We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
305
38
9
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
38
9
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 363 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2015

We were looking to stay for a couple of nights near Pahoa so we could explore the island's east coast, and ended up renting the Garden Bungalow. It accomodated the four of us comfortably. Scott and Karen were wonderful hosts. Breakfasts were fantastic, with lots of fresh fruit, juice, and home-made creations. Karen even catered specially to our two vegan friends. The property has beautiful gardens in a quiet neighborhood, and a great location for exploring the new black sands beaches, Volcano Natl park, and Pahoa.

Room Tip: There is free WiFi at the B&B; however signal in the Cottage is not great.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Meredith700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2015

We wanted a place to stay for a night so we could experience the Volcano at night without the long drive back. We also were interested in supporting the Pahoa area as they've been through some tough times lately. Karen and Scott were great hosts. Breakfast was delicious, love the new board with the menu and our names on it! We got a great tour of the garden, what a lot of work you two have done. Enjoyed our room with the little lanai off it. Ask Scott for the map of the circle tour to the South and try to hit the Market at Kapalana, it's really fun. Could easily have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Only 2 of the rooms are available for one night only. Ours had its own bathroom across the hall.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mongo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2015

We stayed in the Garden Bungalow for a week last August, and it was a very good week indeed. Scott and Karen were very welcoming, and they took care of all our needs. The accommodation is very pretty and elegant , set in a fantastic garden i a very quiet neighborhood. Some repairs were still needed when we were there, but everything essential was in perfect working order. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of fruit and something special cooked up every day. The location is great for exploring Hilo, the Volcanoes National Park and the stunning east coast of the island. The climate on this side is pretty wet, with at least some rain on just about any day, and the frogs do make an lot of noise at night, but we found that only added to the general atmosphere of the place. Just driving around the neighborhood is a joy, it's a big tropical garden with pretty houses. Hope the lava stays well away from this amazing place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2015

We are luck enough to visit Puna a number of times throughout the year, and the Coconut Cottage Bed and Breakfast is our preferred place to stay.

The location is absolutely wonderful for exploring Puna District. Scott and Karen start you off right with a great meal (photo tip: you can even get up and out to the coast for sunrise shots and be back by breakfast). It's the perfect base for a warm water and beach road day, exploring from the mango groves to Kalapana. Hilo and the Volcano Park are both easy drives away. Pahoa Town is fun to explore and has nice shops and breakfast, lunch, and dinner places (Kaleo's Kalua pork wontons are a must-have...you're welcome).

The house and property are great for exploring. Take a bit to just wander around the yard to find hidden orchids and all other types of blooming plants, lava trees, and, of course, geckos. We've stayed in most all of the rooms at one time or another and have enjoyed them all, but the Bali is our favorite.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kominiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2015

Karen and Scott were very gracious hosts. They gave us a free upgrade upon arrival. The room was tight, but comfortable. The bed and sheets were like sleeping in a 5 star hotel-very nice, very clean. The shared bathroom is small and dated, but shower was nice and warm. The furnishings in the rest of the house were beautiful and inviting. The breakfast was over the top with fresh fruit (some from the backyard) and delicious coconut pancakes. All of our hosts' recommendations were right on, including dinner, snorkel spots, and exploring that part of the island. Yes, if we find ourselves in the area again, we will stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank durang0Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews