We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place & location”
Review of Waipio Wayside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waipio Wayside B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Honokaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place & location”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

If you're wondering where to stay on the northern part of the Big Island, wonder no more - Waipio Wayside B&B is great and nicely situated for exploring what we found to be the prettiest parts of the island. The old-style Hawaiian plantation house is very nice, everything was clean and tastefully appointed, the breakfasts were fresh and amazing and Jacqueline was a great host. Furthermore, it's nicely situated, very near the valley (which is stunning), close to Waimea, and really not all that far from the western beaches. The one and only complaint I had were the frogs chirping, so bring some ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iberjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    25
    11
    8
    0
See reviews for
27
140
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were here in March 2012 and it suited us to a tee. Jacqueline makes you feel welcome and the breakfasts were very nice. We stayed in the Birdseye Room which was clean and well appointed. The conversation was entertaining and the coffee nice and strong. Loved the location too. Honokaa is a small community away from the noise and traffic of many other Hawaiian locations. A quiet, peaceful stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troutfly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were at the B&B for a week and wished we could have stayed longer. The house was beautiful and Jacqueline's knowledge of the island was an added perk. Breakfast was great: strong coffee, new fruits, good pancakes and great conversation. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Try the moon room for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This B&B features charmingly decorated rooms and gourmet breakfasts of fresh-from-the-oven baked goods, several organic tropical fruits & smoothies along with local eggs and coffee every morning. My husband loves breakfast and Jackie excels at this beautifully presented meal.

Jackie is an experienced hostess (25 years!) and provides a warm and friendly atmosphere in her home as well as expert advice on touring and dining. The garden is filled with exotic mature trees whose branches are festooned with orchids; and there is a cozy deck to enjoy it all along with an ocean view. We spent 3 nights at the Wayside and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We usually travel to Hawaii twice a year and very much enjoyed our stay at the Waipio Wayside for four nights. Jacqueline, the proprietor, is a fascinating person with many interests. My husband, who is an artist, enjoyed talking to her about her photography and her vacations in Japan. She also knows all the restaurants in the area and recommened Allen's Table in Waimea for a wonderful dinner-and it was.

But back to the B&B, we had the Birdseye Room--a large, beautifully decorated room at the back of the house, right off the multi level lanai. The bed was comfortable and had a good reading light which was great since I like to read a little before drifting off to sleep to the song of the coqui frogs. Also loved the wonderful organic toiletries provided in the bathroom.

The breakfasts are delicious--always containing lovely tropical fruit and great coffee. And we enjoyed the lively conversation at the breakfast table. It's always nice to meet people from all over the US and world, for that matter, and learn about them and talk about their experience in Hawaii.

I'm sure we will return to Waipio Wayside in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martym45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tok
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is the most expensive B&B we stayed at, but it was not the best one. We had the upstairs room without a door between bedroom and bathroom. We knew that ahead of time. Couldn't really see why she doesn't put a door on. It would certainly be possible, though doors would clash if both room door and bathroom door were open at the same time. The room was a little dusty, but fine. The owner, as others have said, was rather aloof and unfriendly to us, though she seemed friendly enough to some of the other guests who were repeats. It may have been because we didn't take her advice about dinner as we really didn't feel like driving back to Waiamea.

Room Tip: If you like bathroom privacy, the upstairs room is not the room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We liked the old sugar plantation house, the big deck in back, the location on the road to Waipio Valley and just outside Honoka'a, the coqui frogs chirping us to sleep at night. So it's a mystery that both my husband and I rate this B&B as just average or below among the 10 we stayed at on our 5-week trip to Hawaii. I think we just didn't make much connection with Jacqueline. Her passions, cats and gourmet cooking, aren't ours, and I guess we didn't feel she tried to get to know us. So probably this is an unfair rating, since I can't be more specific.

Room Tip: The Moon Room is the least expensive. We found it plenty roomy and pleasant. The mattress was good...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
3.6 km away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
35.5 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
35.4 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
20.8 km away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#4 of 8 in Waimea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
40.9 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipio Wayside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipio Wayside B&B

Property: Waipio Wayside B&B
Address: 46-4226 Honokaa Waipio Rd, Box 840, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-7053
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipio Wayside Bed and Breakfast is a traditional B&B located along the stunning Hamakua coast. Minutes from Waipio Valley, the Hawaiian valley of the Kings. Waipio Wayside is a relaxing retreat for those of you looking for "old Hawaii." We are happy to offer 5 bedrooms all with private bathroom. A great organic breakfast all with local ingredients and a tea bar open all of the time. WIFI, Hawaiian Library & DVD library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waipio Wayside B&B Honokaa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing