We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Bang for your Buck (if you can get over appearances)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sushi Deli

Ocean Sushi Deli
Ranked #34 of 233 Restaurants in Hilo
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
531 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Great Bang for your Buck (if you can get over appearances)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Delicious sushi rolls! No doubt about it... and when you consider how inexpensive each roll is, it tastes even better! Sushi rolls average about $5.00 for a 6-piece roll. Your dollar goes twice as far here, as any other sushi joint on the Big Island!!! And did I mention, it tastes great?!? I would probably rank this among the top-2 sushi places on the Big Island (after having spent a month on the island).

However, decor is almost non-existent (both exterior and interior could use a lot of work). Service is rather hit or miss... The first time we ate here, our server looked like she hated not only her job, but life in general. Fortunately, the second time around, we had a different server and she was much more bubbly, friendly and attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    68
    25
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow, wonderful sushi rolls again and improved interior!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and I have eaten here a number of times over the years and thought we would try it again over the Thanksgiving weekend. We were a little worried because of some of the recent negative reviews on the service, cleanliness, and decor. It has improved dramatically.....sushi riolls are still to die for and now the place is two rooms, cheery bright colors, great airconditioning, and more than enought help to solve those "slow service" problems of the past.

Everything everyone else says about the great sushi rolls at reasonavble prices remain the same! Figure about 2 - 3 rolls per person. Free hot was not offered and we forgot to ask so really con't complain. We would have gone back 2 or 3 more times but they were closing for a few days after the holiday!

I will go back the next time we ventue from Oahu. Want to try some of the other non-sushi items we saw on the menu that were being served to l large party next to us that looked fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChuckBraden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Great prices, but the atmosphere left a bit to be desired. It was busy so I guess they don't really need to decorate the place very well to attract people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The dynamite roll was mega!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We dropped in on Ocean Sushi for a quick bite after returning from Mauna Kea. It does not look like much from the street, but is a little havern for the sushi lover. The service was quick and friendly and we watched our sushi being made before getting tucked in.

The rainbow and dragon rolls where gorgeous and we left nothing!!!

For a delicious, quick and great value for money meal, Ocean Sushi is the place to go in Hilo.

Thank you guys!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RColtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt LakeCity
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, no bar, ambeinnce lacking. Locals place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is a locals, side-street Hilo sushi joint. The place is remarkabley pedestrian in decor, feels a little more like a cafeteria than a restaurant, which made think twice upon walking in. But amazingly enough they've got saucy waitresses and very good sushi, just like some of the best places in SanFran.

I had miso soup, sake nigiri, spicy tuna handroll (had seconds on that, yummy) and a spider roll (not very adventurous am i?) All was very good, very fresh and well presented. quick too, the guys behind the counter were jumping. No sushi bar, just tables in two adjoining sparsely furnished rooms.

Here is a place that if they got a liquor license and spent $80K remodeling would en the best sushi place on the island. As it is, it's a very good place to go grab sushi then scoot someplace else to hang out. Definitely worth a visit if you are jonesing for sushi.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank urbanelectron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Sushi Deli also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ocean Sushi Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing