We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pancakes! 24 Hours a Day!?!?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ken's House of Pancakes

Ken's House of Pancakes
Ranked #8 of 237 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
552 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Pancakes! 24 Hours a Day!?!?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

This local's favorite diner is a cool, fun, eclectic place to go for pancakes (or practically anything else on the 100+ item menu) 24 hours a day! The coconut pancakes are delicious, with 4 different home-made syrups (the passion fruit is great)! Service has a lot to be desired, though...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    757
    270
    81
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MY KIND OF RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

My friends have been there many times and took me today. I had the Loco Moco and it was fabulous. Loved the atmosphere (very homey) and the service was great. I would definitelt go again.

Helpful?
Thank nancyeve118
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local grinds for more than just the locals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Great hot spot in Hilo to eat at when ever. The only 24/7 diner in town, so anytime is a good time! Wonderful staff and fantastic food! Be warned- if you are there during rush hour it will get busy and noisy! Especially if people order the "sumo" sized! When you hear the gong be ready to yell "SUMO!" with the rest of the restaraunt! Must hit stop in Hilo!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingScubaKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun local place, good comfort food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Walked from the port, (where our ship, the Disney Wonder, was docked), for lunch after a morning helicopter tour over the volcanoes. Had a sweet middle-aged lady serving us with a smile, and frequent visits with hot coffee refills. All but one of our small group ordered breakfast. One savvy (raised on Oahu) member ordered 2 very local items off the Kids' Menu (wish I had realized one could do that before I placed MY order!), Saimen noodle and loco moco! Yummy! My traditional bacon, eggs and pancake breakfast was good, and of course the syrup selections anywhere in Hawaii are awesome! Lilikoi (one of MY faves!), coconut, and the requisite maple flavored. Enjoyable meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Southerngirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not worth the calories”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

My husband and I had been told this was a "must stop" place so we were excited to visit on our trip from Kona to Hilo. What a disappointment!! The clam chowder had a weird smokey flavor. My tuna melt was not good. The turkey was hard and dry - even with the gravy. Even the water tasted off. Absolutely not worth the calories. The people were not cheery; in fact we felt like we were bothering the hostess. We will not be back and I am going to ask the concierge what she was thinking in providing this recommendation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieHatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ken's House of Pancakes also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ken's House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing