We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Wonderful B&B”” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay House
Ranked #3 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“"Wonderful B&B””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

This was our first trip to the Big Island and The Bay House was a perfect place for us to stay. Tina and Tom were very gracious hosts. The Big Island has an wide array of amazing natural beauty. From the lush tropical forests and waterfalls on the Hilo side to the beautiful beaches on the Kona side and so much in between. We will be back to the Big Island and the The Bay House

Room Tip: We stayed in the The Harbor Room. Had a great view of the Hilo Bay. The night breeze was amazing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    39
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
180
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emerald Hills, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We love the location, the rooms, the views and a very flexable owner to help us in anyway she could to make our vacation the Best Ever in the Big Island, this is our thir- time visit the island. The toiletries the owner gives us, in my opinion, they are much better quality than a lots of the 5-star hotels give us. The owners are very generous on every advices & needs that you have.

Room Tip: The owner give you the best toiletries, in my opinion, they are much better quality than the 5 Stars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elayne_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marietta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

What a great place to stay! Spotless room, kitchen access, great view of the bay! We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mloson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

I highly recommend staying at the Bay House. The owner welcomed us and answered all of our questions and gave recommendations about dinner. We ordered pizza in and it was such a relaxing night to stay at the bed and breakfast and eat pizza on our private lanai and read a book in the hot tub. If the weather permits, you will see a beautiful sunrise. The breakfast was basic with fruit and a baked item, hard boiled egg, cereal, and a few other items but we really enjoyed having a relaxed breakfast on the lanai. Our room was very clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Citysnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Bay House B&B for 1 night in April, as we wanted to use it as a base to visit the Volcanoes National Park. We had the Palm Room, which looked out onto the ocean as did Tom and Tina’s other 2 rooms. It was bright, spacious, and spotlessly clean with typical Hawaiian furnishings. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was a joy to go to sleep at night listening to the sound of the ocean and the local tree frogs singing.

The common room has a selection of local guide books, restaurant suggestions and games as well as the use of a fridge/freezer. The whole place felt relaxing and inviting.

Tom suggested we should take a look at the Hula rehearsals taking place that evening at the Edith Kanaka’ole Stadium prior to the main competition of the Merry Monarch festival and were so pleased we did. Although the significance of the Hula moves was lost on 2 Brits we could still appreciate the Hawaiian people celebrating their culture. The atmosphere was buzzing and best of all it was free to get in!

Tina’s breakfast was the best we received during our stay in Hawaii with a choice of cereal, toast, fruit, jams, yoghurt and my favorite banana bread. I certainly recommend staying at the Bay House B&B and definitely hope to return some day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hydonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

The Bay House was exactly what I was looking for in my exerience in Hilo and more. The bedroom and the common room were very beautifully furnished. The decor and furniture made us feel all the comforts of home while still being in a tropical paradise. The view from the bedroom was absolutely breath taking. The house and the bedroom porches were right over the water and have the nicest aura to them. There was also a hot tub right above the ocean that was so nice to come back to after a busy day.
Tina and Tom were especially gracious and helpful. The breakfast had a variety of tastes from fresh fruits, eggs, toast, to cereal. There was also food available to make a snack to go which was very appreciated. Tina was always nearby or just a phone call away for questions and advice. They had lots of recomendations and it was always a joy talking with them.
The overall feel was very relaxing and private. I felt right at home but with the luxuries of breakfast and beautiful sites. Hilo was absolutely wonderful and the Bay House helped me take full advantage of my stay on the big island. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vrlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

The Pros of Bay House in our opinion:

Very comfortable bed - To me this is a key for any stay. I slept well there

Wifi - is free

View - One of the best sunrise views we had our whole vacation - the posted pictures just can't do justice to how beautiful the sunrise is off balcony

Food was good - fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, yougart, toast, coffee, juices. This is sat out at 7 am and is self service

The Cons of the bay house are the following:

Signage - small sign on the gate but the gate is open so hard to see. The directions on the website are very good and my GPS had no problems finding it.

Hot Water - 2 of our showers were tepid at best (we stayed 4 days). We left a note the last day informing the owners and recieved an apology phone call and email so they were very responsive. They have their hot water heater on a timer and it goes off at night and back on at 6:30...we were getting up early to see sunrise and to catch a flight. they told us they have since changed the timer. A smiple note in the room informing guests of when it goes off and comes on would be nice.

Frogs - there are very loud frogs outside...we found this to be true anywhere on the island so this is not a Bay House issue but we didn't see that in any other reviews on trip advisor or others sites so we were surprised.. We were left ear plugs in our room and they did the trick so we were not overly bothered by them and they only make noise at night.

I wouldn't call this a pro or a con but wanted to mention. This is not your typical bed and breakfast. They sat out breakfast at 7 each morning that you take back to your room and eat...it's not being served and it's not eating food with other guests which is typical of other bed and breakfasts...this is all clearly stated on their website but is different than the typical B&B. You also don't see the owners much. They leave you a phone (cell and work) number you can call if you need anything but we only saw the owner 1 time in 4 days so it's the perfect place if you want a quiet get away and not have to deal with a lot of people as they only have 3 rooms. If you're looking howerver for help on what to do or where to go you'll have to call them and ask as you really don't interact with them that much. The day we saw Tina she was very friendly and helpful and made several suggestions so they are nice folks.

Room Tip: Get the Harbor room. King size bed and best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TN-Mike-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.3 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.3 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
35.7 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
95.9 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Property: The Bay House
Address: 42 Pukihae St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing