We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens, wonderful steam vents, clean airy room”
Review of Pele's Breath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pele's Breath
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pahoa
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, wonderful steam vents, clean airy room”
Reviewed 6 April 2007

We loved the Steam Vent Inn! We regretfully only stayed two nights. Would have loved to spend another day lounging in their peaceful garden and their naturally heated pool. The steam vents were amazing too. I loved the care the owners have put into the grounds, creating a real oasis. Make sure to try a smoothie at breakfast.

  • Liked — Steam vent and natural pool
  • Disliked — Small shared kitchen where you had take turns cooking meals
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank LauraBlij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

The steam room and pool were amazing. I would return just to lazy around in the pool. Away from the rest of civilization, it makes a great location for going on short hikes and walking in the lava fields. The accomodations were ok. No a/c, so you can hear all the talking/walking of the family who owns the inn. Make sure you plan for eating as everything closes relatively early and restaurants and markets are a long drive away.

  • Liked — Steam vent pool
  • Disliked — accomodations
  • Tips/Secrets — bring food and your shoes!!
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TD_Says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I've been to the Steam Vent Inn 2 times. In 2005 and 2006. If you're looking for a hilton, don't go there. If you want a beautiful view, steam vent shower and sauna, lava-heated hot pond and friendly staff then you should definately check it out. I don't understand the bad reviews, you can always go see the steam vent inn before you decide to stay there. Once you saw it you wouldn't want to leave. I am personally friends with the owners. If you're looking for a healing retreat and natural remedies then it's the perfect place for you. I quit smoking while I was there. They serve fresh fruits and eggs from their trees and chickens. Everyone is welcome and you can meet a variety of people while you stay there. It is definately a worthwhile experience. You get a clean room and kitchen to cook and eat in. It's a big house thats been made into a bed and breakfast and health retreat. I will probabaly be back there again soon! See you there.

  • Liked — I liked the friendly service and good memories.
  • Disliked — I least liked that there wasn't many channels on the tv, no cable.
  • Tips/Secrets — It's probably not for you if you're not spiritual.
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank LaurenSpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 December 2005

this is my favorite place to stay on the big island. hands down. i read this other persons review and was schocked. if you want to goto hawaii and have a sterile experience, go to the hilton , in fact dont even bother visiting puna. Ive stayed at the steam vent inn about 4 times and every time was awesome. The highlights were the steam vents (obviously) in the backyard , there is a shed built around a natural steam vent , its a wonderful experience to steam in natural steam. also (imnot sure if this always comes with room , but )when i was there the owner made us breakfast from fresh eggs from his chickens, fresh fruit from his trees - even fresh sqeezed orang juice. the owner is very nice. perfect place to r+r between adventures.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2004

We were there in July 2004. I had made arrangements with the owners of the Steamvent Inn to rent the Oceanside Ohana. (The Oceanside Ohana is a seperate house across the street from the ocean in a completely different towncalled Kapoho than was the Steamvent inn.) I paid in full which was big mistake. When I got there the cleanliness was not up to my standards.The windows dirty, floor dirty, refridgerator dirty,no phone, no hot water and stained sheets. I went to the owners and asked for my monies back. The owner was pleasent but tried to remedy the problem with a quick cleaning that wasn't sufficent. The next day we tried to get our money back again and the owner himself went to clean the house it was better but still no good for us with the Hawaiian cockroaches flying everywhere .I wasn't able to sleep at night.
We stayed 5 out 8 nights and I finally said this isn't worth it and made one last attempt to get some money back and with that the owner scolded me and said that he was shocked that I would consider getting any refund because I had negotiated a good deal. I explained that I was hoping he would understand that his Oceanside Ohana just wasn't up to my cleanliness and we were not having a good vacation because of our scary place of refuge. Oh well, lesson learned. I lost 3 nights paid accomidations and had to go elsewhere to pay someone else to make our vacation end on a good note.

Helpful?
21 Thank MeganL_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
30.8 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
33.3 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
846 reviews
30.6 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
34.1 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
535 reviews
35.5 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pele's Breath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pele's Breath

Property: Pele's Breath
Address: 13-3775 Pahoa Kalapana Rd, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-7924
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and welcome to paradise! Experience our relaxing and tastefully furnished accommodations, ideal for visiting couples, holiday goers and small groups desiring an extraordinary space for healing or business retreats. Features include ocean views & Hawaii's only custom made sauna that is constructed around natural volcanic steam vents. All of our house guests receive a complimentary self-serve continental breakfast and access to the very unique natural steam vent sauna feature, that is located right on our door step. Pele's Breath lies in a tropical rain forest near Volcanoes National Park and the fresh new lava ocean entry point, the Hot Springs & Warm Champagne ponds, and only a 45 minute drive from Hilo airport or a 1 hour 45 minute drive from Kona airport. The 3 private rooms lead into a beautiful tropical patio with ocean and garden views. Each room or suite contains 1 or 2 double/king beds with private baths and a shared kitchen, living & dining room area. The property features natural steam heated ponds, tropical gardens, all with breathtaking panoramic ocean views. Massage, adventure island tours and other holistic therapies are also offered. 420 Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pele's Breath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steam Vent Inn & Health Retreat Hotel Pahoa
Steam Vent Inn And Health Retreat
Steam Vent Hotel Health Retreat
Pele's Breath Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing