We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
10
15
6
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
15
6
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared kitchen quiet neighborhood private room coffee maker laid back each morning cereal toaster fridge amenities stove tv turtles bath hawaii papaya kona
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 33 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2016

Easy self check in.

Rooms a little dated but I think they will be renovated, some of the units were being done while we were there.

Breakfast supplies in communal kitchen were good. Friendly owner who checked up daily if there were any issues

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seagull38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

Easy to find, clean, comfortable, nearby secluded beach so you could hear waves meeting the shore as you drifted off to sleep, easy living in Hilo! Would definitely stay again if I am ever in Hilo again.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NCFSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2016

We stayed here for 5 days during our time on Big Island. A small and very empty beach is direct 1 minute down the street. The owner is very kind. At the checkout he has shown us the new rooms which are currently being renovated and already now looking great!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Freddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

Only stayed one night but wish it had been longer. Such a fun place. We used to live in Hawaii and this was like coming home. Big room, great bed, large bath, very clean, all the amenities. Al, one of the owners was working next door so we got to meet him. He collects fresh eggs from the chickens next door and puts them in community kitchen for any of us to cook. Also brings in pastries, milk, whatever. Only 4 cabins and we share but we also have total privacy. Loved it there! Totally recommend for a wonderful experience. Close to everything in Hilo but on a quiet neighborhood lane with a jungle feel.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jhs43079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

My husband and I were on our 10 year anniversary trip to Hawaii. Our first night booked was supposed to be Aaron's Cottage in Hilo, Big Island thru Expedia.
The room we had booked was a non-refundable and non-changeable room and actually the last one available.
Due to big air travel delays we did not make it to our booked accommodation. So we had contacted Robert the owner/care taker immediatly and let him know, that we won't make it for our booked night and if there is a possibility to rebook. Too bad Aaron's Cottage was sold out for a good week, so no chance. Robert offered us to refund us the whole amount we had paid instead, even it was a non-refundable/non-changeable booking. So the only thing we had to do since we booked the room thru Expedia, was to get in contact with them and explain what had happen. Expedia got in contact with Robert to verify. So just a couple of days later, we have gotten an email from Expedia, that the whole amount was charged back on our Credit Card.
Wow, thanks a lot!
Even that we did not get to stay there and can't say much about the accommodation itself, we just like to say thank you for how everything worked out,especially to Robert who was fine with offering to refund in that kind of situation.
And yes, if we are coming back to Big Island we would book Aaron's Cottage or even suggest it to family and friends.
Best regards,
Natascha & Shawn

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbell111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews