We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience of Aloha Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ranked #1 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Well first of all, the grounds are absolutely beautiful. Our host, Michael was a pleasure to talk to and he really goes above and beyond to make you feel at welcome and relaxed.
The breakfast he prepares every morning is wonderful and the view is absolutely amazing.
We did not stay in the main house, but the cottage. It was well stocked with everything we needed and it was quite roomy. An excellent room choice if you have an extra person. My only wish would have been for a more comfortable bed. The mattress was quite firm and I do have some issues with my back so hard mattresses don't agree with me. That is really the only reason my review is not 5 stars.
I would recommend this place over any of the resorts or chain hotels in Kona. It was a true Aloha experience.

Room Tip: The cottage is great if you have a party of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank smalltowndiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2017

We had a fantastic stay in Sept 2016 as part of our honeymoon. Greg was very helpful over email before our trip and Michael was an exceptional host who was full of good advice about the local area, history and cuisine. The inn itself is beautiful and incredibly well looked after...such a treat staying there! All the best, Seb and Nat

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank VanSbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

This is my second time here and I already look forward to my next visit. Michael and Greg are great hosts.
Beautiful house, delicious breakfast with a wonderful view.
I can ensure you that you will enjoy your stay here!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Katarina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Some friends highly recommended this B&B for our first visit to the big island. This was the perfect place to relax and unwind after a week on Maui.
Michael, Greg and Hannah were the perfect hosts during our stay. The breakfasts were amazing. Banana pancakes and macadamia nut French toast along with several fresh fruits-bananas, pineapple, strawberries and avocado were some of the selections we had each morning. The Kona coffee was made from beans grown right on the plantation. We enjoyed our breakfast from the lanai overlooking the ocean.
We look forward to returning to Hawaii and to the Ka'awa Loa Plantation.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clarisse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Hannah is a perfect hostess....breakfast out of the world...fresh plantation fruit, smoothie and home baked banana bread.. heavenly. ..spotlessly clean..
We stayed only one night, will be coming back with extended family next time..

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Parry7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Greg and Michael are great hosts at this beautiful plantation.

Our room was immaculate and the house itself has so much character. The house is very beautifully decorated and well maintained.

The breakfast was terrific. Hopefully you get to try the banana crusted french toast!

The driveway is very steep. Take it slow and it will be just fine! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GeekGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ka'awa Loa Plantation. The view was amazing. Our hostess, Hannah, was very welcoming and made a great breakfast. The rooms were perfect and we had a wonderful time. The location is good for exploring the area and centrally located. The driveway was dauntingly steep at first, but you get used to it pretty quickly. We booked the Ka'awa Loa Suite and Garden room for our teenagers. Both rooms were well appointed, clean and suited our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: The Garden room was great for our teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tina2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
19.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
20 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
24.8 km away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
70.5 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
543 reviews
15.9 km away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
312 reviews
105.2 km away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'awa Loa Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Address: PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: $204 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'awa Loa Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, plantation-style B&B ideally located directly above Kealakekua Bay. Offers luxury amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, a traditional Hawaiian cedar steam, outdoor lava rock showers, a wrap-around lanai with a Hawaiian daybed, a fireplace, and an unobstructed view of the South Kona coastline! The perfect place to base your Big Island adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ka'awa Loa Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Awa Loa Plantation Hotel Captain Cook
Ka'Awa Loa Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing