We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Honoka'a Club(Honokaa)
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hale Kukui(Honokaa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
199
12
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
12
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 216 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Top of the line. We have stayed over the years at many of the B&Bs on the Big Island. This is by far the best. From the views, hot tubs, service, food, wine, and beauty...nothing comes close to topping Waianuhea. Mahalo!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psyche1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hidden up in the hills above Honokaa, this small bed and breakfast enticed us with their soft beds, handmade soaps, gourmet breakfasts and generous hosts. Leave your cell phone off because up here Nature is calling - besides you probably won't get a cell signal anyway. The location is secluded, but the driving is easy to Honokaa, Waipio and Waimea. We want to say a special thanks to Peter who cooked us a fabulous 4 course dinner complete with edible flowers from his garden. If you find yourself in the northern part of the big island, we recommend splurging on this special experience.

Room Tip: The A'ala room is a bit cramped - go for the larger rooms listed on their website.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike11201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We normally do not stay in bed and breakfast because it reminds of us being at home, like why go on vacation and stay at a place that reminds us of home. The whole point of vacation (for us) is to experience something that we normally do not. We found Waianuhea to be that something special that was unique for us to explore. We were not disappointed, and in fact, may want to try other B&Bs because of this wonderful experience.

We (2 adults and 1 tween) stayed in the Malamala (spelling?) room that has views of the ocean and mountains. The king size bed was very comfortable, and the room was large. However the twin size sofa bed was not that comfortable. We loved the fruits served at breakfast.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were well decorated. We choose the Malamala because it had a king bed and sleeing twin sofa
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Wow what a place! My wife and I stayed here for two nights after she persuaded me to try a B&B (in the UK they are often a very unpleasant experience and you feel like you are staying in someone's lounge!) and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We opted for the smallest room which was still just fine and has a lovely big bathroom.

This B&B is fabulously friendly and all the staff do so much to make you feel at home. Wifi is free, and there is a free computer to use. Wine hour at 5 PM is a wonderful way to meet the other guests and should be encouraged absolutely everywhere! Lovely small hot tub at the bottom of the garden and the (very) remote location means you can star gaze to your heart's content. Be warned the roads to get to the house are rubbish but still fine to do in a 2WD though I was glad of our 4x4.

There is more open communal space than all the guest rooms put together and this really gives it wonderfully unique feel. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Our only mistake was not opting for the dinner cooked by Pete which by all accounts is wonderful and saves you the drive out to Waimea (there is not a lot of choice in Honoka'a but do try the BYOB Italian which is delicious and cheap). He grows a lot of his ingredients on his own smallholding just a couple of miles down the road.

Don't get me wrong this is not the most "plush" place I have ever stayed but if I think about it, it's probably the nicest...

Thank you guys

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The house was beautiful, the staff was friendly and very accomodating. We reserved to have dinner there and it was well worth it. We were served fish and it was the best we had on the island during our 12 night stay. Breakfast was great. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raf014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews