We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lilikoi Inn - Kailua-Kona Hawai'i”
Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lilikoi Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

My wife and I had never traveled to the Big Island of Hawai'i, knew nothing about the hotels or B&Bs in the Kailua-Kona area except from what we read on-line. I did my research and found the Lilikoi Inn owned and operated by Shai and Trina Yerlick. We arrived at night in the rain and Shai guided me from the Kona airport to the Lilikoi Inn which is up in the hills overlooking the Kailua-Kona area. We were exhausted from our long flight and Shai helped us with our luggage to our room and we immediately fell asleep. In the morning after waking up we went out to the lanai for breakfast. We couldn't believe the view, We were up high in the hills overlooking the hillside and ocean. Two other families were at the table, Shai and Trina made sure we all were introduced and felt at ease, breakfast consisted of fresh banana in a fresh papaya, juice, fresh egg on toast and home grown and roasted coffee. I didn't want to leave the lanai, I just wanted to keep looking out over the lush green vegatation down the hillside to the ocean. We spent our first two nights at the Lilikoi Inn, and after touring the island for the next week, we came back to the Lilikoi for our final night and morning before leaving for home.We celebrated our final morning and 30th wedding anniversary at the Lilikoi. The Lilikoi Inn is a special place in the hills of Kailua-Kona, and Shai and Trina make you feel like family and provide tips and hints for things to do and places to see on the Big Island.My wife and I plan to stay at the Lilikoi Inn on our next visit to the Big Island.

Room Tip: We would recommend an upstairs room, more morning light, a little less noise from upstairs in mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harlan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thanks so much for coming to the Lilikoi inn. We are glad you enjoyed our aloha, and the views from our lanai. It is a special place the Big island and we are so happy you have experienced some of the highlights. When you come back the next time we can tell you about some of our other special places. We look forward to seeing you again!
with aloha
Trina and
Shai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

If you are traveling somewhere in solar system between Mercury and Pluto, you HAVE to stay in Lilikoi Inn! Located on a slope of one of Hawaii's (Big Island's) hills, close to Kailua-Kona, Lilikoi Inn is surrounded by a stunning lush and wonderful tropical plantation, while the structure of the place is amazingly immersive, brilliantly tidy, relaxingly clear and cozy. Here you'll find, as main common/social space, a breathtaking lanai (that is a terrace) hanging on the tropical plants and staring at the ocean ahead. Not to mention, the sun obviously sink into the ocean right there, like a painting. Pray to have a night rain, as often happens: the experience of the night rain in the tropical forest from the lanai, while birds sing and incredible flowers called Angel Trumpet scent the sweetest of the scents is pure heaven. You have access to the kitchen and the lounge area, with all the facilities you can imagine. 
What you CAN'T actually imagine is how you'll feel good staying here. Breakfasts are served in the lanai, all together, and you'll enjoy other guests' company and owners' as well. Trina and Shai are the amazing owners that will give your trip the best hospitality experience you ever tried by now. Shai cooks your breakfast like a top rated chef - he used to be something like that actually - and both will keep you in their shelter with suggestions, pleasantness and love. 
Lots of special amenities are available... maybe you need snorkeling materials, fins, umbrellas, or a jacuzzi time off in the tropical forest? They have all this, and more. Just ask! 
Me and my husband were here for one of our honeymoon' stays in August 2017. We have been traveling a lot in our life, both for work and for pleasure. So believe us when we say Lilikoi Inn, thanks both to the beauty of the place and of Trina and Shai especially, is in our top 3 travel most beloved memories ever. Ugo and Andrea

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ugo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thanks so much for writing this beautiful review.
We loved having you as guests and hope to see you in Italy one day!
meanwhile, remember our beautiful island and the aloha of Hawaii.We hope you have a wonderful marriage and be good to one another!
with aloha,
Trina and Shai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We were greeted with a tropical juice refresher and an avocado snack -- "perfect" after an oven hot hike through the aa at Kaloko-Honokohau. Our "Lilikoi Room" was beautiful, spacious and clean. Views of the Kona coast were breathtaking from the extensive lanai where gourmet breakfasts were served each morning. Their own "plantation" was the source of many fruits. Trina and Shai felt like old friends, and they were very helpful in suggesting restaurants and travel routes. We thank them for sharing their piece of paradise with us!

Room Tip: This is a B&B not a hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert K. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thanks so much for coming to the lilikoi Inn. We loved having you as guests and hope you come again sometime. We are happy you enjoyed our family style place and hope you really got a sense of our beautiful Big Island. We still find new places every month so when you come again we can send you to our new favorite restaurant.
with aloha, and Mahalo!
Trina and Shai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Breakfast was amazing every morning. Homegrown coffee beans too. Mango juice delicious. Gigantic avocados. Total kitchen access handy for storing picnic items or grabbing a cup of tea. Having a rental car a +.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank anna marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

we had a wonderful stay in this exceptional b&b: beautiful location, stunning view on the Kailua-Kona coast from the jaccuzi, nice and very well ecquipped rooms, overwelming self-made breakfast and almost inexhaustible suggestions from the hosts how to spend the day. 100% perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sgratzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

thanks so much for coming to the Lilikoi Inn and writing a review. We were happy you enjoyed the Big island and our special place away from the main town of kailua kona.
We are just starting to pick the next batch of coffee and hope you can come again to taste it. have a good winter, and remember the aloha when you think of your next vacation.
with aloha always,
Trina and Shai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Trina and Shai are wonderful hosts and Lilikoi Inn is a peaceful oasis with amazing views. It was a very comfortable and welcoming stay. Our highlight was waking up to a delicious breakfast on the deck with the other guests. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Trina and Shai are genuinely friendly and hospitable, the house and the view are beautiful, and the breakfast is excellent! Everything from their garden - including coffee - is great as well. We really enjoyed the location too since it was a little cooler than further down on the island. It was nice to come back to after a day of activities.
Would highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maddie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
4.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.5 km away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
188 reviews
19 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
78.9 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Address: 75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: $254 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilikoi Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa
Lilikoi Inn Holualoa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing