We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch even for non-fish eaters”
Review of Ocean Sushi Deli

Ocean Sushi Deli
Ranked #36 of 265 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

This place is popular with locals for its sushi, but I love their chicken katsu. The meal was quick and fresh. Their menu is huge so plan to google a lot if you don’t know your sushi. Prices were reasonable.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Chose this place based on other TA reviews.

Three stars given for the price, that’s the only good thing. That, and a very nice staff.

We ordered 4 different rolls. They tasted about the same-mushy and no flavor. Ratio of rice to other ingredients WAY off. We only do raw fish so perhaps their better option is the tempura.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Good sushi/ Japanese food. Prices aren’t too bad. Would definitely recommend trying their different sushi rolls.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Lacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

My husband and I ate here twice while we were in Hilo. The first time we ordered off the regular menu. The second time we ordered off the "platter menu" because we saw the platter of sushi that the couple next to us had ordered and asked about it. We had 21 pieces of sushi for $13.95 if I remember correctly. It might have been $12.95. They had many other platter choices, but that was plenty for us. We also ordered 2 bowls of miso soup at $2.00 each. All of it was delicious. I would recommend this place if you like sushi.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

The food was great when we got it. There was a long wait and one of our orders was wrong. They also brought out one main dish before we had appetizers too. The place was busy and looked like they needed more staff to give a better experience. The dinner was good value for money and you can take your own drinks - no bar.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Sushi Deli also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ocean Sushi Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing