We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful seclusion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ranked #1 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2017

My husband and I only stayed one night here, our first night on the Big Island. It was wonderful. we were greeted by the house keeper with fresh mango juice and the room was lovely. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious, the view was stunning and we loved the friendly geckos. We would love to stay here again and visit mroe of Captain Cook on our next trip. Thank you for having us

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimesSparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

This was a return trip to Ka’awa Loa Plantation for us, and it is still most excellent! Michael, Greg and Hannah are consummate Inn Keepers who go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. We stayed two nights at the end of a 10-day trip and it was the perfect ending. We stayed in an ocean room (vert comfortable bed!) with a half-bath and the beautiful bath/shower room a few steps away. Breakfast both mornings was a plentiful varied buffet that we ate on the big veranda. On both trips everybody, guests and Inn Keepers all chatted with each other. Aside from the beautiful grounds and amazing ocean view from the veranda, there are separate tables to eat at or a big table in the kitchen if you want company. Yep, we will be back again!

Room Tip: This a two story building. If you have mobility issues, stay on the first floor. It's all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelerSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

As a frequent visitor to the Big Island, and having stayed in many lodgings there over the past 30 years, I can say with confidence that if you're looking for a beautiful plantation house in a scenic and peaceful location, rather off the beaten track, and welcomed by perfectly gracious hosts, you don't need to look further. Michael, Hannah, and Greg embody the relaxed attentiveness to others' enjoyment and comfort that seems to me the heart of "aloha."
Many other reviewers describe well the particular qualities of the place and its offerings.....if they appeal, don't hesitate.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caleb2gen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Immensely enjoyed my stay, the house sits above Cook's Bay with several rooms and big porch to watch the sunset. Michael, Greg and Hanna were great hosts throughout our stay. The house and room was immaculate; driveway and parking is a interesting challenge however if you needed a weekend to get away from it all; this is perfect

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cydjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Well first of all, the grounds are absolutely beautiful. Our host, Michael was a pleasure to talk to and he really goes above and beyond to make you feel at welcome and relaxed.
The breakfast he prepares every morning is wonderful and the view is absolutely amazing.
We did not stay in the main house, but the cottage. It was well stocked with everything we needed and it was quite roomy. An excellent room choice if you have an extra person. My only wish would have been for a more comfortable bed. The mattress was quite firm and I do have some issues with my back so hard mattresses don't agree with me. That is really the only reason my review is not 5 stars.
I would recommend this place over any of the resorts or chain hotels in Kona. It was a true Aloha experience.

Room Tip: The cottage is great if you have a party of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank smalltowndiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We had a fantastic stay in Sept 2016 as part of our honeymoon. Greg was very helpful over email before our trip and Michael was an exceptional host who was full of good advice about the local area, history and cuisine. The inn itself is beautiful and incredibly well looked after...such a treat staying there! All the best, Seb and Nat

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank VanSbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

This is my second time here and I already look forward to my next visit. Michael and Greg are great hosts.
Beautiful house, delicious breakfast with a wonderful view.
I can ensure you that you will enjoy your stay here!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Katarina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
19.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
20 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
24.8 km away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
70.5 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
543 reviews
15.9 km away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
312 reviews
105.2 km away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'awa Loa Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Address: PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: $204 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'awa Loa Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, plantation-style B&B ideally located directly above Kealakekua Bay. Offers luxury amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, a traditional Hawaiian cedar steam, outdoor lava rock showers, a wrap-around lanai with a Hawaiian daybed, a fireplace, and an unobstructed view of the South Kona coastline! The perfect place to base your Big Island adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ka'awa Loa Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Awa Loa Plantation Hotel Captain Cook
Ka'Awa Loa Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing