We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
Review of Jacaranda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jacaranda Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2011

The pictures posted on this site and on the Jacaranda's site are from several years ago when the place was under different ownership. The entire property is now run down. Our room had a lot of bugs in it (underneath the sink cabinet were large piles of roach feces - i killed several large spiders as well), the toilet was broken, the hot tub was broken, there was no breakfast (and it is a B & B), and when we arrived, the Innkeeper did not greet us - we had to go searching for her. That was the only time we saw her the entire time - for about 10 minutes to get our money - then we never saw her the rest of our stay. The gardens were overgrown with weeds and the entire place had the appearance of a haunted mansion. There are better choices to stay in this region - I didn't care for the region and would have preferred to spend the extra night in Kona.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mcwjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

"The Jacaranda Inn-Big Island of Hawaii Bed and Breakfast at Parker Ranch" is how the website described this B & B. After registering, we asked what time breakfast was served and were told, "There is no food here, you can get breakfast down the street, there's lots of restaurants." We had been spoiled by the other B and B's we had stayed in, so this was a disappointment. That being said, the Inn was an historic and very interesting old ranch house. We had the Hibiscus room, which was very quaint and well maintained. There were few guests so the big house was all ours. WiFi in the common area only. However, I thought the room was overpriced without the breakfast. I think there are better choices in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adaptabletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Jacaranda Inn is located in a historic estate. Our Passion Flower room has been romantically decorated with HUGE bathrooms. We had a great time in the jacuzzi bathtub. The innkeeper Mary Ellen runs the place almost by herself, but always had time to talk. Location of the inn is with in walking distance of central Waimea and we walked averywhere. Romantic, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneKaimuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

I loved this place. Well worth the money to have a quiet, romantic getaway. The jacuzzi was amazing as was the shower. The shampoo, soap etc. was top-rate. The place was well kept up. It had a sitting area with T.V. and a lanai. The surrounding gardens were not kept up which would have made this place even better. I also wish they had a restaurant in the place. They certainly have enough space to do this...it used to be a ranch. Just gorgeous. I would stay here again!!!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Williwillinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We loved the room (the begonia) and the main inn/ grounds were just GORGEOUS. It was by far the prettiest b and b we stayed in on the big island. However, the innkeeper was not friendly at ALL. Add a little aloha hospitality and this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zagnutmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

She never returned the phone call I placed on her cell and business line
Couldn't even call back to say "go to h e lll"
What a stupid way to run a business, a lot of Big Island is laid back but this is inexcusable
Stay away, don't even bother to call

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Service
4  Thank tahitiblkpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Just what was needed after a tired day's travel. The setting was once home of the manager of the Parker Ranch, the largest ranch in Hawaii. Laurence Rockefeller also called it home. The immaculate suite with a gigantic hot tub and private location looked out on a historical garden. Set back from a busy road the sounds of nature dominated.
If you want uniqueness and quality you want the Jacaranda Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank corkylog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
28 km away
Kohala Village Inn
Kohala Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Hawi
48 reviews
14.8 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
23.8 km away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.8 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,258 reviews
21.9 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
53.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Inn

Address: 65-1444 Kawaihae Rd, PO Box 563, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8554
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range: $229 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jacaranda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing