rooms and bathrooms (stayed at two different rooms during the week) - perfect location and surroundings. Theres an open outdoor kitchen that can be used for cooking/eating. Very friendly owner&staff. We will stay here again when we visit Hawaii again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, comfy & clean, friendly owner!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Christian and his lovely daughter live in a beautiful part of the big island - forest all around, and sea views! So it's very quiet and peaceful. Their house is gorgeous and we stayed in the Fern Room which is on the ground floor (Christian lives upstairs). Our room was clean with hot water for a shower, and the bed was comfortable. There was also a good flatscreen TV, which was an added luxury. Wifi was also freely available. The only negative aspect of the room, we found, was that the blinds provide very little privacy - if the light is on then anyone can see you from outside (although it's so quiet, there probably won't be anyone anyway).

The breakfasts were plentiful and yummy - fresh boiled eggs, coffee, teas, cereal, toast, avocado and fresh fruits, and cheeses. You have a chance to mingle with other guests over breakfasts - by doing so, we heard about manta ray snorkelling nearby, and upon asking Christian about it he immediately offered to call around the local tour companies to make a booking for us! And indeed he booked us 2 spots for that evening and it was simply excellent. He also chatted to us very warmly and openly about all the things we could do and places we could go nearby, including places to eat, as well as giving us an idea of the lifestyle on the Big Island! We certainly enjoyed his company and felt welcome.

This place is also great for animal lovers - there are two cats, one of which is particularly friendly, as well as some fish, chickens, peacocks and - a new addition while we were there - goats! And don't forget the wild pigs that wander around the area!

Last but not least, there is a very quirky outdoor kitchen which the guests have access to - although we did not use it ourselves it seems to have all the equipment and utensils you could need, and while we were there we saw other guests preparing their dinner so it clearly is all in working order.

If we ever return to Hawaii, we would be more than happy to pay another visit to Christian and his lovely B&B.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2013
Thanks for your kind words ! Next time you come you will find all rooms renovated. We have been working for 3 weeks and they now have bamboo flooring, new furniture and new drapes ! All other areas will also get some upgrades and manicure, so when we open in May it will be like new. Without loosing our down to earth feeling and rustic ambience. Hope to see you here again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing