We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast arrangement” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle Vue

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belle Vue
Ranked #2 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great breakfast arrangement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

A lovely big room with all facilities. Everywhere was very clean and fresh . The room did go cold on certain nights when the wind was blowing from Mauna Kea, but it was either a case of wrapping a blanket round you or going to bed and since we were still on UK time it was usually a case of going to bed!
Breakfast is continental and all food is left in the fridge for you to help yourselves. We found there was plenty including a variety of cereals, porridge, lots of fresh fruit, bread, butter, jams and plenty of coffee. We found this arrangement suited us as we were able to have breakfast when we wanted.
Due to some poor weather while we were there we were not able to use the veranda as much as we would have liked but when we did the views were fantastic and it was a great way to end the day sitting there with a glass of wine.

Waimea is an excellent centre for touring the northern end of Big Island and Mauna Kea. There is a good supermarket and a number of good restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    26
    5
    9
    5
See reviews for
15
57
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The place is large and spacey although slightly old. It would be a perfect place if they had a portable heater. Spring nights at Waimea could go as cold as 60 degrees. That would be pretty good for Minnesota, but cold for Hawaii where people usually don’t bring warm sleepwear. It seems strange to me that a business that provides hospitality services doesn’t have heaters. A breakfast is on the weak side too. Bread, two type of cereal, two types of milk and preserves. The breakfast could be way better for the money they charge. I’m pretty sure that one papaya will not break owners wallet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Prior reviews are very mixed. Our recent experience is with the unit directly below the penthouse. It's roomy and in most respects, even though a bit dated, it's quite pleasant. However, we have to agree with the last reviewer regarding there being a cleanliness issue. Ours was not as extreme. We didn't spot any mold. However, we felt compelled to use their cleaning supplies before preparing any food. We used a spray cleaner they provided to wipe down all of the counters, the small appliances, and the kitchen table as well as the large bathroom vanity. The towels and bed linens seemed good with the exception of some stains on the bedspread of the twin bed (which we didn't use).

Having said that, we will also agree with other reviewers about it being a lovely location. Regarding the view from the lanai, it's very limited, but a walk up the slightly steep driveway affords a beautiful view and a pleasant road for a walk. As long as you rent it with the idea you'll have to do a little cleaning at the beginning as well as the end of your stay, you may deem it worth the money. The unit wasn't awful, but more attention to cleaning could have made it really good. We hope the owners read this and spruce things up a bit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Room: We had the penthouse suite. The view was beautiful. When we arrived, all the windows were open and the room was cold. When we shut the windows, we were struck by the smell of mildew in the room. The room was still cold (because the weather was cold and rainy) and there was no heater. We had expected to have a fireplace, but there was a display of artificial flowers inside it, as well as another display of flowers on a table blocking it, and no wood. When we asked, we were told that we couldn't use it. We asked for a heater, the caretaker argued with us, saying that heating was expensive. When we requested one anyway, he did bring one later.

There was obvious mould in the shower (photo below), and a used bar of soap. The next morning we called Vivienne from Kona who was managing this suite, and told her we were checking out because we weren't happy with the level of cleanliness. She argued that this wasn't a problem, even though she was an hour's drive away, said we were "being difficult", and that she'd already charged the room — and hung up on us. We moved out anyway. When we returned home she had left a message saying that she had reimbursed us for the days we didn't stay, which she had.

Property: The location is lovely, on the side of the hill overlooking Waimea, with a grassy field with cattle on the other side of the road, and a view, at least from our suite. This property was generally run down, but the other properties on the road were very attractive and it was a nice area for a short walk. It's close to Merriman's restaurant which has good food.

Waimea: Beautiful but extremely rainy and cool when we were there.

Liked best: Proximity of property to lovely field with cows, and view from penthouse suite.
Liked least: Mould in bathroom, mildew smell, lack of hospitality.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling-Canu... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Belle Vue Waimea was the perfect spot for our few nights in Waimea. Located on a hillside above the town, the view was spectacular and the surroundings quiet. On the other side of the road were cattle grazing, but looking downhill you could see Mauna Kea to the left, Mauna Loa straight ahead and the coast to the right. Spectacular! Not to mention that every time you stepped outside the fragrant flowers welcomed you.

Our studio room was large, with a king-size bed, futon, couch, dresser, TV, free wifi, closet. The kitchen was well-stocked with breakfast items. Shampoo and soap were provided in the bathroom. Tatami mats were even on hand for some beachgoing.

The proprietors were very friendly and responsive, providing all kinds of advice for our time in the area. We could have stayed here much longer than we did and been quite happy. A great place!

Room Tip: We had the studio at the base of the stairs, which probably had the "worst" view of all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RykeMadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Best place for the price. The penthouse room has excellent view of the sunset. Kitchen and restroom were very clean. Couch could have been cleaner. The host was very courteous and had great suggestions.
Nearby attractions: mauna kea observatory, upolo pt, pololu valley and waipio valley. Do not miss out the drive up to mauna kea(its cold up there - take a jacket)
Nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

The name of the place speaks for itself, it offers a stunning view on the valley! The penthouse suite offers the best sunset ever!
The penthouse is incredibly cosy and perfect place for lovers! We recommend to go spend the evening there enjoying cooking and chilling out in the sofa with a glass of wine

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fxwillaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
15.5 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
15.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
22.9 km away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.9 km away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#4 of 8 in Waimea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
20.8 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vue

Property: Belle Vue
Address: Konokahau Road 1351, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing