We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sugar Shack is the sweetest!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sugar Shack 3 driveway/patio/front porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sugar Shack 3 driveway/patio/front porch
Shack 3 main room/kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Sugar Shack 3 driveway/patio/front porch
Shack 3 main room/kitchen
Shack 3 private lanai off main/kitchen
Manini Beach 7 mile drive nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Meeganhat...
1 review
“Sugar Shack is the sweetest!”
Reviewed May 7, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

The Sugar Shack is a treasure within Captain Cook, Hawai’i! My partner and I visited Big Island for the first time April 2019, we lucked out by staying here! Kelly and Kim offer the perfect balance of hospitality and privacy. If you are looking for a country style stay in the heart of Kona’s coffee plantations then this is the spot for you! White sand beaches are under an hour away, and every morning the lounge chairs on the porch are greeted with sunshine! We can’t wait to come back and stay at The Sugar Shack!

Mahalos
Meegan Hatten & Charles Gunzel

Date of stay: April 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Discover4...
1 review
“Real Hawaii experiance”
Reviewed May 6, 2019 for a stay in October 2018

If you are looking for a true Hawaii experience then this is your spot. Hosts Kelly and Kim were very warm and inviting during my stay offering any help I may need. You would be staying on a working farm producing real Kona coffee, Macadamia nuts, Avocados and a variety of many more fruits. I was able to pick fresh lemons and Papaya just outside the door a few steps away, or a gift of fresh avocados from my host Kelly. The location was very convenient to local spots like two step for snorkeling and Kealakekua bay and Captain cook monument another great place for snorkel and Dolphin viewing. Kona town about 20 minutes away. The coffee shack(sugar shack) was no shack and much to my surprise was very roomy and comfortable large bedroom, travertine bath and fully stocked kitchen a great space.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 May 2019
Thank you for your kind words!
We appreciate you,

Fondly,
Kelly and Kim Christensen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
2 reviews
“A taste of real life Hawaii.”
Reviewed May 3, 2019 for a stay in September 2018

Sugar Shacks Hawaii is an amazing place to stay! Kelly and Kim are so hospitable and they respect your privacy. My wife and I stayed with Kelly and Kim as a long term rental when we first moved to the Big Island. Their property is a live working farm so you can literally get a taste of the wonderful Big Island and all it bears. The Sugar Shacks are a comfortable home away from home that have high-end wood flooring, clean tiled bathrooms and showers, kitchens, personal laundry, and private outdoor living areas with fire pits for your enjoyment. There are also the everyday necessities if you want to make dinner, relax, or hit the beach. Within a short drive from Sugar Shacks Hawaii, you have access to beautiful bays, hiking and local markets. Kelly is always there to help and offer suggestions for the local area. My wife and I recommend staying at Sugar Shacks Hawaii and it is truly the experience of having a beautiful home and life if you have ever dreamed of living in Hawaii.

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 May 2019
Thank you Andrew(and Krista**)) More to come!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelvinA51
1 review
“Amazing time!”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I absolutely loved my stay at the Sugar Shacks. It really felt like a home away from home thanks to Kim and Kelly. The shacks are beautiful inside and out and have all the creature comforts one would need. I'd recommend for anyone to stay there!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
You are kind and most welcome! Find us again and discount your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpotAutho...
1 review
“Unrivaled Paradise Retreat”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I cannot say enough good things about this beautiful cottage retreat to do it justice ! It is so homey & comfortable, you'll never want to leave. The marble bathroom, granite kitchen, and exotic wood floors wrap you in luxury and the queen size bed is among the most comfortable I've slept on. When you come back from a day of adventures on this expansive & varied island, you can relax with reliable fast WiFi & a smart TV that streams your favorite commercial free channels or you can make a fire in the huge iron firepit on your private patio in the lush tropical garden. Wake up to complimentary fresh Kona coffee grown on the premises & make your breakfast while looking out of the kitchen window at the myriad colorful birds bathing in the Thai waterfountain in the garden below. There is a full sized washer & dryer on the back deck for your convenience and often ripe papayas on the tree at arm's reach next to them. The proprietors are easily reachable for tips on little known island sights and they demonstrate the true meaning of "Aloha". I almost never write a review like this but if you have the good fortune of staying here, you'll understand why I have.

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Blushing...You are entirely welcome. Please know we are your home in Hawaii, and we are so grateful for your stay! Please come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyW358
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
1,177 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,224 helpful votes
“Enjoy the serenity away from the tourist hustle bustle”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We all love Hawaii, but staying away from the masses is often an issue on these islands. But, we found the ideal place to spend 6 serene days at the Sugar Shack # 3 in Captain Cook, South Kona owned by Kelly & Kim.

The one bed-room unit is located in a coffee-farm surrounded by greenery. We were serenaded all day long by birds. Then in the evening, the vast starry sky with a sliver of the moon, the chirping crickets in the bush and the crackling sounds of the campfire made it very romantic. We also loved dining on the balcony by candle light.

Fresh fruits were abound; the papaya trees were covered with fruits, large avocados were waiting to be picked, lemons were coloring the tree yellow. We could hardly finish the fruits we picked and were offered.

We loved the little house, which was immaculate, tastefully decorated and equipped with all we wanted to enjoy a comfortable stay. Since we love to cook, we especially loved the well equipped kitchen. It also was convenient to have a washer & dryer and very reliable free Wi-Fi. Though not necessary, there was even a large flat screen TV in the living room. Equipment for water sports were also readily available on the porch.

Nothing was very far from the house; grocery store, cafes & restaurants, beach, a hiking trail in the state park. The city of Kona was less than 30 miles away and we could easily go out to lunch in the city during the day and come back for a quiet evening.

The shack is rather close to the road, but we only noticed that every once in a while when a car or a motorcycle was very loud. There also were some movements of vehicles and some sort of woodworking at the front of the property closer to the road. This too did not bother us, especially during these holidays, but it is hard to say what it would be like on a regular working day.

All in all, we had an excellent stay at the Sugar Shack # 3, and we highly recommend the place to travelers who seek peace and quiet.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serenity
Liked least: It was not easy to drive in and out of the driveway onto the road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 May 2019
Wanted to appreciate your post. Sorry it took this long for me to find you! You are remarkable, and this post deserves a hug from us and some good coffee during a future stay! :)! Mahalo to you! Please return for a discounted stay during any summer month! Have a great summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jnorton08...
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sugar Shack 2 for almost 3 weeks. We have been to the Big Island many times before and this was by far our favorite place to stay. Even though it is quite a drive from the airport (about 30-40 minutes), we love staying in South Kona. The Sugar Shack is really close to our favorite snorkeling spots on the island and close to some restaurants, the grocery store, and the Green Market. The house is on a farm, which we loved. We would walk around the property, look at the crops, talk to the farmers, and play with the animals (2 cats and a dog).
Even though we never got to meet Kelly (her family was on vacation), she was amazing! I rented a Honda Element from her, so we had to call each other while I was still in Vegas and she is just so easy-going and nice. We ended up talking for an hour like we were old friends! =) We plan on staying here again when we visit. I could not recommend it enough!

Date of stay: July 2013
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Excellent, we look forward to your future stay! Warmly, KK
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.