We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate and reasonable place to stay”
Review of Kamuela Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kamuela Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Adequate and reasonable place to stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I am working right now at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park as a volunteer at the other end of the island and stayed here one night in order to do the horseback trip at Parker Ranch and visit the beach. I don't know why this is called a B&B; in my definition it is a basic motel. The grounds are attractive and the rooms adequately furnished and are clean, but the " breakfast " is really minimal. As others have noted, due to inadequate curtains in the windows, which could make for questionable privacy and the outside lights shining into the bedroom, make for my major fault with the place. Otherwise, it is fine - not luxurious, but the point is, for $89, this is a good value. One does not have to pay an arm and a leg to stay in Hawaii.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    103
    59
    18
    14
See reviews for
74
111
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The stench upon opening our room door should have deterred us from staying, but it was late and we were desperate. The room was tiny, dark, old, musty and poorly furnished. The TV was about 40 years old and tiny as well. I'm a size 1 and barely fit into the bathroom. We left a night early instead of staying as booked and were told to expect a partial refund, but a number of weeks later I was still not refunded my money. When I called I was told that I would only receive half of what I was promised, yet even that has still not shown up on my credit card statement. Truly disappointing experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Ok so its not a ocean front suite at the Mauna Kea, but we stayed here one night and really enjoyed it. The staff is friendly, free parking, nice breakfast in the morning and shopping and good eats nearby. 15 minutes to Hapuna beach - for the price you cannot find a better spot close to Kona!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivinGreat808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

this place is ok for one night even though I had supposedly booked two nights by email they "lost" my reservation, they did have a room available but I think it was one of the last. Room was clean but very basic. The hot water for the sink was disabled?? We were out late on Mauna Kea and came back to a packed parking lot; the only spot we could find was so tight I climbed over the console to get out the passenger side.( and vice versa in the morning) the "continental breakfast" was straight from Costco, if you're gluten free you can skip it. We turned in the key and went back to Kailua for our 2nd night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Green-Timber-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, CA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The Inn is in a quite enclave off the main roads. Rooms are pleasantly furnished and very clean. The price is very attractive. A great value for money!

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatioPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed here three nights. Our room was generally clean and the bed was comfortable. If you are staying for more than one day, ask for fresh towels every day since towels don't dry because of humidity. Wifi worked well. Couple of miles from all the restaurants. Friendly front desk employee. Breakfast is nothing special. Eat somewhere else, like at the nearby Starbucks (or Weimea cafe).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Island, HI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A fairly mediocre motel room. Clean, not too small, but when was the last time you stayed in a motel room with a fifteen inch TV and paint peeling from outside the shower stall because the shower curtain was too small? Could be a nice property, but needs some serious investment. Nice little sitting areas, but still a motel. I would expect to pay about $20 less, but the parking lot was full, so go figure. Not a lot of alternatives here for short visits.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PunaGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
15.8 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
15.7 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
22.7 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
21.0 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.2 km away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#4 of 8 in Waimea
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamuela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamuela Inn

Property: Kamuela Inn
Address: 65-1300 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamuela Inn is a 30-room boutique hotel in the heart of Waimea on the island of Hawaii. Located just a 45-minute drive from the Keahole Airport in Kailua-Kona, and hour's drive from the Hilo Airport, Kamuela Inn serves as a great spot for visiting all that the island has to offer. Serving a daily complimentary continental breakfast, our guests start their day off right with a delicious selection of pastries, breads, cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit, boiled eggs and of course, the famous Roy's Kona Coffee blend. Guests also can't stop raving about their beautiful night's sleep on our Simmon's Felicity pillowtop beds and Natural Comfort allergen free pillows, and being snuggled in our soft Comfy sheets. There's just too much to share. Just come and visit us and see for yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kamuela Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing