We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place”
Review of Crater Rim Cabin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crater Rim Cabin
Ranked #5 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

It's hard to add to the glowing reviews that brought me here in the first place, but I will try. This is a beautiful cabin in a quiet setting surrounded by tropical greenery. As everyone has mentioned, it is spotlessly clean. The decor is lovely, highlighted by beautiful traditional Hawaiian crafts. The kitchen is generously stocked with excellent coffee, delicious bread and jam, cereal, juice, milk, eggs, and fruit. The living room is well stocked with tour books and information about the park as well as local dining. The King bed is good and the electric blanket kept us toasty warm on a cool night. After watching the fascinating video of the history of the eruptions of the local volcano, we slept really well. (The lava isn't flowing anywhere near the cabin!)

What makes this place most memorable, though, is the wonderful hospitality of Barry and Jim. They are extremely warm and welcoming, and we got lots of good advice about how to make the most of our trip, including where to hike and where to eat. (The Kiawe Kitchen is excellent.)

An unexpected treat was the opportunity to raid their warehouse and buy some of the really nice crafts and postcards and other souvenirs that are stocked there. Jim is an amazing photographer, and I bought some of his postcards of flowing lava that are just spectacular. Jim and Barry are totally low-key about having this stuff available for purchase (at very reasonable prices), and if I hadn't admired the turtle potholder and told Barry that I wished I could take it home, I wouldn't have known that I could buy one of my own. That's why I'm sharing this information on TripAdvisor. A special treat for those lucky enough to stay in this special place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
129
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Crater Rim Cabin is the perfect place to stay while exploring Volcano National Park! It is a cute, cozy cabin in the woods, spotlessly clean with everything you need for your stay. The gas fireplace and electric blanket will keep you warm on cool nights. Barry and Jim are very helpful with suggestions for what to see in the park and where to dine. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is such a well-cared for, warm, well-stocked, private cabin. Like others have said, everything you could possibly need is thought of and provided. The owners/hosts were warm, welcoming and helpful. Thank you for such a delightful place! The volcano was also well worth exploring. You won't regret making Crater Rim Cabin part of your Hawaii vacation!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huruta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Living in Hawai’i, we've stayed at other places while visiting Volcanoes National Park, and this is by far the best we've experienced! The rave reviews are true. The setting is beautiful, the cabin is charming and cozy, Jim and Barry are wonderful hosts and interesting people, and Barry likes to keep the place clean -- he put 2 pillow protectors on under the pillowcase! Everything is provided for a wonderful stay: from abundant information and advice, to the gas fireplace and electric blanket to ward off the chilly nights, to a stocked kitchen, fresh flowers, almost instant hot water, lots of towels and a hairdryer, to DVDs of Hawaii's birds and eruptions, to free wireless internet, and oh did I mention the dark chocolate macadamia nuts?

Volcanoes National Park is open at night; we choose to stay close by so we can easily “go see the glow”. I especially appreciated the fleece throw blanket I wrapped myself in one night to ward off the wind and misty rain while watching glowing orange clouds rising from Halemau'umau'u crater … while Jupiter blazed bright and the moon created a giant moonbow that plunged into the crater below us. Fantastic!

I regret not being able to stay longer than 2 nights – we were fortunate to squeeze in between their other reservations. So my advice is, book early, or change your vacation plans to fit into their schedule!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights (Nov. 5-7) at the Crater Rim Cabin & loved it. The hosts Jim & Barry think of everything you could possibly need...the wonderful fresh fruit & bread, the electric blanket, the information on the area. The new shower had just been installed the day before we arrived & it is beautiful.

After a day of hiking & seeing the marvelous sites in Volcano National Park, you can curl up on the sofa & read by the toasty fire. The flowers & rainforest around the cabin are beautiful as well...and the proximity to Volcanoes National Park is very convenient.

We had a wonderful 3 days here & would go back in a minute...we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great, quiet, cozy, charming place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My partner and I enjoyed two nights at the crater rim cabin as we explored the Volcano national park. This quaint little cottage was Luke our own private slice of heaven in the tranquil rainforest. Jim & Barry's hospitality was wonderful. They are both so knowledgeable about the area and the things to do and see to make your trip magic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theboiinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The cabin is a dream, with incredible flowers and all the amenities that you need. It is at only 1 miles from the Volcano national park, and 20 minutes from the beautiful akaka falls. and the city of Hilo. We stayed one month in Hawaii and this is absolutely the best location, you'll meet Barry, a lovely person, the best we've ever meet in hawaii ! He will give you a great information about the volcano! We were the first guest from Rome :D a little record for us! Alessio and Yasmine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vindaless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
889 reviews
4.0 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
406 reviews
4.2 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
899 reviews
3.8 km away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
3.9 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Rim Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Rim Cabin

Property: Crater Rim Cabin
Address: 23 Golf Links Road, Crater Rim Drive, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718-0045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, private cabin in the forest at the edge of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Close to the National Park entrance. Perfect for couples and families with small children. Full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Rim Cabin Hotel Volcano
Crater Rim Cabin Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing