We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Jewel in Pahoa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaleo's Bar & Grill

Kaleo's Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Pahoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jewel in Pahoa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

One of the best places to get a good quality meal in the area. Being from Sonoma County, Cali, we are very pleased with the food!! The staff was very friendly. Great ambience! Highly recommend the Mediterranean Platter. DELICIOUS!! And the banana lumpia for dessert! Hope to return!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    207
    45
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
big island hawaii
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Pahoa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Food is fresh, tasty and delicious. Have been many times and have never been disappointed. The prime rib is excellent as is the appetizers. Drinks are a bit weak for the price. Desserts are good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Matnikstym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
244 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Had a good meal in this decent and reasonably priced restaurant. Nice and friendly staff. Pahoa is a cosy little place.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rueskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We ate here twice during our stay, it's a great place, the best in the area. It does not look much from outside and calling it a bar and grill makes it sound like a burger joint but the food is very much more than that. my husband had the jasmine curry, we eat a lot of curries and this was one of the best he'd tasted, very delicate but full of flavor. I had the Caprese salad which was full of local greens. We had the asparagus risotto with their own take on Chicken Cordon Bleu, this was completely made from scratch, the risotto had immense flavor. We also had the stuffed pork chop with mashed potatoes, this was top notch. We then had homemade icecream with banana spring rolls. if you are in this area eat here for sure..
There is live music every night and often the staff will get up and do some Hula.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackyParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Loved the poke and the service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a very attentive wait staff serve us the entire evening and very informative about suggestions for dinner. Great value for money too since you also get live music!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank thechilibuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaleo's Bar & Grill also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaleo's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing