We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
419
18
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
18
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf bathoutdoor showermango juicebrowniethe main houseback porchthe big islandlava showermountain roomegg bakegreat hostsocean viewevery morningday bedshared bathroomlava rockb bs
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 443 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2017

This was a return trip to Ka’awa Loa Plantation for us, and it is still most excellent! Michael, Greg and Hannah are consummate Inn Keepers who go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. We stayed two nights at the end of a 10-day trip and it was the perfect ending. We stayed in an ocean room (vert comfortable bed!) with a half-bath and the beautiful bath/shower room a few steps away. Breakfast both mornings was a plentiful varied buffet that we ate on the big veranda. On both trips everybody, guests and Inn Keepers all chatted with each other. Aside from the beautiful grounds and amazing ocean view from the veranda, there are separate tables to eat at or a big table in the kitchen if you want company. Yep, we will be back again!

Room Tip: This a two story building. If you have mobility issues, stay on the first floor. It's all good!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelerSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

As a frequent visitor to the Big Island, and having stayed in many lodgings there over the past 30 years, I can say with confidence that if you're looking for a beautiful plantation house in a scenic and peaceful location, rather off the beaten track, and welcomed by perfectly gracious hosts, you don't need to look further. Michael, Hannah, and Greg embody the relaxed attentiveness to others' enjoyment and comfort that seems to me the heart of "aloha."
Many other reviewers describe well the particular qualities of the place and its offerings.....if they appeal, don't hesitate.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caleb2gen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Immensely enjoyed my stay, the house sits above Cook's Bay with several rooms and big porch to watch the sunset. Michael, Greg and Hanna were great hosts throughout our stay. The house and room was immaculate; driveway and parking is a interesting challenge however if you needed a weekend to get away from it all; this is perfect

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cydjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Well first of all, the grounds are absolutely beautiful. Our host, Michael was a pleasure to talk to and he really goes above and beyond to make you feel at welcome and relaxed.
The breakfast he prepares every morning is wonderful and the view is absolutely amazing.
We did not stay in the main house, but the cottage. It was well stocked with everything we needed and it was quite roomy. An excellent room choice if you have an extra person. My only wish would have been for a more comfortable bed. The mattress was quite firm and I do have some issues with my back so hard mattresses don't agree with me. That is really the only reason my review is not 5 stars.
I would recommend this place over any of the resorts or chain hotels in Kona. It was a true Aloha experience.

Room Tip: The cottage is great if you have a party of 3.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank smalltowndiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2017

We had a fantastic stay in Sept 2016 as part of our honeymoon. Greg was very helpful over email before our trip and Michael was an exceptional host who was full of good advice about the local area, history and cuisine. The inn itself is beautiful and incredibly well looked after...such a treat staying there! All the best, Seb and Nat

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank VanSbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews