We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely time in the Hamakua district”
Review of Waipio Wayside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waipio Wayside B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Honokaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We usually travel to Hawaii twice a year and very much enjoyed our stay at the Waipio Wayside for four nights. Jacqueline, the proprietor, is a fascinating person with many interests. My husband, who is an artist, enjoyed talking to her about her photography and her vacations in Japan. She also knows all the restaurants in the area and recommened Allen's Table in Waimea for a wonderful dinner-and it was.

But back to the B&B, we had the Birdseye Room--a large, beautifully decorated room at the back of the house, right off the multi level lanai. The bed was comfortable and had a good reading light which was great since I like to read a little before drifting off to sleep to the song of the coqui frogs. Also loved the wonderful organic toiletries provided in the bathroom.

The breakfasts are delicious--always containing lovely tropical fruit and great coffee. And we enjoyed the lively conversation at the breakfast table. It's always nice to meet people from all over the US and world, for that matter, and learn about them and talk about their experience in Hawaii.

I'm sure we will return to Waipio Wayside in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martym45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is the most expensive B&B we stayed at, but it was not the best one. We had the upstairs room without a door between bedroom and bathroom. We knew that ahead of time. Couldn't really see why she doesn't put a door on. It would certainly be possible, though doors would clash if both room door and bathroom door were open at the same time. The room was a little dusty, but fine. The owner, as others have said, was rather aloof and unfriendly to us, though she seemed friendly enough to some of the other guests who were repeats. It may have been because we didn't take her advice about dinner as we really didn't feel like driving back to Waiamea.

Room Tip: If you like bathroom privacy, the upstairs room is not the room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We liked the old sugar plantation house, the big deck in back, the location on the road to Waipio Valley and just outside Honoka'a, the coqui frogs chirping us to sleep at night. So it's a mystery that both my husband and I rate this B&B as just average or below among the 10 we stayed at on our 5-week trip to Hawaii. I think we just didn't make much connection with Jacqueline. Her passions, cats and gourmet cooking, aren't ours, and I guess we didn't feel she tried to get to know us. So probably this is an unfair rating, since I can't be more specific.

Room Tip: The Moon Room is the least expensive. We found it plenty roomy and pleasant. The mattress was good...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

As with so many others, our stay at Waipio Wayside did much to contribute to our enjoyment of the Big Island. The plantation style home, lush greenery, and evening serenade of the coqui frogs combined to create a pleasurable tropical atmosphere. Add to that Jacqueline's gracious and knowledgeable proprietorship, and the convenient location, and you've got pretty much all you could want. We would certainly return for another visit.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
Thank BiblioWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

At a B&B, your host can make all the difference, and Jacqueline is a perfect example. She was welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful, and fun to chat with over breakfast. We especially loved her restaurant recommendations. The breakfasts were fresh, healthy, and delicious. Our room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The sound of the frogs in the evening was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great place, yummy organic breakfasts and very good organic bath products. Property is very well kept up. Jacqueline is knowledgable about the area and very helpfully. We stayed in the plantation room which has two beds. This room is on the highway side of the building, and even though there is not much traffic, we needed to close the windows. It was the end of Dec. and not hot, so this was no problem, but I'm sure it would be a problem in the hot months. A room on the other side I'd the house might be better then. This area ia quite humid and we found our clothIng left in the room was somewhat damp. A few pacquets of drier rite crystals in your luggage might help.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this comfortably classy property. Jacqueline is a gracious and knowledgeable host and a gourmet cook as well. Breakfasts were a treat and an added bonus was the vast selection of teas available 24/7 in the dining area. The house is convenient to the Waipio area and the cute town of Honoka'a. We had a great time taking a glass of wine out to the gazebo on the back deck at night and planning the next day's activities. There is a sweet resident cat who will welcome you but is not obtrusive.
This is a great place to stay--highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you are tall, you might have an issue with the height of the ceilings in the bathroom of the Libr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelover1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
3.6 km away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
76 reviews
77.1 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
58.5 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.5 km away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
38.5 km away
Kohala Village Inn
Kohala Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Hawi
41 reviews
55.7 km away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipio Wayside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipio Wayside B&B

Address: 46-4226 Honokaa Waipio Rd, Box 840, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-7053
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range: $121 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipio Wayside Bed and Breakfast is a traditional B&B located along the stunning Hamakua coast. Minutes from Waipio Valley, the Hawaiian valley of the Kings. Waipio Wayside is a relaxing retreat for those of you looking for "old Hawaii." We are happy to offer 5 bedrooms all with private bathroom. A great organic breakfast all with local ingredients and a tea bar open all of the time. WIFI, Hawaiian Library & DVD library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waipio Wayside B&B Honokaa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing