We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great little B&B in Hilo.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great little B&B in Hilo.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here recently for a couple nights in the lava room. The shower was amazing! The room itself was spacious, stylish and comfortable.

On the downside it is an old home and the lava room is underneath the kitchen. If you plan on sleeping past 7am, you're going to be disappointed. Of course this meant we easily made it for breakfast each morning (8-9am).

Breakfast itself was okay with the fruit being the highlight for us. The owners were very cheerful and welcoming. We didn't make much / any use of the grounds.

We'd stay again if in Hilo.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewanderlustbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
104
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Matthew and Danny gave us four wonderful days in their two delightful homes. We stayed in the Michener Room at the Hilo Bay Hale B&B for two nights and then moved to their Jungle Farmhouse in Pahoa for the next two nights. We hated to leave! Both homes are imaginatively decorated with interesting collections and each is set in a lush garden or jungle environment. Breakfast at the Hilo home was scrumptious and though no breakfast is provided at the farmhouse, Matthew and Danny gave us tangerines from their trees and fresh-laid eggs from their chickens. (The Silky chicks were almost too cute to bear.) M and D thought of everything - at least, they thought of everything we needed. Laundry facilities are available to guests at both homes and they even provided snorkeling equipment. After their generous pampering, I was particularly sad to transfer to the Hilton Waikoloa where my husband's conference was held and where it seems they charge extra for the air you breathe.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GammyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

What a charming, converted Plantation House complete with original wooden floors. Matthew and Danny were so welcoming and even offered an early breakfast for the day of my helicopter flight. I was in the Tsunami Room and it has to be the most comfortable bedroom ever. The private verrander was great, i felt safe enough to leave the doors open and lights off off and let the frogs and bird sounds lull me to sleep. Its in a really safe, central area of Hilo and i left the car at the B&B to explore Hilo on foot. They even let you do your laundry and have full use of the kitchen and outdoor Weber.
Absolutely amazing value on top of it all.

Will always remember Hilo as the place i tried (and loved) French Toast thanks to Danny.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor for a private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoZoSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Lava Room which we shared with a hoard of mozzies and had to buy own own bug spray as there wasn't one available. We didn't need an alarm clock as the kitchen was right overhead so every footstep and conversation was clearly heard. Our biggest gripes were the fact that there is only a flimsy screen between bedroom and bathroom (even best friends need a bathroom door for privacy!), the room was not serviced during our stay (bed not made, bathroom not cleaned) and there were flies crawling on the breakfast foods. The welcome was friendly, good info on local places to eat and we were thankful to have the use of the laundry but would have stayed in Kona and visited the volcano from there had we realised that the drive from Kona is not far (by Australian standards, anyway).

Room Tip: Maybe the upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin-Koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuau, Maui
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

what to expect. My husband was initially hesitant because he is a big hotel lover, a/c blasting and property to explore. But I thought that since we were going over for a wedding, why not go for a more intimate experience?
We booked online and Matthew called to confirm with us the next day. I booked quite far out so called 48 hours before our reservation and he went over all the details with us, very friendly and courteous.
We arrived on island WAY before check in time and Matthew was still preparing the room but he welcomed us inside, showed us where we could freshen up and gave us our room keys, as we would not be returning till late evening. We came home that night to a lovely room, The Lava Room. The linens were clean and comfy. The room was tastefully decorated with as Asian feel. The bathroom was lovely, very unique and we enjoyed the way the shower opened up to the private garden.
Breakfast was served by Matthew the next morning. It was very tasty and the coffee was fantastic. There was an assortment of baked items, an egg dish, beautiful fresh fruit and crispy bacon. I ate on the porch/dining area and got to know one of the other visitors, while my husband slept in. Matthew encouraged me to take breakfast down to the room for him so he wouldn't miss out. He was so friendly.
We didn't see Matthew again before we checked out since we left early the next morning, but I would like to stress that he was very friendly and....uhh, you could say that I am a bit of an overplanner and can sweat the details. It takes a certain kind of personality to deal well with me and he did it beautifully.
The only complaint that my husband had was that the ceiling in the entranceway to and from our room were a bit low for him (he is 6'2). He bonked his head once.
Overall, the private gardens, the tasty breakfast and friendly host made for a lovely B&B experience and I did not miss the big hotel experience at all.

Room Tip: If you are coming and going at odd hours the Lava Room is very private and quiet with a separate ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimaJohna808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, TN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed here in November of 2011. Reserving a room was easy. The hosts were great to deal with on the phone and in person.

We stayed in the Michener room. I think it is the best room in the place because it is the farthest from the street. Nice room and very nice bathroom. Each room has a private lanai. Next to our lanai was a small koi pool. The lanai was a very peaceful place to read/relax.

Host Danny fixed us a great breakfast and provided friendly conversation.

There is NOTHING negative about this B&B. It is in a quiet neighborhood.

The parking lot is small with only enough room for 3 cars but there is plenty of room for parking on the street.

I would not bother looking anywhere else!

You will notice reviews of other B&B's in Hilo have some negative comments. You will not see any about this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paraclyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the Bay Room. Misty and Matthew not only prepared scrumptious breakfast with fresh fruit and baked goods, also bacon and scrambled eggs. In addition, they offered us lots of advice and lent us rain capes, flashlights, beach towels for our trips to the beach and the Volcano NP. Thanks to Misty's tip about CarlSmith Beach Park, I not only saw a turtle about 5 seconds after hitting the sea, it actually came swimming right up to me. You can't beat that as a starter to holidays in Hawai'i!
Hilo Bay Hale also offers the use of the washing machine and has wifi. The frogs are very loud, but we found the sound rather soothing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.4 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.1 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
34.6 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.6 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Address: 301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hilo Bay views from this beautifully restored 1912 historic home in the heart of Hilo, close to all the wonderful markets, cafes and galleries that make Hilo so famous. Each room has a private lanai with views of magical koi ponds and/or Hilo Bay and are furnished with period antiques and unique island art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Bed And Breakfast
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing