We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place ”
Review of Belle Vue Kona B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belle Vue Kona B&B
Ranked #4 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Loved belle vue - Viviane the host was amazing and made our stay even more special. The views are amazing and the apartment itself is very spacious and beautiful. I can highly recommend belle vue - you will enjoy your stay very much - guaranteed will def be back when I am back on the big island and thank you again Viviane for being such a great host

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

We only stayed one night due to American Airlines cancelling our flight to Hawaii, but we reluctantly left the B&B wanting to stay longer. The cottage is so comfortable and charming. It had everything we needed or could want. The beds are comfortable, the view stunning, and everything was clean. There is a patio and table and chairs overlooking a beautiful vista for relaxing moments. Viviane was very kind and helpful with information about our next destination. We would definitely recommend this property!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Location is breathtaking, a clear view of the Kona coastline all the way down to South Point. The room is larger than expected with a refrigerator stocked with home made muffins & cereals. When returning to Kona, I will never stay in a hotel again. My wife & I were in Kona for four days & three nights. Did a one day hunting trip at Kealia Ranch with professional guide, Jon Sabati. The full sized refrigerator made it convenient to freeze meat for the trip home.

Room Tip: Any room here is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Belle Vue Kona was a great location for our first two nights on the Big Island. Just a half hour south of the airport, we found it in the dark with clear directions, and were met before we could get our suitcases out of the car by Vivian's husband. The Orchid room was actually a full suite with kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bath, and a great lanai with an incredible view of the coastline and Vivian's beautiful flowers. Breakfast doings (muffins, cereal, milk, fruit) were left to our own doings which was at first a disappointment to me, but actually we enjoyed. Relaxed and peaceful, we could eat on the lanai and enjoy the view and birdsong. Vivian stopped by and gave us great ideas for a terrific day, and even told us where to buy fresh, tasty sandwiches for our picnic lunch. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere here. It isn't luxurious, but quiet, clean, roomy, functional, with an absolutely BEAUTIFUL VIEW. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank marshend2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We love Belle Vue! Viviane is a wonderful hostess, and we have come to think of our cottage as a home away from home. We have a spectacular view of the coast from the lanai. Our location is convenient to groceries, restaurants, and the National Park, so a car is necessary. Belle Vue is tucked down the hill from the busy highway, so it is peaceful and quiet here, where we can hear only the chirping of birds. A perfect place to relax. Not pretentious, but perfect for our month long stay.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 907KayAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

The setting is spectacular, on the slopes of Mauna Kea overlooking Kealakekua Bay. We stayed at the Plumeria Cottage, which is detached from the main building. The view from the patio is priceless – a bit of a waste if you plan to spend every daylight hour away from the B&B and only use the room to sleep. If, however, you are on a more relaxed schedule, this is a heavenly place to hang out.

Having just stayed the previous nights at a more luxurious B&B, Belle Vue was a little bit of a let down in the pampering department. The stock of breakfast items left for us in the fridge was rather basic. The crockery and other supplies were more functional than pleasing.

The main downer was the lack of a daily cleaning service. Worst of all, there was a notice that we'd have to wash and put away all the kitchen utensils before leaving, or else incur a hefty cleaning charge. This is a policy that is common among AirBNB rentals, but it's the first time I've seen it imposed by a pricey traditional B&B. Obviously, the owner is trying to save on manpower costs. But, really, on an expensive holiday do we really want our last memory of the place to be doing the dishes?

Stayed: January 2017
Thank AirconditionedNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Viviane was very friendly and helpful. Good restaurants and grocery store are close by. Our apartment was room, clean and comfy. The location felt safe and was quiet and calm. Breakfast is continental (bread, jam, cereal, milk, plenty of coffee, great muffins, basket of local fruits) that you fix yourself. There's a washer and dryer if you need it. It was a great place to come home to after a busy day. And yes, the view is beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnL-ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
0.7 km away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
296 reviews
19.8 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,221 reviews
19.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
176 reviews
20.1 km away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
591 reviews
18.6 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Vue Kona B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vue Kona B&B

Address: P.O. Box 670, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-0670
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: $192 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Belle Vue Kona B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Vue Kona Bed And Breakfast
Belle Vue Kona Hotel Captain Cook
Belle Vue Kona B&B Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing