We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Rock Cafe

Black Rock Cafe
Ranked #11 of 34 Restaurants in Pahoa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
153 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Can only rate breakfast, but will go back again for it. I ordered the pancake and it was so big I couldn't finish it and I do Love my pancakes! The hash brown were perfect-- crispy and crunchy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrainsRFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    33
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best Prime Rib and Banana's Foster, Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Although Black Rock has great food any time, you'll especially want to try out their Prime Rib on Thursdays! Succulent, tender and so flavorful is their Prime Rib. Their salads are fresh and crispy, potatoes and veggies are great! Our favorite dessert there is the Banana's Foster. It is to die for! It's the only place on the Big Island that I know of that serves it, and do they ever have it "down pat"! Their prices are reasonable, all their food has always been good, and they have wonderful breakfasts. The atmosphere is clean, but usually doesn't have music playing. It's a great place to take a date or a family.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tudie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome, reasonably priced food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Food is delicious, service is good, prices are great.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thereisonly1earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

They have excellent pizza here. It was quite busy and a long wait for our pizza but it was also worth.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank KimJ_in_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for local style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I only hit the Black Rock if there are friends playing their music there - gotta support my local musicians. The food is acceptable, not great. I've never tried breakfast, so cannot speak to that. Get ready for fried everything for the rest of the day.
For local 'color' of Puna, this is the place. Go for it. If you want to watch some people, this is the place!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank sjwhatisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Rock Cafe also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Black Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing