We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting, Fun and Tasty!”

Hilo Farmers Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$182.29*
and up
Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka...
Ranked #7 of 81 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: MARKET HOURS: Big Market Days * Recommended days to visit. Wednesday and Saturday 6:00 am - 4:00 pm. Over 200 local farmers and crafters Small Market Days Monday, Tuesday, Thursday Friday and Sunday 7:00 am - 4:00 pm. Over 30 farmers and crafters. The Hilo Farmers Market is a must-see experience when you are on the Big Island. Over 200 local farmers and crafters sell their produce, crafts, gift items and tropical flowers in a festive outdoor atmosphere that recalls back to the old "plantation" days of early Hilo. Located at the corner of Mamo Street and Kamehameha Avenue in historic downtown Hilo, it's open all year round.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Exciting, Fun and Tasty!”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We visited the Hilo Farmers Market regularly during our month-long stay on the Big Island. It is a wonderful place to shop for fresh produce at great prices. And by great, I mean 6 Papaya for $1; huge pineapples for $3; giant avocado for $1; and MUST-TRY, fresh, home-made juices for $2. While fun, friendly and upbeat every day of the week, Wed and Sat are truly enjoyable. Check it out!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    233
    83
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“exotic fruit and veggies in most stall”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

6 hawaiian papaya for $2 is unheard of here in the US...bought "Fiddlehead" fern family for $2 a bunch and sauteed it in olive oil & garlic and we're all in heaven when we ate it with our grilled chicken...also I tasted for the first time a fruit called "puha" which is sweet and citrusy...very very good...this is the place to buy hawaiin souvienir t-shirts and trinkets...everyone we encountered was so friendly and ready to tell you about their fresh produce...however we didn't find anyone selling coconut the day we were there...fresh lilikoi juice was what we needed after almost a full day at the market...we went back to our condo rental full of goods and we spent less than $50 including lunch...what a deal

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quaint and friendly”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Not noisy and stinky. Lots of local products and souvenirs to buy. Nice open air cafe near the centre of the market for some so-so coffee.

Helpful?
Thank mylifeyay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

It's a fun place to visit. Place you'll find exotic fruits. Lots and lots of good strawberry banana, the Hawaiian banana. Lots of papaya, mango, star fruit, guava, dragon fruit, etc. Not to mention souvenirs. Foods.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hardolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Forest, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Genuine quality”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Having been disappointed in finding quality gifts to take home in Honolulu, we hit the mother lode at this market. My wife thought she was in heaven with the quality of goods here..especially women,s handbags, made in Hawaii.it was a wonderful way to spend a Sunday morning.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lojlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hilo Farmers Market also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing