We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious living with a gorgeous view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palms Cliff House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honomu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The Palms Cliff House Inn is a wonderful retreat just 10 minutes outside of Hilo, HI. We pulled into the secluded and well manicured grounds to find a southern plantation style restored home and guest rooms. Located on top of the ocean cliffs, we enjoyed the gorgeous sights and sounds of the Hawaiian surf. The room was vary spacious and clean with a beautiful view of the ocean. A scrumptious breakfast (at added cost) was served every morning on on the lanai overlooking the ocean. On two of our three mornings, we watched whales migrating up the coast.
Our next visit to the Big Island will certainly include a return stay at the Palms Cliff House Inn.

Room Tip: Some rooms were suites and others were just bedrooms. We were in a suite.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LAM1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for The Palms Cliff House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect about this place. As soon as we got there we realized we were in a really special place.
The setting is very estate like and right on the water. The rooms have a luxurious sensual and comforting feel to them. We added a night because we didn't want to leave. Our first night was one of the more basic rooms but was far from basic. The furnishings the materials and everything was top notch. The second night we upgraded only because It was the only room available. Well the first room has a Jacuzzi in the bathroom the second night it was a two-person Jacuzzi in a bay window overlooking the ocean. It was also a fireplace and a bear rug. It was over-the-top wonderful. Breakfast was fabulous and staff was courteous and considerate and helpful and I couldn't speak high enough about this place. Do yourself a favor and stay here I'm not kidding it's an extraordinary experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank esserguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I selected the Palms as a birthday and Valentines Day surprise. I had no referrals or recommendations from anyone, prior to our stay so we both felt the anticipation. The unknown can be fun and our stay at the Palms was just that; fun, relaxing, and a place we'll return to in the future. The room was clean, food was great, and it felt like home. The staff was very friendly and helpful. On your your next trip to the east side of the Big Island consider the Palms Cliff House.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms, you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rwhipple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

My wife and I stayed five nights at this Inn. We stayed in the Tropical Dreams room #3. It turned out to be a great base for us to explore the east side of the Big Island. The breakfast served on the veranda was a great way to start the day. There is no A/C so we slept with the patio door open each night. The only annoying thing is there is a rooster that starts crowing every morning at 430. The owners need to serve chicken so the guests can have a more enjoyable sleep. The scenery and grounds are well maintained. We even saw whales swimming around in the bay while we were eating breakfast. Chelsea (sp?), in the front office, was very helpful in suggesting things to do, see and where to eat. All of the staff was very pleasant. The only other negative is that the Inn is 20 mins north of Hilo which made going to dinner and having drinks a concern. We solved the problem by finishing our sightseeing and grabbing food to go. The Inn has a dining room open for guests which made it nice to end the day sitting on the veranda, eating our take out and drinking wine.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had a decent view. I'm sure the rooms above us had a better view...
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DKR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I was really looking forward to my stay here, and had high expectations after reading the reviews. Certainly the location is breathtaking, and the view from the room gorgeous, but there were coakroaches in the room, which made me very uncomfortable waking on the carpeted floor. Also, I was disappointed with breakfast, I mentioned well in advance I was vegetarian but he cook forgot to bake a veg quiche, and the meat was replaced by extra fruit. So the breakfast ended up being bananas, pineapple, scrambled eggs and a muffin....For more than 300 usd a night that certainly not what I was expecting....

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon this beautiful bed & breakfast. We had such an amazing experience Waking up every morning to a stunning ocean view along with a complimentry breakfast on the lanai was a perfect way to start our day. I loved the French toast and fresh papaya! During our stay we felt at home. Our tropical room was very comfortable and clean.
It was truly relaxing. I just wanted to say thank you to Chelsea who checked us in for your warm greeting and hospitality.
A paradise getaway!
☆☆☆☆☆

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 64claudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

The Palms Cliff House is a wonderful sea side (cliff side) Bed and Breakfast. Being able to sleep with your private patio door open at night to listen to the Pacific ocean sounds was wonderful. Breakfast each morning on the veranda was so beautiful and breathtaking. Got to meet the other guests there in the morning as well. The grounds were beautiful as well with many tropical plants, trees, flowers and ponds.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honomu
76.2 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
16.6 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
16.1 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.5 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
79.4 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
16.5 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Cliff House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Cliff House Inn

Address: 28-3514 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honomu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96728
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honomu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honomu
Price Range: $266 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Cliff House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3.5 acre private estate offers sweeping ocean views perched ocean side atop a 100 foot cliff. Delicious full breakfasts are included in the regular room rates. Honored in Song and depicted in hula, this inn specializes in catering to couples seeking a quiet and romantic get away that embodies the feeling of the Old Hawaii we all dream about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms Cliff House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Cliff House Hotel Honomu
The Palms Cliff Hotel
Palms Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing