We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luana Inn
Nearby Hotels
Halemalu(Captain Cook)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
US$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
US$169
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ka'awa Loa Plantation(Captain Cook)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
329
33
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
33
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and hot tubalihi lanithe big islandgreat hostsgreat poolsconesfruitdrying rackinternet accessb b'shome away from homeplaces to visitgrounds are beautifuloff the beaten patherinbeacheskona
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 368 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our time with Erin and Ken. We found this place by accident on our way back from kayaking, and it was the highlight of our trip. Ken and Erin provided information about the local area and advised us about beautiful local beaches, great restaurants, and points of interest. We had wonderful breakfasts with a fabulous view. The nominal rental fees from movies and snorkeling gear go into their two boys' college fund. (The delightful geckos are provided free of charge.) This is one of the best finds on the island. We would recommend the Luana Inn to anyone seeking to experience the true Hawaii.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cade132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2016

Upon arrival, we found a box of chocolates on our bed- a nice touch!
Gorgeous view from our room (one of the rooms by the pool). Amazing breakfast cooked by the owner, with a few geckos who joined us the second morning! :) Nice balcony to sit on and enjoy breakfast, or eat indoors- good view either way over the property and down to the bay.
Very friendly owners, and beautiful property...the best place to stay in Captain Cook/Kona area!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms by the pool! Very quiet, and awesome view!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellingjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Erin and Ken are the epitome of gracious host. They were always attentive to our every need. Provided use with a blender when we chose to make our own smoothies with local fruits. The breakfast and view during were awesome from Erin's iron skillet frittata to Ken's cook to order eggs. Can't beat it at a restaraunt downtown.
The location couldn't be better if you are water lovers as some of the best snorkeling is only a few minutes down the road. Walk down to the beach is easy, but the walk up is a chir, but we'll worth it.
Stayed in the guest house out back with plenty of room and probably the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept on. House Geckos are very intuitive and it is a joy seeing them hanging around.
Truly the most relaxed I have been in years. Thank You Erin and Ken.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank R8087EQpaulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2016

We just got back after spending 7 nights at the Luana Inn and we could not be happier with our stay. We went with our two adult daughters and had the two poolside rooms....you cannot beat the view from them and we never had any problems with noise from other guests. Early mornings my husband and I would sit outside with our coffee and enjoy the view. Each room had a futon couch, so the one in our daughter's room was made up, which made it very comfortable for them to share the room for the week. Erin and Ken could not be better hosts. The breakfasts were wonderful and several mornings we were out early on activities or catching our flight and they were made us a brown bag breakfast (just let them know in advance). We didn't want a resort or to be in the heart of the night life, so this was perfect for us. Things weren't that far away by car and some of the best snorkeling was only a couple minutes away. If you have questions on what to do or companies to use for tours, be sure to ask Erin or Ken, they really know their way around. It was great meeting the other guests and sharing tips on places to go.

Room Tip: poolside rooms best views
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katcalif57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016

Karen and Erin were the perfect hosts for this special vacation ... the breakfasts were simply special and the advice, ideas, and background information they shared with us were incredibly accurate and helpful, making the three days we were their guests truly a positive experience in all respects. We enjoyed the geckoes, the pool outside our door, and the welcoming spirit of this BnB.

Room Tip: Rooms along poolside offer a great view of the ocean with its snorkeling and swimming site just a short distance (1/4 mile?) to the west.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tomevans2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews