We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another really fine rest and retreat gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palms Cliff House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honomu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2017

An abrupt turn off the highway heading into Hilo, and suddenly you are under a canopy of tropical green. You are winding along a curved drive through wonderfully landscaped grounds literally right alongside the blue Pacific towards a lovely white Victorian style old Hawaii home. The decor is all old Hawiana. It is close for hiking and exploring Akaka Falls and just a short hop into Hilo town. Sitting on the veranda at sunset time is exceptional. The staff is welcoming and gracious. The rooms are clean and pleasant with a/c and fans and really the views are world class. Another fine place if you want to write and paint and be creative. John L. Hart

Room Tip: Room #7 on the top floor was very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drjlhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for The Palms Cliff House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

This is the perfect place to stay for Hilo...I looked around before booking and opted for charm vs chain...which can be risky...but in this case, the right choice. The in town chain hotel is hard on the airport and helicopters are buzzing overhead continually--be warned.
But this property is peaceful and the 15 min. ride into HIlo for dinner is a straight shot.
We had a spacious 2nd floor room - #8 with a wonderful view. We did take someone elses advice to get a room with A/C- used it one night. Ceiling fan as well. Anyways, it was all good. We arrived after 5p and really did not spend much time at the hotel..so it was sort of funny that the only person we saw was the cook-- and she did cook lovely b'fasts and accommodated us as we needed an early b'fast both days there.
So all in all, it was a top level B&B...some can be a bit funky....this wasn't.. The price was a bit high (I think we paid $350/ngt) but basically I am sure property maintenance factors in...It is right on the bay in a lovely, peaceful and spacious spot...Enjoy.

Room Tip: not all rooms have a/c....not sure of views for 1st floor rooms - ask
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank citymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I fell in love with this property! It made me feel like I was visiting someone's secluded and romantic Hawaiian estate on the water...

We slept with the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. We watched the sun rise from our bed - the lanai is completely private.

The homemade breakfast prepared by one of the girls was served on the lanai overlooking one of the most beautiful point on the island!

The couple of people we encountered during our one night stay were very friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. I will gladly stay here again to check out from the world for a few days. Mahalo for a very romantic and memorable island experience!

p.s. You must check out the cool, gift shop in the main house with amazing handmade and vintage jewelry - I found lots of treasures there.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The Palms Cliff House Inn is a wonderful retreat just 10 minutes outside of Hilo, HI. We pulled into the secluded and well manicured grounds to find a southern plantation style restored home and guest rooms. Located on top of the ocean cliffs, we enjoyed the gorgeous sights and sounds of the Hawaiian surf. The room was vary spacious and clean with a beautiful view of the ocean. A scrumptious breakfast (at added cost) was served every morning on on the lanai overlooking the ocean. On two of our three mornings, we watched whales migrating up the coast.
Our next visit to the Big Island will certainly include a return stay at the Palms Cliff House Inn.

Room Tip: Some rooms were suites and others were just bedrooms. We were in a suite.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LAM1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect about this place. As soon as we got there we realized we were in a really special place.
The setting is very estate like and right on the water. The rooms have a luxurious sensual and comforting feel to them. We added a night because we didn't want to leave. Our first night was one of the more basic rooms but was far from basic. The furnishings the materials and everything was top notch. The second night we upgraded only because It was the only room available. Well the first room has a Jacuzzi in the bathroom the second night it was a two-person Jacuzzi in a bay window overlooking the ocean. It was also a fireplace and a bear rug. It was over-the-top wonderful. Breakfast was fabulous and staff was courteous and considerate and helpful and I couldn't speak high enough about this place. Do yourself a favor and stay here I'm not kidding it's an extraordinary experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank esserguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I selected the Palms as a birthday and Valentines Day surprise. I had no referrals or recommendations from anyone, prior to our stay so we both felt the anticipation. The unknown can be fun and our stay at the Palms was just that; fun, relaxing, and a place we'll return to in the future. The room was clean, food was great, and it felt like home. The staff was very friendly and helpful. On your your next trip to the east side of the Big Island consider the Palms Cliff House.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms, you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rwhipple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

My wife and I stayed five nights at this Inn. We stayed in the Tropical Dreams room #3. It turned out to be a great base for us to explore the east side of the Big Island. The breakfast served on the veranda was a great way to start the day. There is no A/C so we slept with the patio door open each night. The only annoying thing is there is a rooster that starts crowing every morning at 430. The owners need to serve chicken so the guests can have a more enjoyable sleep. The scenery and grounds are well maintained. We even saw whales swimming around in the bay while we were eating breakfast. Chelsea (sp?), in the front office, was very helpful in suggesting things to do, see and where to eat. All of the staff was very pleasant. The only other negative is that the Inn is 20 mins north of Hilo which made going to dinner and having drinks a concern. We solved the problem by finishing our sightseeing and grabbing food to go. The Inn has a dining room open for guests which made it nice to end the day sitting on the veranda, eating our take out and drinking wine.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had a decent view. I'm sure the rooms above us had a better view...
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DKR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honomu
76.2 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
16.6 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
16.1 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.5 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
79.4 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
16.5 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Cliff House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Cliff House Inn

Address: 28-3514 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honomu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96728
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honomu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honomu
Price Range: $266 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Cliff House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3.5 acre private estate offers sweeping ocean views perched ocean side atop a 100 foot cliff. Delicious full breakfasts are included in the regular room rates. Honored in Song and depicted in hula, this inn specializes in catering to couples seeking a quiet and romantic get away that embodies the feeling of the Old Hawaii we all dream about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms Cliff House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Cliff House Hotel Honomu
The Palms Cliff Hotel
Palms Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing