We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great realxing spot”
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aaron's Cottage
Ranked #12 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Easy self check in.

Rooms a little dated but I think they will be renovated, some of the units were being done while we were there.

Breakfast supplies in communal kitchen were good. Friendly owner who checked up daily if there were any issues

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seagull38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Easy to find, clean, comfortable, nearby secluded beach so you could hear waves meeting the shore as you drifted off to sleep, easy living in Hilo! Would definitely stay again if I am ever in Hilo again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank NCFSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We stayed here for 5 days during our time on Big Island. A small and very empty beach is direct 1 minute down the street. The owner is very kind. At the checkout he has shown us the new rooms which are currently being renovated and already now looking great!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Freddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Only stayed one night but wish it had been longer. Such a fun place. We used to live in Hawaii and this was like coming home. Big room, great bed, large bath, very clean, all the amenities. Al, one of the owners was working next door so we got to meet him. He collects fresh eggs from the chickens next door and puts them in community kitchen for any of us to cook. Also brings in pastries, milk, whatever. Only 4 cabins and we share but we also have total privacy. Loved it there! Totally recommend for a wonderful experience. Close to everything in Hilo but on a quiet neighborhood lane with a jungle feel.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jhs43079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My husband and I were on our 10 year anniversary trip to Hawaii. Our first night booked was supposed to be Aaron's Cottage in Hilo, Big Island thru Expedia.
The room we had booked was a non-refundable and non-changeable room and actually the last one available.
Due to big air travel delays we did not make it to our booked accommodation. So we had contacted Robert the owner/care taker immediatly and let him know, that we won't make it for our booked night and if there is a possibility to rebook. Too bad Aaron's Cottage was sold out for a good week, so no chance. Robert offered us to refund us the whole amount we had paid instead, even it was a non-refundable/non-changeable booking. So the only thing we had to do since we booked the room thru Expedia, was to get in contact with them and explain what had happen. Expedia got in contact with Robert to verify. So just a couple of days later, we have gotten an email from Expedia, that the whole amount was charged back on our Credit Card.
Wow, thanks a lot!
Even that we did not get to stay there and can't say much about the accommodation itself, we just like to say thank you for how everything worked out,especially to Robert who was fine with offering to refund in that kind of situation.
And yes, if we are coming back to Big Island we would book Aaron's Cottage or even suggest it to family and friends.
Best regards,
Natascha & Shawn

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbell111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed at Aaron's because we were looking for an economical place to stay in Hilo while we explored the town. I agree with the many positive reviews I have read about Aaron's. The bonus for us was preparing our breakfast which included fresh fruit, bacon, eggs and potatoes. Everything was provided in the community kitchen. The room and kitchen were stocked with everything you would need for a comfortable stay here, either for one night or longer. The only thing I missed was having DSTV; the room came with basic channels.

It was refreshing spending time in a "local" neighborhood versus a resort area which seem to have taken over the Hawaii landscape. Though the neighborhood was quiet, there was plenty to do with close access to the beach, shopping malls with cinema and exploring the town of Hilo.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlamedaYankeegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

It was quaint and comfortable, Walking distance to Hilo Bay and centrally located. We stayed for 2 days celebrating my husbands birthday. The manager was very informative and really nice. Great place for a get away.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaGlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
598 reviews
2.7 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.6 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
5.2 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
683 reviews
15.5 km away
Hamakua Guesthouse and Camping Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Address: 54 Keokea Loop, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4927
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $116 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing