We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waipio Wayside B&B
Nearby Hotels
Honoka'a Club(Honokaa)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$425
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$383
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kohala Village Inn(Hawi)(Great Value!)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$404
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$415
US$332
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$455
US$417
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
201
25
12
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
25
12
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese roomorganic breakfastbirds eyethe big islandlibrary roomother guestsspider websplantation homepassion fruitback porchbreakfast tablelovely homefollowing morninga wonderful stayorganic bath productsbeautiful roomchecking out
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 246 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were here in March 2012 and it suited us to a tee. Jacqueline makes you feel welcome and the breakfasts were very nice. We stayed in the Birdseye Room which was clean and well appointed. The conversation was entertaining and the coffee nice and strong. Loved the location too. Honokaa is a small community away from the noise and traffic of many other Hawaiian locations. A quiet, peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troutfly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were at the B&B for a week and wished we could have stayed longer. The house was beautiful and Jacqueline's knowledge of the island was an added perk. Breakfast was great: strong coffee, new fruits, good pancakes and great conversation. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Try the moon room for longer stays.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This B&B features charmingly decorated rooms and gourmet breakfasts of fresh-from-the-oven baked goods, several organic tropical fruits & smoothies along with local eggs and coffee every morning. My husband loves breakfast and Jackie excels at this beautifully presented meal.

Jackie is an experienced hostess (25 years!) and provides a warm and friendly atmosphere in her home as well as expert advice on touring and dining. The garden is filled with exotic mature trees whose branches are festooned with orchids; and there is a cozy deck to enjoy it all along with an ocean view. We spent 3 nights at the Wayside and we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We usually travel to Hawaii twice a year and very much enjoyed our stay at the Waipio Wayside for four nights. Jacqueline, the proprietor, is a fascinating person with many interests. My husband, who is an artist, enjoyed talking to her about her photography and her vacations in Japan. She also knows all the restaurants in the area and recommened Allen's Table in Waimea for a wonderful dinner-and it was.

But back to the B&B, we had the Birdseye Room--a large, beautifully decorated room at the back of the house, right off the multi level lanai. The bed was comfortable and had a good reading light which was great since I like to read a little before drifting off to sleep to the song of the coqui frogs. Also loved the wonderful organic toiletries provided in the bathroom.

The breakfasts are delicious--always containing lovely tropical fruit and great coffee. And we enjoyed the lively conversation at the breakfast table. It's always nice to meet people from all over the US and world, for that matter, and learn about them and talk about their experience in Hawaii.

I'm sure we will return to Waipio Wayside in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martym45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is the most expensive B&B we stayed at, but it was not the best one. We had the upstairs room without a door between bedroom and bathroom. We knew that ahead of time. Couldn't really see why she doesn't put a door on. It would certainly be possible, though doors would clash if both room door and bathroom door were open at the same time. The room was a little dusty, but fine. The owner, as others have said, was rather aloof and unfriendly to us, though she seemed friendly enough to some of the other guests who were repeats. It may have been because we didn't take her advice about dinner as we really didn't feel like driving back to Waiamea.

Room Tip: If you like bathroom privacy, the upstairs room is not the room for you.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews