We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalani(Pahoa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
305
38
9
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
38
9
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 363 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Wonderful B&B. Excellent breakfasts and spotless accommodations. We enjoyed 5 days in the Garden Bungalow and it was the best part of our vacation. It was our little home away from home. We loved having the kitchen and little patio where we enjoyed the evening stars while sipping wine. A couple of nights we took advantage of their hot tub where we relaxed watching the stars. Breakfast were out of this world. A gourmet treat! Close to all the sightseeing areas. Just a wonderful time. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden bungalow is very quiet and private.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My friend who lived in Hawaii for 7 years hit it right on the head again with regards to lodgings on this side of the island – don’t expect too much. The garden bungalow is set aside from the main building, but only a few steps away from the breakfast lanai. Breakfast was good, but as with any bed and breakfast, if the main dish is not to your liking you’re out of luck.
The grounds were beautiful and had many flowering plants. The owners had a small map with many of the local attractions in the area – local steam vents, the small church that was moved after almost being engulfed with lava twice, tide pools, etc. This map was very useful. Also, this location was only about 45 minutes from Volcanoes National Park.
One of the main drawbacks at this bed and breakfast is the noise of the frogs. While it may be music to some people, it was not to us. Also, my wife and I were looking forward to sitting in the hot tub and looking at the stars, but realized that was not possible since the hot tub had a roof over it.
There are a few good eating places in Pahoa a few miles away. Also, if you get a chance and are there on a Sunday, go to the catholic church in Pahoa – such a nice service and very, very friendly people.
As I stated before, my friend was correct about this side of the island and the lodgings – it sort of reminds me of the old chain motels once you get far enough out of the Windy City off interstates 80 and 90. This bed and breakfast obviously is not part of a chain, but the lodgings although clean, were old and the bungalow could use renovations both inside and out, but should maintain some of the interior furnishings so it doesn’t lose its charm.
Would I stay here again? Maybe, maybe not – the chances would be better if natural predators were found for those noisy frogs!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Last year we spent 9 days on the Big Island. By far, the best part of our trip was the four nights at the Coconut Cottage. Our expectations were well exceeded. The hosts are very pleasant and helpful with restaurant suggestions and things to do, yet never intrude on your privacy. We also loved getting to know the other guests over breakfast as well.

Room: Bali Spirit Suite - clean and comfortable with an awesome lanai we spent many hours enjoying
Breakfast: Amazing! Every morning we looked forward to the fresh coffee and fruit followed by the morning entree
Location: close enough to Volcano National Park, yet not too isolated

Our only regret is not spending the entire trip at the Coconut Cottage!

Room Tip: Bali Spirit Suite has a great lanai
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank move2maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2012

What a great little getaway you two have Todd!!!!
Your attention to detail is outstanding!!!
All the comforts of home were not missed.
The room was very nicely decorated.
The breakfast was worth it alone.
As a former associate of a Major Marriott resort in Palm Desert,
I can honestly tell you that your service level is on par with the best!!!!
And it shows! You are busy and rooms filled because of this!
Congradulations on a job well done.
If travelers are looking for the garden spot in Hawaii,
Here it is don't past this up!!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms !!!!! Great central location on this side of the Big Isle
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHoneyDoTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was such a nice gateway location. Todd was super sweet and the overall experience was what I had expected after reading so many good reviews. I loved Pahoa, it was my favorite place in the Island. And the cottage is very easily accessible, 45 minutes away from the Volcano National Park and 45 minutes away from the Hilo Airport. It was great place to call home after our adventures. Incredibly clean, safe, and really friendly hosts! Loved my experience here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews