We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Honomu Inn(Honomu)
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$220
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Honoka'a Club(Honokaa)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
155
44
21
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
44
21
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsakaka fallstropical dreamsquichethe big islandbotanical gardenstropical decoreach morningbay windowhilo areaoverlooking the oceanbreakfast was deliciousbreakfast areajacuzzi tubcovered patiofrench toastlovely lanaiour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 253 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2017

This is the perfect place to stay for Hilo...I looked around before booking and opted for charm vs chain...which can be risky...but in this case, the right choice. The in town chain hotel is hard on the airport and helicopters are buzzing overhead continually--be warned.
But this property is peaceful and the 15 min. ride into HIlo for dinner is a straight shot.
We had a spacious 2nd floor room - #8 with a wonderful view. We did take someone elses advice to get a room with A/C- used it one night. Ceiling fan as well. Anyways, it was all good. We arrived after 5p and really did not spend much time at the hotel..so it was sort of funny that the only person we saw was the cook-- and she did cook lovely b'fasts and accommodated us as we needed an early b'fast both days there.
So all in all, it was a top level B&B...some can be a bit funky....this wasn't.. The price was a bit high (I think we paid $350/ngt) but basically I am sure property maintenance factors in...It is right on the bay in a lovely, peaceful and spacious spot...Enjoy.

Room Tip: not all rooms have a/c....not sure of views for 1st floor rooms - ask
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank citymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2017

I fell in love with this property! It made me feel like I was visiting someone's secluded and romantic Hawaiian estate on the water...

We slept with the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. We watched the sun rise from our bed - the lanai is completely private.

The homemade breakfast prepared by one of the girls was served on the lanai overlooking one of the most beautiful point on the island!

The couple of people we encountered during our one night stay were very friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. I will gladly stay here again to check out from the world for a few days. Mahalo for a very romantic and memorable island experience!

p.s. You must check out the cool, gift shop in the main house with amazing handmade and vintage jewelry - I found lots of treasures there.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2017

The Palms Cliff House Inn is a wonderful retreat just 10 minutes outside of Hilo, HI. We pulled into the secluded and well manicured grounds to find a southern plantation style restored home and guest rooms. Located on top of the ocean cliffs, we enjoyed the gorgeous sights and sounds of the Hawaiian surf. The room was vary spacious and clean with a beautiful view of the ocean. A scrumptious breakfast (at added cost) was served every morning on on the lanai overlooking the ocean. On two of our three mornings, we watched whales migrating up the coast.
Our next visit to the Big Island will certainly include a return stay at the Palms Cliff House Inn.

Room Tip: Some rooms were suites and others were just bedrooms. We were in a suite.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LAM1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect about this place. As soon as we got there we realized we were in a really special place.
The setting is very estate like and right on the water. The rooms have a luxurious sensual and comforting feel to them. We added a night because we didn't want to leave. Our first night was one of the more basic rooms but was far from basic. The furnishings the materials and everything was top notch. The second night we upgraded only because It was the only room available. Well the first room has a Jacuzzi in the bathroom the second night it was a two-person Jacuzzi in a bay window overlooking the ocean. It was also a fireplace and a bear rug. It was over-the-top wonderful. Breakfast was fabulous and staff was courteous and considerate and helpful and I couldn't speak high enough about this place. Do yourself a favor and stay here I'm not kidding it's an extraordinary experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank esserguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2017

I selected the Palms as a birthday and Valentines Day surprise. I had no referrals or recommendations from anyone, prior to our stay so we both felt the anticipation. The unknown can be fun and our stay at the Palms was just that; fun, relaxing, and a place we'll return to in the future. The room was clean, food was great, and it felt like home. The staff was very friendly and helpful. On your your next trip to the east side of the Big Island consider the Palms Cliff House.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms, you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rwhipple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews