We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great feeling of aloha in nature”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fraysb
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great feeling of aloha in nature ”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a great way to spend time on Big Island. I felt like a welcomed guest rather than a customer. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Aloha Brett,
We would love to have you back as a guest and spend more time with you! Stay warm!
Mahalo nui loa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheodoreJ...
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simply my all time favorite get away place !!!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2013
4
people found this review helpful

I have stayed at this laid back island retreat cabin four times in the past and loved every minute of my stay. It is nothing like my native Colorado but somehow there is a “rainbow connection”.

If you want to get away from it all, shed your troubles and "shoes" at the door and get back to nature this off the grid hidden gem is a must. The hurricane lamps, solar powered lights, rain water shower all add to the remote and special nature of this place. Neighborhood noise does not exist but lots of surrounding frogs and other creatures of the night and the rain on the roof make it easy to zone out and get a good long relaxing sleep ..... feeling fresh in the morning.

Take a long walk around the property. Chances are it will be just you or the friend you bring with you. The owner’s dogs, cats, chickens (but now rooster) are all friendly and will keep you company if you let them. If you want cable, cell phone service, television, loads of connectivity then this is not your place. If you are an artist/writer or need a retreat this is a great place to find yourself and hear yourself think or ponder life's meaning.

I like to rent the cabin that has everything you need for a week of zoning out including a kitchen and adjoining bath/shower room and cozy bed. Buy some groceries in nearby Pahoa town (15 minute drive) and you set for the week with stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, dishes/silver. No need to dine out unless you want to.

The rental price for the cabin or yurt is hard to beat especially for Hawaii. Stay a week for the same cost as one day at a fancy resort without all of the hidden costs or intrusions from other guests.

The location in Lower Puna district is a pretty good location for scenic drive along the Red Road and nearby sites while a day trip to Volcano or Hilo are easy enough to do. If the lava at nearby Kalapana area happens to be flowing this is an easy jumping off point as well as nearby scenic side trips like Lava Tree S.P, McKenzie S.P, Kehena Beach, Pahoa town, the New Kaimu (black sand) Beach, etc.

If you want rustic beauty and a quiet place to regain your humanity this is the place to be !!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being by myself in nature ...... no other tourists to spoil the peace :)
Liked least: Leaving and going home :/
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Aloha Teddy,
Mahalo for such a wonderful review. We are honored that you have been here so often and enjoy it so much each time. You are an easy, comfortable guest to have and we look forward to your return soon!
a hui hou friend..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjug685
USA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“An amazing off-the-grid nude experience on an organic fruit farm!”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Where to start? First, we had an absolutely amazing time at Isle of You. We stayed in the Yurt, which is perched up in a forest, with a stunning view of the Pacific Ocean a couple miles away, and the surrounding land. The Yurt was roomy and clean, with everything inside imaginable, including a basket of fresh fruit and avocados from the farm. The owners, Kelly and Normand were wonderful and made out stay that much more enjoyable. Neither of us had stayed at a clothing-optional place before, but after a few hours we shed our clothes and enjoyed. The property is more than 70 acres, with fruit trees everywhere, as well as the hosts 3 beautiful and friendly dogs, and a few cats. At night, we fell asleep to the sound of the Coqui frogs, and on the last night, I swear I could hear, in the distance, the sound of a feral hog. A little scary, but it added to the experience. The Yurt is perched up off the ground, and I felt totally safe. But there is no Wifi, and there is no cell service (at least Verizon), so be ready to unplug and relax!

Isle of You is a quick 10 minute drive to Pāhoa, which is like stepping back into time. Full of hippies young an old, I've just never experienced anything like it. People watching was great, and we loved the food (and prices!) at Boogie Woogie Pizza. And for a great breakfast or lunch, snack or coffee, we enjoyed the Tin Shack Bakery.

The Kehena Black Sand Beach is also nearby, as well as Lava Tree State Park. There is also an amazing lava field a short drive away that stretches for what seems like miles (but probably isn't). We went for a walk on it, and felt like we were in a Star Wars film. We also heard about a place called Uncle Roberts, which is apparently the place to be Wednesday nights. We missed it, but if we ever go back, we'll plan to visit.

Isle of You was just what we needed! Come with an open mind, and you'll leave refreshed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Mahalo guys! Glad you appreciate the beauty of it all!
A hui hou~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing