We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palms Cliff House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honomu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2017

This superb location and gorgeous inn was one of the highlights of our Hawaii experience. The room was lovely, and the breakfast delicious. The peaceful setting was balm to the soul and the view has to be the best on the island. The grounds are lovely, and the in furnished in interesting antiques. Our hosts were charming, and KeKeLi was delightful and attentive to our every need. Many details made this place feel like a luxurious home away from home. Our room wasn't air conditioned, but the cool ocean breezes and the soothing sound of the waves below were a far better option for us. Thank you for a lovely place to relax after busy days of touring.

Room Tip: Gorgeous, peaceful setting far enough from the big city to feel away from it all, yet close enough t...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for The Palms Cliff House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017

We enjoyed every aspect of the inn, from the roosters crowing to the little green geckos running up and down the trees. The room was incredible with a cool breeze constantly blowing from the nearby sea and the sound of the waves at night was soothing.

Our breakfasts were delicious, made by Ki Ki Le, who answered all our questions and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KadieSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Perfect located near Hilo.
Very romantic style, quite and fantastic view of the Pacific.
Room are perfect also the common facilities.
Friendly and helpful staff.
All claims get satisfied more then 100%

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bridge-Consult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We 1st discovered this cozy, tranquil inn about 7 months ago and always look forward to returning - we wish we could live here! The tropical decor of the rooms, the ocean views, the lanai, and breakfast area: it's all wonderful! Breakfast was great and the service excellent! Also appreciate the in room frig, and the use of dishes, glassware, etc in the common dining area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenw2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

An abrupt turn off the highway heading into Hilo, and suddenly you are under a canopy of tropical green. You are winding along a curved drive through wonderfully landscaped grounds literally right alongside the blue Pacific towards a lovely white Victorian style old Hawaii home. The decor is all old Hawiana. It is close for hiking and exploring Akaka Falls and just a short hop into Hilo town. Sitting on the veranda at sunset time is exceptional. The staff is welcoming and gracious. The rooms are clean and pleasant with a/c and fans and really the views are world class. Another fine place if you want to write and paint and be creative. John L. Hart

Room Tip: Room #7 on the top floor was very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drjlhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

This is the perfect place to stay for Hilo...I looked around before booking and opted for charm vs chain...which can be risky...but in this case, the right choice. The in town chain hotel is hard on the airport and helicopters are buzzing overhead continually--be warned.
But this property is peaceful and the 15 min. ride into HIlo for dinner is a straight shot.
We had a spacious 2nd floor room - #8 with a wonderful view. We did take someone elses advice to get a room with A/C- used it one night. Ceiling fan as well. Anyways, it was all good. We arrived after 5p and really did not spend much time at the hotel..so it was sort of funny that the only person we saw was the cook-- and she did cook lovely b'fasts and accommodated us as we needed an early b'fast both days there.
So all in all, it was a top level B&B...some can be a bit funky....this wasn't.. The price was a bit high (I think we paid $350/ngt) but basically I am sure property maintenance factors in...It is right on the bay in a lovely, peaceful and spacious spot...Enjoy.

Room Tip: not all rooms have a/c....not sure of views for 1st floor rooms - ask
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank citymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I fell in love with this property! It made me feel like I was visiting someone's secluded and romantic Hawaiian estate on the water...

We slept with the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. We watched the sun rise from our bed - the lanai is completely private.

The homemade breakfast prepared by one of the girls was served on the lanai overlooking one of the most beautiful point on the island!

The couple of people we encountered during our one night stay were very friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. I will gladly stay here again to check out from the world for a few days. Mahalo for a very romantic and memorable island experience!

p.s. You must check out the cool, gift shop in the main house with amazing handmade and vintage jewelry - I found lots of treasures there.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honomu
76.2 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
16.6 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
16.1 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.5 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
79.4 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
16.5 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Cliff House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Cliff House Inn

Address: 28-3514 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honomu, Island of Hawaii, HI 96728
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honomu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Honomu
Price Range: $274 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Cliff House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3.5 acre private estate offers sweeping ocean views perched ocean side atop a 100 foot cliff. Delicious full breakfasts are included in the regular room rates. Honored in Song and depicted in hula, this inn specializes in catering to couples seeking a quiet and romantic get away that embodies the feeling of the Old Hawaii we all dream about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Palms Cliff House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Cliff House Hotel Honomu
The Palms Cliff Hotel
Palms Cliff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing