We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Pastry”
Review of Coffee and Epicurea - CLOSED

Coffee and Epicurea
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stopped by with some friends/guests from the Mainland. They are into ukuleles. They jammed with the local group that was serenading the patrons and all of us enjoyed some great coffee and sweets. If you are heading from Kailua-Kona towards South-point or the volcanoes this will be a great place to stop.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roaminharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We couldn't wait to come back here after visiting frequently last year when we spent some time nearby. The coffee is excellent. I like it iced or hot, but what I love about this spot's iced coffee is that the cubes are made out of frozen coffee, so the drink does not dilute as they melt. The puff pastries are excellent. They have other items, including quiche, but I've never gotten past the eclairs. My only complaints are that the eclairs are much smaller than they were, rather than being the hugest I had ever seen, and quite the eating challenge. Now, they are the same size you find in a typical bakery. Also, they do not have decaf. coffee, which is a shame since they own a coffee farm, and I wish I could buy some to take home and use regularly. They have a little patio for seating and a small yard out back. Very nice and laid back for sitting, enjoying, and spotting an occasional local bird or chicken.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DianeV670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Every time we stop by we try a new quiche or pastry with the best fresh coffee. Great nice service , cool back yard and gifts !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mermaid8158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We drove by on the way to Volcanoes National Park. They are open at 6:30am, a rare find on the island. The coffee and espresso drinks were good, and the pastry selection was great. All were fresh, made with local ingredients, and were still warm from the oven. We ate too many things, but they were all really good.

They have an outdoor seating area at the back which would be a great place to relax, we are sorry we had to grab and run. Next time, we stay and eat.

Date of visit: February 2013
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very tasty baked goods but the prices are high. Wonderful for a treat after a morning swim at two-step.

Date of visit: January 2013
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee and Epicurea also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing